We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #54 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located a short walk from Central railway station.
We discovered a number of excellent restaurants and cafes nearby. There is a supermarket close by for supplies.
We found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki_and_Mark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Central Railway Hotel. We are indeed in a great location especially if you like to dine out. I'm pleased you got the opportunity to explore the local area. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team. They are always happy to receive positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Holly Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 703 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just returned yesterday from an 8 night stay at this hotel. We were dropping off our daughter at Hillsong college and the location was perfect for us as it was about midway between the college and the Central Railway station. The walk to the railway station was only about 10 minutes and from there you have access to many places, including Manly beach which I recommend! There were some issues with the wifi and we often went down to the courtyard area where the reception was better. The room can also get a little chilly, but the staff brought us a portable heater and about 5 extra blankets and we were good and toasty for the rest of the trip. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice (especially Virginia). The daily housekeeping service kept the room clean and tidy and whenever there was an issue the staff was quick to resolve it as well as answer the many questions we had about various locations and transportation options. The issues the other reviewers mentioned are valid, but they were not deal breakers for us. I would recommend staying here if you are on a budget (our 8 night stay was only $1035.) and can handle a little adventure. :) Our family of four had a great time!

Room Tip: A room away from the street may be quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hi Karen R,

I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Virginia. She will be very pleased to receive your positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time to review Central Railway Hotel. Your feedback is very important, it helps us implement policy and procedures to ensure we provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be looking into the points raised so we can improve where required, I hope we get to see you again next time you are in Sydney.

Kind regards
Holly Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

While the staff who run this establishment do their best in assisting guests, they have very little to work with when it comes to the overall lack of decent facilities.
Our family booked 4 rooms to attend a family wedding. We booked this hotel as it was close proximity to the wedding and the photos appeared to be OK.
The rooms are very basic and the beds are extremely hard (like trying to sleep on a concrete slab). In fact the bed can only be accessed via one side as the other side is pushed against a wall so you are required to climb in and out at the end of the bed.
There are so called blankets however these are paper thin and provide little warmth.
I think this hotel is popular with guests wanting to party as there is no reception facilities after 9pm. On the first night of our stay there was a loud group partying until 6am the next morning so no sleep was had.
I would never recommend this hotel, there are much better options available and in fact the accommodation costs are extreme given the overall lack of good facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms are paper thin with little filter for noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hi Lyn, We strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience whilst staying at Central Railway Hotel. It is disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and I sincerely apologise for this.

Although the reception closes at 9pm there is a night manager onsite between 9pm - 8am. Extra blankets have been placed in all rooms to ensure guests are warm and comfortable.

Kind regards
Holly Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had read the reviews so knew about the lack of elevator etc but thought we would try it as it appeared good value for the price. Never again.
1. The power went out 6 times over our stay. Each time you have to go down to reception or after hours call the contact number. Terrible. Excuse was that someone had a hair dryer on!
2. No water for over an hour on our last night. No explanation given.
3. Terrible draught in room from out side door.
4. Soooo noisy. Traffic, other guests, people in the street - constant loud noise including the flushing of toilets of our neighboring guests.
5. We were in room 22 and 4th bed is a pull out sofa bed and too small for my 7 year old - tiny, springy and uncomfortable.
6. Car Parking is a pain and expensive for what it is. We had to drive around to the car park and then walk around to the front to enter and open the doors ourselves
7. Internet connection terrible
8. Bathroom grout dirty, water either way too hot or freezing cold, and shower dangerous to get in and out of.
Location is ok in terms of transport but it's not the nicest of areas and definitely a little scary at night. The only good thing about this hotel was the lovely lady on the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. While I was pleased you received good service from our front desk, I was very disheartened to read about your overall experience at Central Railway Hotel. Unfortunately we did have an issue with a hot water system shorting out our power supply. This also effected the level of hot water supplied to our guests for a short time. This was rectified immediately and is no longer an issue. I can also confirm the installation of our new system will be completed Wednesday 30 July. This will allow us to provide our guests with free unlimited high speed wifi. There are many wine bars, cafes and restaurants within walking distance, I would not hesitate to recommend our guests walk to these locations after dark. There has never been a report relating to guest safety after dark. Our secure undercover car park has remote control access after hours, I apologise if this was not communicated to you. We aim to ensure all our guests have the best possible experience while staying with us. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I hope we get another opportunity to serve you, I am sure we can make your next stay memorable for all the right reasons. Kind regards, Holly Singh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is 600 m from Central making it extremely convenient to move around. Room is clean, sheets, towels etc are well kept. The best is their staff, very helpful even though the front desk not available in the night. There is no lift, but i am sure if any one has a constraint the staff will help. Some times (on a Friday night) it becomes noisy, but the hotel cant do anything about it. Since a microwave & basic Kitchenette is available this becomes a real cost efficient option. It saves both on travel & food. Will recommend as rates are one of the lowest in the locality, without compromising on quality or service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road is better as they have a small sit out. The hotel does not have a lift, so men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sridhar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Central Railway Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments regarding our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We most certainly have staff on hand to help with luggage where required. We hope to welcome you back at Central Railway Hotel soon. Kind regards, Holly Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Location and price seem to be good and reasonable...but there is frequent problem in internet connection and there is no drinking water machine...no person to find in reception area after 9pm is another headache....but good service and good hospitality.....overall....recommend to stay ....

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kyi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHOTEL, Manager at Central Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Central Railway Hotel, I am pleased to hear you would recommend our hotel. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Location - 9/10 Close to CBD, 4 min walk from central railway station & bus stop. Around 26$ from airport by Taxi.

Room - 7/10 Service Appartment, small but well accommodating. Bit old but ok.

Washroom: Old, Compact,Clean but not serviced well on next day.

Star rating - 2/7, 2 star facilities. No lift/ No pool/ No restaurant/ No intercom. I booked 3-days from date of check in. Found this one in the lowest budget on Booking/Agoda.

Breakfast : BF is a takeaway pouch with sandwich & drink. I won't suggest.

Wifi - 8/10, Free. Slow connection

Housekeeping - 6/10, Serviced daily but they don't clean the toilet very well and your used utensils will remain as it is when u r back to ur room in the evening.

Staff : 8/10, We had to carry our luggage ourselves to the 2nd floor without any assistance thru stairs later came to know that from front office that it's on demand service. I must appreciate Ms Virgina, the Front office staff for her services.

Price : I paid 196$/night for 3 bed plus a couch bed (total 4) accommodation in July.

Tips -
1.Many beer bars closeby.
2.Indian restaurants in hotels proximity are ( with my rating )1.Bollywood Mirch Masala 2. Himalaya 3. Santoor.
3.A Thai restaurant Redfish and bottle shop is also close by.
I recommend tourist to take hip-hop tour from circular quay for city as well as for bondi circuit.
4..A ferry ride ( 2.5$ / person on Sat & Sun) from Circular Quay to Manly Island being worth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rsoodmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
1 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#30 of 181 in Sydney
179 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#108 of 181 in Sydney
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,451 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 181 in Sydney
892 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 181 in Sydney
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $96 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly. Please note our building does not have lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing