We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "budget' option in Sydney”
Review of DeVere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DeVere Hotel
Ranked #152 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I quantify 'budget' in terms of Sydney, because few places would see $100+ as fitting into a budget category. However, the Devere is probably the cheapest hotel in Sydney that is reliable and decent.

Although it won't win any awards for service and what it delivers, the Devere is always clean and quiet for $100 which is rare in Sydney. You can even haggle a discount if you talk to the right manager.

We regularly stayed here because after the hostels became unbearable, this was a welcome place. It provided a comfortable bed, good shower and a decent location in Kings Cross. Just beware of the massive price hike from Thursday until Sunday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 537 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Location.
Affordable.
Helpful staff................................ what more do you want?

De Vere is my first choice when visiting Sydney, which I do often.
Sure it's not 5 star but nor is the price and it doesn't pretend to be
anything other than comfortable, clean, capable.

Continually return there.
Say no more!!!!

Room Tip: Ask the staff for your requirements when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyawayfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I read some of the negative reviews about this place but went ahead and booked it on the strength of travellers photos and price (it was Sat eve before Australia day and every hotel was charging over double their normal rates). I was a little worried, especially as I was taking my girlfriend. Overall this hotel was more than satisfactory, due to the negative reviews my expectations were low but mostly exceeded. Yes there are steps up to the lift but not many and one lift has ramps to it. The room was pretty basic but the bathroom was clean and the bed was very comfortable and we both slept very well. Location was fantasic and only about 4-5 minutes walk to the heart of Kings Cross. We found a lovely side street full of very classy (and expensive) bars away from the riff raff (and backpackers) of the main Kings Cross Drag. There is a Woolworths just 2 minutes walk from the hotel so anything you need you can grab there. The walk the next day to Royal Botanical Gardens took us just 15 minutes which was awesome. They also upgraded us to a view of Elizabeth Bay but was a small single glazed window which could lead to a very long fall but still nice. Please do not expect the world with this Hotel but know that it does the job - lastly we could hear people coming and going from the rooms next door but not when they were inside their rooms.

Would I stay again? Only if everywhere was overpriced again, otherwise there are nicer hotels but I was not unhappy with this one, and we both had a great time. Staff were friendly and stored our baggage for free when we checked out - they were lining up bags for people who had arrived early and weren't able to check in till 2pm - I thought that was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It's inexpensive seemingly only due to the slightly tired fit-out.

It's clean, nothing seems too tatty. Staff great. Location pretty good.

Coffee shop across the road is awesome.

Most attractions just about in walking distance.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank castino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Good basic hotel, a bit pricey but convenient location in Sydney. Breakfast was nice and simple, seemed popular with Chinese tourists, overall a pleasant experience without being exceptional. I tried for an early check in but had to wait till 2 pm so guess it must be full. Though kings cross is famous for nightlife, Devere is in a good area with no direct nuisance

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SachinSharjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here one night on my way to my final destination. It was not the best. With luggage have to walk up steps to a lift. Room old and tired as well as being very hot in summer. I think it is lacking any kind of insulation or has sick building syndrome. Putting on the air conditioner helps but you can still feel the underlying heat coming out of the building.

I was awoken a couple of times by the loud people in the room opposite me coming and going. At one point during the night I heard someone trying to open the door to my room.

I would not recommend this hotel and would only stay again if it was updated and refurbished.

Room Tip: Pick a room at another hotel. Pay a bit more and get a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very poor, low quality hotel and could with a face lift.
We had a superior room, ummm hate to think what the standard room was like. Breakfast, had better in road side vans!
Tables not clean, chairs all split, hole in the celling with a bin under it to catch the water.
Unfriendly staff!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Highfield Private Hotel
#141 of 186 in Sydney
81 reviews
Hotel Challis
#57 of 186 in Sydney
831 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#116 of 186 in Sydney
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 186 in Sydney
909 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
529 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#113 of 186 in Sydney
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeVere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeVere Hotel

Address: 44 - 46 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $77 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeVere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located 500 meters from Kings Cross Station, within walking distance of shops, restaurants & nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your DeVere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing