We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #55 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great Place to stay, rooms very comfortable and staff where very helpful
The room we had was on the ground floor and was great with access to the courtyard
Room was large clean and great for the money

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Hi Michelle, we appreciate your review following you recent experience with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service and hotel's central location to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Indre Lideryte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 702 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Whilst staying at this hotel for business, I found it to be in a good location, accessible to all major shopping malls, good restaurants, China Town only a 5 minute walk and train & bus terminals handy. The hotel itself a little dark and dingy on the outside, which was a bit intimidating at night. The room was pretty small, tiny bathroom but really clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful, polite and made the stay pleasurable. I would stay here again but only for business and a couple of nights max.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I struggle to share all that is positive for CRH. I did stay for two weeks and got to experience it all. Internet Shocking for the first 10 days and with drilling and hammering during the day for the new install of internet, PERFECTION. Easy to use and reasonably fast, great upgrade. Second technical issue, TV, no cable, so very reliant on the local channels. Every day loss of signal pixelated screen, I reported the issue and they said they will look into it and I am sure they will address. The staff are very helpful, no issues in supporting your stay. Love the location a short walk to Central station to take you every where, easy walk into Sydney city. Taxi's go past the door all day and night feeding off the Train Station.
Rooms comfortable, Aircon works well as cooling or heating which ever you need. Facilities in the room work. Small kitchenette. I think the cleaning staff need a little education on dusting surfaces. Overall I like the place. it worked for me. My feedback is not criticism, just feedback so they can get better at it.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel will give you a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmslocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Hotel was just what was advertised. The room was nice and clean and they even had ear plugs on each bed for the traffic but we didn't need to use them. The secure car parking was great, we left our car there and walked just down the road to Central Station. The free Wifi was also a bonus because it was actually fast enough to use!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bryan24490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I found the hotel was very neat and tidy with great wi-fi. The wi-fi was being updated while we were there. It was a short walk away from central making it easy to get anywhere in the city.

We found the rooms clean and tidy - yes the bathroom is a little dated with small hairline cracks in the tiles - but really it works fine and is clean which to me is important. The beds were comfortable for us and the room was quiet warm. We didn't have any traffic noise but then we were on the 3rd floor. We didn't hear any of the other guests either and the hotel was booked out.

The downside to the room was the toilet window didn't lock which made me a little uneasy and the A/C unit blew out dirt from the vent on the second night which made me wonder when it was last cleaned. One thing to know is all family rooms are on the top floor - so you will have to go up 3 floors with all your luggage. I already knew that might be the case and had packed lightly. The shower is also small so found it hard to shower with our baby plus the step up can be dangerous if your not paying attention to getting in and out.

We loved the location of the hotel, it was a quick walk to central station and then we were able to catch a train to anywhere in the city. The boys had a great time going on the trains and ferries. It was also easy to get to when we drove into the city. If you coming back late it can feel a bit quiet and uneasy if your not use to that. We found when returning at about 10pm at night we would be the only ones walking back up that street - since we were a group we felt fine but I guess if you were alone it would feel a bit scary.

The parking is underground and secure which is good. Our only issue was to get in we needed to drop one person off at the front to go through and push the button on the inside of the garage, and when leaving again someone had to push the button then go around the front and wait to be picked up as the door has a sensor if you walked through after pushing the button it would reopen. Since there were 2 of us adults it wasn't to big a issue, but if you were on your own or only adult with kids it would be annoying doing the whole walking to and from the button to park your car.

I had no issue with reception closing at 9pm and found the staff to be lovely and welcoming. They were happy to answer any of my questions. They also offered to store our pram downstairs so we wouldn't have to carry it up and down the stairs.

All in all we had a lovely stay and will happily stay there again in the future. For the price it was great for 5 people and the location. I have no issue recommending this place for a cheap stay for families especially if like us your there for a hospital visit so money is tight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shellby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Pros: Value for price paid, although the hotel was about 10 mins walk to the central station, location still remains great. There are a couple of nice cafes around the redfern area, so breakfast is not an issue. Would like to praise Ms. Virginia the staff receptionist for being friendly and helpful.

Stayed in the family quad room, rooms are cosy but comes with kitchenette stocked with appliances. Beds and toilets were clean.

Cons: The aircon/heater was a little faulty, didn't get it to work properly for some nights.

Overall a good stay and will not hesitate to book again if coming with friends:)

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank zhiying w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was pleased how much attention people working in this hotel pay to their guests. It is a case when people define the place. Many thanks to the staff for making our stay so pleasant. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hi Irene P, Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. I was delighted to receive your feedback and I am sure the rest of the team will be too. We hope to see you at Central Railway Hotel again soon. Kind regards, Holly Singh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#85 of 180 in Sydney
2,549 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#26 of 180 in Sydney
175 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#109 of 180 in Sydney
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 180 in Sydney
4,438 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 180 in Sydney
887 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 180 in Sydney
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $99 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly. Please note our building does not have lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing