We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed here twice in feb 2012. Big hotel but very friendly staff. Basic but fine!

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrlondon500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear rrlondon500,

Thank you for your review! We hope that your stays with us were enjoyable. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodation in Sydney and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    1,451
    615
    219
    158
See reviews for
381
1,244
222
1,058
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We arrived after 1030 at night with friends who had just arrived from Singapore, the bar and restaurant were closing by the time we had checked in, but the bar staff were great and organised some bar food (great club sandwiches) for us as we didn’t want to traipse around the streets looking for a restaurant at that time.

The room was good size, plenty of space, storage and good bathroom, which you should expect from this hotel chain. Very quiet, given that the hotel seemed full and there were always guests coming and going but you didn’t hear them!

The staff, from the bell boys to the concierge were all very attentive and helpful with directions etc, although the check in desk could have been more efficient; they were very slow and couldn’t get the two rooms sorted out.

The hotel is just back from Darling Harbour, we booked harbour view rooms which had balconies and although you can open the doors, you can’t sit out which was disappointing. However the view over the Aquarium to the Naval museum was terrific and great to watch the thunder storm on Sunday night. Good location for walking to the ferries to catch a boat into town and a great selection of eateries nearby.

Room Tip: If you can, get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riglara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Riglara,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay online. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our great and convenient location in the city. We are grateful for the kind words you mentioned on the service delivery of our associates, particularly those of our Concierge and restaurant/bar team. I will make sure your feedback is passed on to them. Thank you also for your constructive comments on your check-in experience which I have advised to our Front office Manager for follow up with the team. We very much value guest feedback as this allows us the opportunity to learn where we have met or fell short of guest expectations and make improvements were necessary. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney Darling again.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is located in a central location of Sydney. It is a 10 minute walk from the Town Hall stop. The hotel is pretty big so check in lines can be long but they move very quickly. The rooms are fine and serve its purpose. Nothing negative or positive sticks out. There is free wifi in the hotel lobby. The lobby is basic and sometimes, seating is at a premium if you go down to use the wifi. The hotel staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Roluke,

Thank you for spending the time to share your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. I hope we were able to contribute in making your stay in Sydney enjoyable. Thank you for the gift of feedback and for choosing to stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July 2011. We needed 2 rooms for the family. The location is wonderful and great for families. There are alot of dining options around the harbor and an IMAX theatre. We truly enjoyed our time in Sydney and our stay at the Sheraton. Would highly recommend this hoted for anyone staying in Sydney!

Room Tip: Try to get a harbor view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear DLCB,

Thank you choosing to stay at our hotel and for your excellent review ! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming the whole family back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I would like to thank the hotel for their hospitable, considered and efficient service, whilst staying there in Sydney for business. The check in was effortless and I was up graded to a higher floor with wonderful views. Beds and bathroom amenities are top rate. The rooms are smallish but desk size impressive. There is no real space, except for desk, to boil the kettle!
Overall I commend the staff and manager for the efforts in what is a busy hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbfamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Melbfamof4,

Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is very pleasing to learn that we have met most of your expectations, particularly with the fine service delivery of our associates. Four Point is very focused in providing good customer service consistently and a lot of initiatives and training are geared towards maintaining service excellence in our hotel. We have different room configurations in our hotel and hopefully you will have the opportunity to experience our bigger rooms on your next visit. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four P:oints by Sheraton, Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Let me start by first saying thank you to all the staff at this hotel - nothing was too much for them to do and they always seemed willing to help. For a hotel of that size,w ith that much business and noting how busy they always are, it is a testament to the hotels policy - looks like they value the customer and always put them first.

We arrived with our luggage a day early (before our check in date) and they were more than willing to help us store our luggage until the next day. Also,we needed to use the internet and some business services and they readily assisted us with all of it - with smile! and we had not even checked in yet!. We have to thank Peter and Henry at the concierge area for all great service, they certainly made a great impression - and the rest of the staff were always in a great mood.

The location was perfect - within walking distance to the darling harbour and related sites - smack in the middle of this tourist area.

The rooms were nice, perhaps could use some updating to make them more modern, but it was clean. There was wifi in the lobby (with some computer terminals) although you had to pay in the rooms - this should really be changed .

All in all, a nice hotel and i would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear TTToronto,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to know that you were very pleased with the service delivery of our associates and our great location. Indeed, we are in one of Sydney’s top locations and we have received a number of great comments from our guests enjoying the convenience and excellent position of our hotel in the city. It is very encouraging to know that we have met your expectations particularly in the area of our associates’ service. Your recognition on the fine service received from our associates, particularly that from Peter and Henry will certainly be shared with the team. Thank you also for your constructive comments concerning the guest rooms. Rest assured that our hotel is committed to continuously enhancing its product and facilities and a room refurbishment including wifi in guest rooms is part of our capital expenditure plan. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Darling Harbour is for tourists no doubt but with that comes a string of not so great, overpriced restaurants and bars. The pub just outside the hotel one of the better deals that even Sydneysiders frequent. One can still walk to the domain and NSW National Gallery, Opera House etc. if not too pooped from walking all day!

Great bed and bedding. No frills in this hotel - cheap namelss toiletries, cheap little radio, instant cofee (only in Australia!) No perks such as bathrobes, Ipod stations and Internet access $12/hr or $24 a day.

Recommend harbour view over city. Nicy to have privacy on higher floor with curtains open!

Room Tip: Harbour view over city. High floor for privacy (with curtains open)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Ozanita,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to learn that you like our comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and trust you enjoyed the harbour view room. I appreciate your remarks concerning some of the issues where we did not meet your expectations. We value feedback received from our guests, both positive and constructive and rest assured we are committed to continuously making improvements to enhance the comfort level of our guests and make their stay more enjoyable. Again, thanks for the feedback and we hope to welcome you again to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing