We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DeVere Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Gazebo Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Kingsview(Sydney)
View Hotel
Highfield Private Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
41
196
180
71
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
196
180
71
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crosselizabeth baymacleay streetwoolworths supermarketminute walktrain stationbit datedbotanical gardenscircular quaykitchenetteratescafessuburbferriescbd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 552 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Over 3 weeks travelling in Australia, staying in many apartments, hotels and B&Bs in QLD and NSW this was the most disappointing place we stayed. The twin room was dingy, basically equipped and with a view of the mucky wall of the neighbouring building. Access to Internet/wifi was not free and quite pricey. Overall the place was not good value for money, even for Sydney. The one redeeming feature was that one blond haired lady on reception was very helpful when we needed some food heating up in a microwave. There are better and more value for money places to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good location, easy walk to various places or hop on the underground at Kings Cross.

Room rates are good, especially for the Sydney area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean but small . . . but you’re not going there to stay in your room. Only negative was they charged for wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjkiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel is good, staff is unfriendly, helpless, rude. No attention for the customer, if u need gluten free, forget it..they send u to buy ur GF food at wholworth just in front then charge breakky anyway as u used the tables/chairs. Wheelchair: good luck! It's in a great place, lots of character, but the staff is just...terrible! I would not come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triatciccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

You get what you pay for at this hotel. It is a hotel for budget minded travelers. The front staff was not that helpful, but they were nice, just not that knowledgeable when asking for directions to local attractions, or bus / subway information. Nor was the front staff very accommodating. I arrived a bit early and was not allowed to check into the room until after 3pm, or I could pay for the extra day and check in a few hours early. There is no freebies at this place, you will pay for every little thing you may want or need. The room was very small, but then, I knew that prior to booking. I suggest the small upgrade to the "harbor view". The flat screen television was mounted high on the wall, which is nice when you are standing, but is not easily viewed when laying in bed, which is the only place to relax because of the small size of the room.

My only negative comment is the fact that the building is old, and thus has steps throughout the hallways, beginning at the front door entry into the lobby / reception area as several buildings seem to be joined together over the years. This is a hardship when you are carrying several large or heave suitcases along with handbags.

The room was old, and mostly clean, just very, very small. The air-conditioning window unit worked well. However, the AC unit form the floor above leaked, drip .. drip on the outside of my AC unit. I was loud enough to be distracting. ( I actually thought it was raining!) I got exactly what I paid for.
Again, a low budget hotel.

The neighborhood is quirky, as you walk through seedy parts and past backpacker hostels to get to the hotel. However, the neighborhood is filled with bars and restaurants and is full of night life and various activities of many, many types of people. I felt safe, and once I was able to figure out the bus and subway patterns, it was a good place to stay for a day or two as most of the city is within walking and transportation distance.

Room Tip: Harbor View. You will pay more $ for it, but it is relaxing.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jn2jn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I need to stay somewhere for one night and booked this through a travel website.
The room was large, clean, with a good size television, and comfy bed. The bath was a little small, but the shower was good along with the complimentary soaps. The reception area has a few computers as well as comfy chairs to sit and read the papers.
Located near the Cross it is in a perfect location to explore the area and the surrounds.
For the price $80 it was perfect.
Staff on reception helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undercoverelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews