We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for central Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Ranked #87 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and enjoyed it. This hotel is a few minutes walk from Market City/ Paddy's Market and China Town and a comfortable walk from Darling Harbour. The weather did not permit use of the rooftop pool. The room was comfortable and clean.
Across the road from Central Station, with trains to the airport, on George Street, catch the free 555 bus into Circular quay, and enjoy the splendid shopping opportunities that make up George St. We did not eat in the hotel but had great breakfasts in Market City and ate some nights in the Crystal Palace Hotel opposite, looks like a boozer but serves good inexpensive food.
Staff were efficient and friendly, if it looks like rain get in early and borrow hotel umbrellas.

Room Tip: Avoid George St frontages, if not traffic noise then flash of traffic light camera will keep you awa...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
There are newer reviews for Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,358 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights , it was perfect for us as we got off the train at central and didn't need a taxi.
We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel if not a bus was just outside. The coffee and muffin deal was amazing. We could not fault the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelaVallaBeachNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. As others have mentioned, the location is perfect for public transport, Darling Harbour, Paddy's Markets/Market City, Capitol Theatre.
We caught the free 555 bus to Circular Quay to check out The Rocks, The Opera House and to catch the ferry over to Manly.
We had a corner room on the 6th floor and only heard traffic noise/sirens on the Saturday night. Nothing major and it did not disrupt our sleep too much. Room size was adequate for the two of us and the room was serviced daily. It's always great coming back to a nicely made bed!
Lots of local places to eat but there is also a restaurant in the hotel. We only had the $5 coffee and muffin before we headed out for the day, so I can't comment on the meals.
The staff were very pleasant, knowledgable and accommodating.
My only suggestion would be to include safes in the rooms.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ligi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night in Sydney doing the sight seeing thing, its a great location with everything only a short walk away, the rooms were very clean and modern and we had a lovely quiet nights sleep considering its right on George street, very unusual for a Sydney CBD hotel unless you want to pay top dollar. the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly and were more than happy to go out there way to assist with our requests.
we had breakfast here the following morning which was a buffet style help yourself, it was freshly cooked and very nice with a good variety to choose from.
all in all a good experience with everything you needed for a comfortable stay. would recommend a room on one of the higher floors for less traffic noise. yes i can recommend this hotel and i will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floors , breakfast is great value.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were quite dissapointed with our stay after reading quite a few good reviews. We didnt even notice the bad ones.

Our room was just average - the worst bit was the bathroom had some mould or infestation on one of the doors. Apart from that - if we had of paid half what we did for it then we would have been fine with it as that's what it was worth.

Staff weren't helpful or unhelpful so I guess can't really complain there. Location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rangitatanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here again (3rd time) as its right opposite Central Station where the airport train comes in to. The hotel is clean and quiet and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. There's lots of eateries close by so you won't be wondering what to have for a meal. Then there's Market City and Paddys Market just down the road. At the top level of Market City you have a large food hall that's a treat for your taste buds. Trains and buses are very close by. The windows in the hotel are double glazed so the traffic noise is kept to a minimum. The latest style air conditioners have been installed and the bathrooms are modern. Ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have stayed on a number of occasions at the Rendezvous and have always found the staff extremely attentive and helpful. Rooms were always clean and surprisingly quiet given the location (if available, ask for a room facing Quay Street or the rear lane). If you want to eat out and want something different, take a walk over to Surry Hills. Alternatively you can eat at their small but excellent restaurant. Secure car parking is available (via rear lane) although be careful pulling up outside the hotel foyer in Quay Street when booking in, as it is a no parking zone and the parking wardens are very active in that area! Overall a very pleasant well located hotel which is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Quay Street or the rear lane are quieter. Esay access parking is available via the rea...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#74 of 178 in Sydney
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Address: Cnr. George and Quay Streets | Railway Square, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $117 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing