We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #79 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great stay, very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

After reading the revues on trip advisor we were not totally sure what to expect but since the majority indicated it was a good place to try we decided to try it. The room cost was very welcome, well within reason especially since we were visiting over the Christmas/New Years holiday and the rates in most hotels were just WAY out of our reach. So this hotel proved to be well worth the money, quite comfortable, large firm bed which we love, grew view, request harbor view for sure. Also the room was a good size, didn't feel cramped at all. Certainly you can stay in much fancier (highly expensive) hotels but this is a great value and a nice place to stay for sure. Also well within walking distance of China town and fantastic food at the Golden Century.
We only ate breakfast but the buffet was good for sure, we didn't try dinner or any other meals so can't comment. We would recommend this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Choose a harbor view, worth it Darlin Harbor and the bridge going to the shops is a great view espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    1,428
    602
    207
    153
See reviews for
371
1,224
220
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Decided to follow through on staying in the middle of our own home city for a few days over the Christmas/New Year break. Four Points is in an excellent position close to Darling Harbour, King St Wharf & Ferries, Chinatown, entertainment, tours and a short walk to Circular Quay and The Rocks. Hotel was beautiful and well appointed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Noise transference from next room (showers) was annoying but didn't really disturb us. Take ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear RhondaSydney,

Thank you for your favourable comments shared on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the kind words you mentioned on our hotel and hope were able to able to take advantage of our great location during your stay. We are fortunate indeed to have one of the best spots in Sydney! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed on and off here for five or so years- mainly when I lived in Sydney and wanted a place to stay after seeing a show without the hassles of driving, parking and driving home.

Mind you, I've always regarded it as a "convention hotel".

This trip was to be special: "mother-daughter time" together, at the sales, visit the new Westfield, the re-vamped Pitt Street Mall and visit Jamie Oliver's new restaurant and those in the re-vamped Star Casino before daughter left for work abroad.

Check-in. Wonderful. Friendly and delightful. Parking: do it yourself across the road at extra cost (complicated if one wants to extend stay). *Not* acceptable. Obvious this is a "car less" convention hotel.

I'm a member of the Sheraton chain. Room upgraded (nice one).

Room: large but the doors separating living space from sleeping space are broken and remain so for our stay. Ditto bed side lamps despite repeated calls to house keeping.

Bathroom and dressing room spacious.

View of ANZAC Bridge does not qualify as a "Harbour room" in my opinion.

Non-opening windows for obvious reasons. Air con freezing. Without, stifling.

Fridge not up to keeping David Jones' goodies chilled (surprise!).

Buffet breakfast was included in our "deal". Bain marie's don't do it for me. Skipped it and went elsewhere (Chinatown).

Wanted a club sandwich and salad or similar to share for lunch. No luck. Went elsewhere.

Ordered steak (as I've done each visit) for room service dinner. Knew from previous experience, to order a steak knife (and I have my steak "blue"). No steak knife provided. Steak served medium-rare and impossible to cut with a regular knife.

Disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronte4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear bronte4 ,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of your overall disappointment with your stay and apologise most sincerely for failing to meet your expectations. I have taken your comments on board and will ensure that the relevant department heads are made aware for immediate follow up. We perform regular checks on our guest rooms and I am sorry that the room you occupied was not up to standard during your stay. I have also shared your remarks concerning your dining experience with our Food & Beverage Manager. On the other hand, I am pleased to know that your check-in went well. Again, thanks for your gift of feedback. I hope that your disappointment on this occasion will not deter you from visiting us again. Do let me know when you are back in Sydney and wish to stay with us so I can ensure your stay is a pleasant and enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I have both arrived at the hotel from Western Australia today and found the staff to very welcoming and friendly. The room, overlooking the harbour, (8th floor), is very nicely appointed, clean and has a great view.

Restaurants are very close by. My wife and I are very pleased that we chose hwre after reading the revues on TripAdvisor. We will definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Huss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear Vic_Huss,

Thank you for your kind review and sharing it on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn of your positive experience during your stay at our hotel and pleased to know that you enjoyed our wonderful location, guest room and the friendly service of our associates. Indeed, we are fortunate to be located in one of Sydney’s best spots, closed to Darling Harbour, local attractions, and dining and entertainment venues. I am grateful that you will be recommending our hotel to your family and others and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour on your next visit to Sydney.


Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is well located, definitely opt for a harbor view room if you can, the view is spectacular. Hotel staff are helpful, air-conditioning works well in rooms (which is critical in summer) and the location is perfect for everything you will want to do in Sydney. My only complaint is that they have no wifi in rooms. Seriously, it is 2012, not 1999. Many laptops, smartphone and tablets don't have Ethernet points and no wifi in room is a major oversight for both business and leisure travelers. Otherwise I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear MrMatthew,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that you were happy with our convenient location and enjoyed the stunning views of Darling Harbour from your room. I am also pleased to read that our associates have been helpful to you during your visit. Sorry for the inconvenience caused concerning the lack of wifi in our guest rooms. We do provide wifi in our hotel lobby and the Business Centre and do understand how important this is for our guests. Please be assured that we are looking into this and continuously making improvements to meet our guest requirements. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

The location was just perfect, 5 min walk to darling harbour, and that pretty much means access to all of Sydney by ferry. The room was excellent, the food was delivered fast and was excellent quality, very tasty! The staff were very polite and helpful. Recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feldy1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Feldy1647,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to learn that we have met your expectations during your visit and appreciate your kind words on our facilities and service delivery. We are always delighted to receive positive comments from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour, hopefully soon.

Yours sincerely,
Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

I've used this hotel a couple of times on business and once for a family weekend and have quite enjoyed each stay with one or two exceptions.

Location: overlooking Darling Harbour (probably one of the nicest places to eat in Sydney) but be aware that it's separated from the harbour by several main roads so ask directions from the concierge if you're not familiar with the area. this works pretty well as you spent the day sight-seeing around the bridge and opera house, come back to get changed and then go out for dinner around darling harbour without having to worry about getting taxis back.

Rooms: The rooms feel as if they’ve been recently refurbished and are furnished in a contemporary style but are maybe just a touch small and would benefit from having an iron available. Half have harbour views and half, well they just don’t.

Prices: personally I think Sydney is quite pricey so I guess they’re not so bad although you are competing with Sydney’s main business district so you’re still paying corporate-level rates.

Breakfasts: huge, they have pretty much everything under the sun so if you’re staying for a week or so remember that just because it’s all there you don’t have to eat it.

Facilities: no pool which can be a pity when it gets hot but it does have a fitness room and its own pub – a proper pub too, not just a faux-antique bar. The hotel has actually incorporated a couple of old buildings on the front of Sussex Street and they are merely joined to the main hotel by virtue of a glass ceiling and walkways so look really interesting from the inside.

Consequently there’s a standalone old pub just outside the hotel entrance which is a great place to meet up for a drink (although they are sometimes prone to have the music blasting so loud you can’t hear your neighbour speak) before heading off elsewhere.

Parking: parking can be extortionate in Sydney; in the public car park opposite the hotel it’s $82 per day but you can get it for $40 day if you let reception know you’re parked opposite.

Service: The staff seems to be predominantly Asiatic and they can’t do enough to help with bags, maps, breakfasts and the like – excellent service. We’ve had some trouble with check-in twice now and they maybe just need to be reminded who’s the customer and who’s providing the service but otherwise this is a pretty good city centre hotel and I’ll certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a harbour view then aslo ask for a room above the sixth floor otherwise you may just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPSS, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear IntrepidVoyager,

Thank you for spending the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our great location which is just a short stroll to Darling Harbour and a number of entertainment and dining venues, shopping and public transport. For the convenience of our guest, our hotel has a walkway beside the building going to Darling Harbour providing easy access to Darling Harbour without having to cross any main roads. I appreciate also your comments concerning our service delivery, rooms and our food & beverage outlets. We do have rooms larger in size whilst an iron and ironing board are provided in every room. I hope you enjoyed our gym which also has views of the harbour and our historic Dundee Arms Pub. Thank you also for mentioning parking where house guests can avail of the reasonably-priced city parking voucher from our Concierge which allows them to have multiple and 24 hour access to the car park nearby. Happy to know that you will consider staying at our hotel again and we look forward to welcoming you back, either on business or on a leisure trip, to the Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Molnar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing