We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good service”
Review of DeVere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DeVere Hotel
Ranked #152 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for a week around australia day.
we gave them short notice and got great prices, we chose a room that I read a trip advisor review on (room 409). it was exactly as I had read.
It was clean and comfortable, a bit dated but hey for $95 per night we could not complain.
Oh and the breaky was great (hot) for $13. would definitely stay again

Room Tip: back of the hotel, bay views, rooms 408,409, 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank databoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 528 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Devere Hotel in Pott's Point for two nights in mid-Jan 2013. We booked at short notice and were surprised at how reasonably-priced the standard room was.

When we arrived we found the allocated room to be large (with a double bed and a single bed) but very worn out. It looked like it had been decorated last in the mid-Eighties, and the enamel in the bath was worn in several areas. The window opened on to what seemed to be an air-conditioning unit.

We asked the hotel reception if we could be moved to another standard room but were told that the hotel was full. We were offered a premium room for an extra $20 per night. We took this (since it offered free wireless as well). The premium room was much smaller than the standard room but was modern and clean. The wifi was a total pain to use though.

The location of the hotel is great if you're visiting friends who live in Pott's Point, Woolloomooloo, Elizabeth Bay, King's Cross or Darlinghurst.

Room Tip: If you don't mind worn out features and no natural light, but are looking for a large room, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N1Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I wanted a hotel in the general area of Kings Cross without joining the backpacker crowd. The devere hotel at Potts Point was a good choice. It is just down the road from Kings Cross (at the fountain end) but there is a real feel of leaving the mayhem of Kings Cross and entering a more upmarket neighbourhood - the restaurants immediately by the hotel are posher and more expensive than those in the 'Cross, but of course if all you want is a cheap pizza all you have to do is walk 400 yds. Kings Cross has excellent connections to trains and buses but I walked to Circular Quay most days through the beautiful Botanical gardens.

My rooms was clean and comfortable - unfortunately no view but I could live with that. Reception were helpful and friendly. There are two internet terminals in reception which were useful for further planning. There's a very good buffet breakfast room.

A great choice if you're looking for a comfortable hotel in central Sydney, without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frostma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

GIven the fact we stayed on a Friday night in the middle of peak summer season, we weren't expecting much for our $99. But we were happily surprised - the room was amazingly quiet, at the back of the hotel overlooking the harbour. The double room itself was pretty basic but clean, spacious and with everything we needed for the one-night stay. It's two minutes from the main drag of Kings Cross but far enough away to be away from the crowds. Didn't have much to do with the staff but they seemed friendly enough when we did interact. The window didn't stay open when we opened it for some fresh air, but no worries - we finally found a use for that Bible they always chuck in hotel drawers. It did a good job of wedging it in place! Definitely recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay near Kings Cross or Potts Point without blowing the budget.

Room Tip: We stayed in #409 which was high enough to not get noise from the road, and at the back of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had pleasant stay at Devere Hotel for 4 days. The room was big, with an extra bed.
Good value for money.
The staff of all shifts were very courteous and extremely helpful.
We feel that the WIFI charge of A$ 4 per hour is excessive.

The hotel is located on Macleay Street, around 300 Metres from Kings Cross Station. Hence convenient for travel by train. The area where the hotel is located is relatively quiet in comparison with Darlinghurst Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an extra bed, if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

In a terrible area (kings cross- but an wasy central location for public transport etc) and looks a bit dated from the outside but the rooms were lovely. We were also upgraded free to a bigger room upon arrival. Beds are comfortable. Hotel is clean, rooms come with towels. Enjoyed my stay here :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie-ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed here we booked it on same day and the room was clean and tidy and stff kind and helpful which hel[ped towards our holiday experience with staff even at one point going out to get us a bag of ice definate plans to stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#116 of 180 in Sydney
687 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#109 of 180 in Sydney
1,981 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#136 of 180 in Sydney
47 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 180 in Sydney
888 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#26 of 180 in Sydney
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeVere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeVere Hotel

Address: 44 - 46 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $76 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeVere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located 500 meters from Kings Cross Station, within walking distance of shops, restaurants & nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your DeVere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing