We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too far from the Sydney I wanted to see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Ranked #86 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The first impression I got entering my very average room was 'is it evening already'. No it was not, but the windows were so dirty light could not get in. The hotel is situated in a busy part of town within China Town. Lots of noise all night, from drunks to traffic. Took 40 minutes to walk to Circle harbour and similar to other locations. Not for the tourist looking for an easy, relaxed hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Less than 300 metres from the Central railway and the interstate buses, the Rendezvous is a medium-sized and medium-priced establishment, recently modernized. Rooms are well appointed and reasonably spacious. Bathrooms are very good with strong overhead showers. It has a good bar and a restaurant open for breakfast & dinner. There's also a rooftop gym and open-air pool. There's a bus stop right on the corner and Chinatown is just up the road. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VernonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in the beginning of February this year for one week.
It is in an excellent location opposite Central Station and China Town. The bedrooms are
serviced to a good standard and there is a good breakfast with flexible times. The staff
are very helpful and will even look after your cases if you are too early to check in.
There is a sauna and swimming pool on the roof as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is on the shabby side. First room offered had a leak from the ceiling. We were given another room without any fuss. The beds are Okay. Despite the double glazing it can be noisey but you are in the centre of Sydney. It is very convenient for transport. It is easy to get the train to and from the hotel. Good restaurants can be found in the suburb of Surrey Hiils

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of a mystery weekend deal and thought this hotel was very nice. Reception was cheerful and very helpful, room was very modern and clean (no window in our room on 3rd floor but didn't matter). The only thing was both my partner and I felt the bed, whilst seemingly comfortable, was not good for our backs. The attached restaurant where we ate a buffet breakfast was fantastic. The street front looked a little dirty on one side. Would be nice to see that spruced up. Very close to railway station from the airport.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SuenDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over a weekend.

Beds were comfortable, no complaints on the noise.
Extremely convienient, just being outside central station station and a number of bus routes along the major bus route.
Was not that expensive, and for the benefits i would consider it good value.

They even include 3 hours of free wifi per day :D

My hotel room door wasn't working very well for me, locking me out a couple of times. But the staff were happy to help and try to fix the problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTrips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights 4 days. Nothing great. Since it was Christmas time the Hotel was under staffed. They informed us on arrival that since most of the staff was on leave there will be no room service for 2 days and only urgent requirements will be take care of. In house restaurant was not impressive. Check in was smooth. Room had nothing more than basic amenities. We asked for international converter but didn't get it in 3 days apparently the Hotel had only 3 converters and all were taken. While checking out we had asked for 20 more minutes and the staff at reception was extremely rude. They wanted to charge us for the whole day and when we refused to pay for 20 minutes delay the girl at the reception flung the bill on us and asked us to leave. When we told them that this was not the way to treat a guest especially in a hospitality industry the man at the reception argued that we shouldn't have spoken to a girl in a harsh tone. We were zabbed and didn't know why the staff was offended. Just because we refused to pay for a 20mins delay at check out. We were out almost the whole day exploring the city and pretty much used the Hotel only to sleep. And even then didn't have a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are average
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zipza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,959 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 179 in Sydney
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,277 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#24 of 179 in Sydney
153 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#76 of 179 in Sydney
3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central

Address: Cnr. George and Quay Streets | Railway Square, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $106 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing