We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DeVere Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$182
$139
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$234
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$213
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$244
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$144
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
41
196
180
71
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
196
180
71
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crosselizabeth baymacleay streetwoolworths supermarketminute walktrain stationbit datedbotanical gardenscircular quaykitchenetteratescafessuburbferriescbd
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 553 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Cheap rates but hotel decor is very tired and the rooms are very basic. Fine if you just want somewhere to get your head down at night but I wouldn't like to spend too much time in the rooms, and definitely not in room 321 which is right next to the lift shaft. The noise from the lifts is very disturbing and starts to become a constant irritation from about 6am onwards, so don't plan on any lie-ins in that room.
Location-wise, the room is pretty close to Kings Cross station so it is easy to get around Sydney from there.
We paid $99 a night and that was about the true worth compared with prices for "decent" hotels. Definitely not three star plus as they awarded themselves - closer to two star facilities I would say. That said, it fitted our needs for a cheap"ish" few days in Sydney. Just be prepared for somewhat dingy looking rooms.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank tomaso17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Did a trip to Sydney from Melbourne and wanted a mid range hotel, nothing too fancy and nothing down at heel and this hotel fitted the criteria. Air conditioning in the rooms plus a fridge, usual kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. Right on the shops and a hop, skip and a jump to the opera house and bridge. The staff here are very friendly and knowledgable of the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in a Premium Bay View room, but sadly, the view that we had of the bay was no more than a tiny, snatched view between two buildings. So if you do go for a bay view room, keep in mind that it's luck of the draw, so you might not get a great view. Our room was right next to the lift, so the sound of that might bother people that are light sleepers.

As far as the room itself is concerned, it was comfortable and adequate for our needs. Our room had a kitchenette, which was handy, and there was also a spare single bed in the kitchenette area. One problem we did have was with the kettle; it wasn't working properly. But after I reported it, they came quickly to check it out and then replaced it with a new one straight away.

At first, I thought the TV simply had a lousy reception, but after a couple of days I noticed that the antenna plug was half out of the wall, so after pushing that back in, the reception was fine.

We didn't have the breakfast, simply because of the high cost of it, which is sad since would have liked to do that. But there are plenty of much cheaper eateries offering breakfast within 5 minutes walk of the hotel, so that's really not a problem.

You really should keep in mind that this hotel is in the heart of Kings Cross, an area that is notorious for a good reason. During the day is perfectly fine and as safe as anywhere else in Sydney. At night, though... If you're there on a Friday or Saturday night, especially, then you should probably make sure you either get back to the hotel before dark, or take a taxi to drop you off at the door. We walked the streets a couple of times during the early evening during the week, and had no problems and didn't feel threatened. But it is something to keep in mind.

But in saying that, this hotel is a cheap hotel as far as Sydney hotels are concerned. And since it is a cheap hotel, you really shouldn't be expecting 5 star luxury, like some people unfairly do. If you expect a decent, clean hotel then you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't look over the main street are best, especially if you're a light sleeper. And if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the lift.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melrick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This small hotel is a stones throw from the notorious Kings Cross red light district. It is a clean budget hotel and in truth probably is no more than a two star hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and there are a reasonable amount of buses taxis and facilities close by.
Having paid for a city special that came with breakfast and a superior room - it really did not deliver.....
The superior room felt like a basement room - one tiny window high up and nothing to look onto. The room was at best 3x3. The bed a double was like a trampoline and clearly was a budget bed and mattress at best. As however we had no intention of spending all day inside not really a problem.
What was irritating was the constant low pitched hum that went all night till 4am, the noisy fridge, the creaking floorboards which unfortunately had someone pacing back and forward all night. The doors to the rooms were fire doors which slammed making an awful bang. It sounded like we were next to the laundry .
Breakfast was good and better the second morning however no sign of the promised hash browns !!! LOL
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I guess my trips to the States and use of their budget motels have given me an expectation of a better standard from my homeland :(

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsKeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is an old hotel which has quirky arrangements and stairs everywhere. But the good news is they carry your luggage for you. The rooms (superior queen) are modernized with good bed and shower. The area is safe with good restaurants near. It is far from many tourist attractions but buses and trains are near. I found the room very clean but do not like the envelop style duvet cover being used without a top sheet. Walk to King's Crossing for breakfast instead of taking the over priced breakfast at the hotel. With a $10 breakfast at the outdoor cafe you get free wifi for your iPad instead of the hotel's $4 per hour.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you may get a Harbour view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrekkerSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews