We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View of Darling Harbour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #80 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great View of Darling Harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great location and nice hotel. Complimentary upgrades for SPG members (free to join). Nicely appointed roooms and good size bathrooms. Qucik and Easy check-in and out. Staff are always helpful. Didn't try restaurants as there is such a wide variety only seconds away

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Seblando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Seblando G,

Thanks for your great review! We appreciate you taking the time to post your insights of your stay at our hotel. It is wonderful to know that you were pleased with your stay with us. We hope your positive impression will bring you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Darling Harbour when you are next in Sydney.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    1,429
    603
    209
    154
See reviews for
371
1,225
220
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lower swanwick
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at the sheraton at 8.30 am after a long flight to be given a upgraded room for our anniversary that was ready lovely after a long Sophie the receiptionist wished us a happy anniversary and a lovely bottle of wine was put in our room later in the day ,Brian on receiption could not have been more helpfull arranged several trips for us including a great day out to the hunter valley wine tasting ,He also arranged theatre tickets at the opera house ,Also asked us each day how we had got on a very nice personal service thankyou to all the staff in this hotel you made a first time trip to Australia briliant ,The hotel is in a great spot fot the darling harbour jusr book it !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi lulu063,

Thank you for your excellent review! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for appreciating your upgraded room and the caring and attentive service of our associates. It gives me great pleasure to know that Sophie and Brian looked after you to ensure your comfort during your stay. I will pass on your favourable comments to them and I am certain they will be delighted and grateful of your recognition of their fine service. We hope we were able to contribute in making your special occasion both special and memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney when you are next travelling our way.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
226 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

we have stayed many times at this hotel, but this time we got a refurbished room. A maritime suite - so what they have done is mainly to the bathroom. They took the bath out and replaced it with a walkin shower, and put the bath where the wardrobe was !! Moving the wardrobe from the walk in dressing room to by the front door with the safe only accessible if you are over 6' tall !!! Rounding off this trilogy of complaints is the lighting over the bath and in the bathroom - you have to check your make up by holding a hand held mirror (if you have one !) by the patio door as it is too dark in the bathroom to see !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi rojaan1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with our refurbished room and please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience caused. Your constructive comments are much appreciated and well taken. Please be assured our guests’ feedback were taken into consideration in the design and planning of our new rooms and while we are unable to incorporate all their suggestions and preferences, we have mostly received positive feedback on the design and layout of the new rooms. We hope that despite your disappointment, we can welcome you back to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me so I may assist with your accommodation requirements to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were treated excellent by the entire staff. From the minute we walked in to the day we left. We had been on a Tour and spent 4 extra days and stayed here when the tour ended. Everything was so easy to find. The 1st night we had issues with the Air Conditioning in our room. It wasn't working so the next day when I had to call them about it again, they upgraded our room to a very nice room. We had a beautiful view of Darling Harbour along with a balcony. The bed was amazing along with all the wonderful pillows that are on the bed. There is no free Wifi and that was about the only thing missing. Food at the Hotel is a bit $$$$. There are so many places to eat and explore and shop at Darling Harbor. It is easy to walk any place you want to go. Being an American, I was so excited when I found they had an Ice Machine on our floor. I didn't find that in any of the other places we stayed in while in Australia.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to get a Harbour View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Suzannesh,

Thank you for your excellent feedback and taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to know that you were pleased with your stay and our associates looked after you to ensure your comfort. We trust you were able to enjoy the amazing views from the comfort of your room. As for internet, although this is provided at a fee in our guest rooms, we do provide this facility complimentary in our lobby area. Thanks for the great review and hopefully your future travel plans will again bring you to Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back then.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Considering no "discounts" applied in our case, we were disappointed with the standards on show room-wise. A Deluxe Harbour view/balcony room is not as good as it sounds, although the view is terrific. Room was not large, air conditioning didn't work with the thermostat constantly getting stuck. Some towels and soaps were not replaced and the cleaning varied from day to day. Balcony door was almost impossible to slide open. Bar fridge kept everything nice and warm (forget about trying to keep anything of your own cool). Wi-Fi: when you're paying this sort of money, why not include it in the price?
On the plus side, the concierge service was faultless.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikelp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Mikelp01,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to provide an online review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your constructive comments which I have shared with the related department heads for their attention and follow up. On the other hand, thank you for recognising the service of our Concierge team. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to them. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and should you consider staying with us again, please do not hesitate to let me know so I may be able to assist in ensuring you have a pleasant stay.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I chose to stay here for a brief trip to Sydney for a conference as it is the most conveniently situated hotel in the Starwood Hotel group for Darling Harbour. The Four Points by Sheraton, is located on the east-side of Darling Harbour, so it is a short stroll to the Harbour’s convention centre, restaurants & casino, but is also still within reasonably easy walking distance to the city centre and Circular Quay. My trip totalled less than 36 hours, but as my red-eye flight arrived at 6am I had to book 2 nights to enable an immediate check-in which meant that the room rate effectively appeared to cost twice as much as I was actually only staying one night. Despite this annoyance, I happily discovered at check-in that I was upgraded to a newly refurbished harbour view room with a balcony, and then was granted a late checkout at 3pm as requested. The most important thing to note, is that the Four Points brand is not the same level of luxury as the Sheraton hotels, but this hotel is definitely a comfortable 4 star. The newly refurbished room was comfortable with neutral décor, and the bathroom was quite spacious as they had removed the old small bath and replaced it with a larger walk-in shower. Check-in and check-out was easy, and the staff courteous and efficient. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel in Sydney, then I would choose one of the other 5-star options in the city centre, however, the Four Points by Sheraton is a great choice if you are attending the Sydney Convention Centre and/or want proximity to Darling Harbour.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms over Darling Harbour are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi CarKri02,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour and for your favourable review! It is delightful to know that you were pleased with your stay at our hotel and had a smooth check-in experience on arrival especially after a long and tiring flight.. Indeed, we have a great and convenient location in Sydney, in close proximity to the Sydney Convention Centre, transport, shopping and a short stroll to many local attractions. The comfort of our guests is important to us and we trust that you enjoyed the upgraded room with great views of Darling Harbour. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, either on business or leisure, hopefully in the not so distant future. Thank you for your Tripadvisor review.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed one week in Four Points Sydney and our view of hotel was the city but would be great if the view was Darling Harbour. But everything was great except there should be more staff at the reception and 2 times I must go to reception again to change my card because not working. The location is very closed with darling harbour and amazing view in the evening and very closed to convention centre. Overall, attentive Staff, service was great, great location, easy access to everywhere, reasonable price for such a comfortable room, fitness center was great and clean plus the small gallery.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_percursatiopunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi punta_carrara,

Thank you for your favourable review. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasant and your highlights on our caring service, convenient location and comfortable and clean rooms are appreciated. We are also grateful for your constructive comments which I have shared with the team. Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully sometime soon..

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing