We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!”
Review of DeVere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DeVere Hotel
Ranked #141 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been to, an absolute dump!! The paint was peeling off the walls in reception, the place was dusty and dirty, the only update to the decor in decades is the recolouring from years of dust. The staff were terribly rude and when we asked for a refund as we absolutely could not stay there without feeling sick, they refused, despite only booking a few minutes earlier online. This is not a 3 star rated hotel as claimed, it desperately needs to be re-rated, and the price charged for the quality is outrageous (for $30 more we were able to stay at a beautiful 4 star hotel in the city - a vast contrast to this one). I can't understand how this place has received any positive reviews, the only positive thing that could possibly be said about it is the location. But please don't waste your money staying here, you would be better off in a backpackers. Truly!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    185
    166
    62
    62
See reviews for
71
178
108
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're looking for cheap accommodation that is quite central and easy to get around from then this will meet your requirements. I stayed here for one night with a friend and wouldn't recommend staying here longer than that.
We stayed in a premium bay view room and I wouldn't stay in anything more basic than this. Essentially if you're staying here make the most of the location and only come back to get some sleep. On the plus side, the room was very clean, the beds are comfy, some rooms have water views and the noise level outside was acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel was clean, service was good and was very close to all the nightlife and action of the cross. Good value for the price. If you're in the market for budget accommodation, you could go a lot worse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkVerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I always stay at DeVere when in Sydney. Centrally located.
Easy walk to CBD via scenic 'take your time' or direct routes.
But you have everything on offer right outside your door.
Not posh but comfortable, inexpensive, staff helpful.
You will be very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyawayfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for footy game on a Saturday night. Had 2 rooms both had 1x dbl bed n 1x sngl bed booked unfortunately couldn't be places next door to one another but that was fine. Cleanliness of room was great. Right in the heart of kings cross. Night life was loud at times by screeching cars but for 1am you get that! Only downside was the fact there was no on site parking and u had to walk 10mins or so and pay $40 a day at the undercover parking which in the end we were fine with as car was more secure. Would of extended stay if could!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Devere in August. This is a hotel perfect for those who want a budget-friendly place to stay near Kings Cross/Darlinghurst precinct. The room and its facilities are a little dated and basic & offer typical 3 ~ 3 1/2 star hotel standard, i.e. you get such items as coffee/tea making facilities (but not mini-bar), limited TV channels (no Foxtel/cable TV), iron/ironing board, extra blankets/pillows, in a reasonable size room. I got upgraded to a room with a nice water view (Elizabeth Bay/Rushcutters Bay). I only paid about AUD$100 per night and even had buffet breakfast thrown in so to me, it was a fantastic value for money.

The hotel is located in Potts Point, that's a suburb next to Kings Cross. Although Kings Cross is known as a red-light district, Potts Point is actually very nice, pleasant, vibrant residential area. You will find lots of nice cafes for good coffee & dining experiences. There is a large supermarket and a liquor store across the hotel, open till mid-night, which is very convenient.
Another reviewer wrote "the hotel is run by Chinese", which is sort of true as you almost only see staff members from Asian background both at the reception and in the restaurant. But I don't know if that (the hotel being run by "chinese") should even be noted as a negativity.
The staff members I came across were generally attentive, friendly and professional, so on that note, I can only commend the hotel's management.
If you want to go to Sydney's CBD (e.g. Townhall, Martin Place, Circular Quay & Darling Harbour), you can either walk from Devere via Macleay Street, Darlinghurst Road and William Street, or take a train from Kings Cross Station on Darlinghurst Road. Also you can take a bus on Macleay Street, which take you into the city. On foot, you're a fast walker, it will take you about 20 minutes to get to Townhall (corner of Park Street and George Street).

If you're after a place to eat/drink near the hotel but NOT in Kings Cross, I would suggest you head out to Darlinghurst. You will walk through Kings Cross on Darlinghurst Road and once you walk past a large Coca-Cola sign on William Street, you are in Darlinghurst. Along Victoria Street, you will find many restaurants & cafes, so you have lots to choose from.

In conclusion, this is a hotel that's priced very generously by Sydney standard. The value for money is the hotel's perhaps only selling point.
The hotel is NOT right in the Sydney's CBD but located closely enough to give you an easy access to it.
What you will not get is a "state of the art", chic and sleek facilities, so if you're after that aspect, you can perhaps pay double the price and find yourself a room elsewhere.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay experience and didn't find any fault with the facilities in my room, in the restaurant, and the way the reception handled my check-in/check-out. I would stay here again in future with absolutely no hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmySydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We are older retired people and we stayed 2 lots of 2 nights pre-paid, before and after pacific cruise. Hotel corridors and rooms, (we had two rooms, one each 2 day stay) stank of unclean vacuum cleaner smells, don't think the bags had ever been emptied. Hotel run by Chinese!!
ROOMS UNCLEAN, ONLY STAY HERE IF YOU ARE A BACK PACKER OR DESPERATE???
We left early to get out, no refund. Used condoms found in bedside drawer.YUK.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
662 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#142 of 178 in Sydney
176 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#130 of 178 in Sydney
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 178 in Sydney
1,838 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#99 of 178 in Sydney
41 reviews
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#107 of 178 in Sydney
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeVere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeVere Hotel

Property: DeVere Hotel
Address: 44 - 46 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeVere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located 500 meters from Kings Cross Station, within walking distance of shops, restaurants & nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DeVere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing