We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #54 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night. It is great for the convienience of not having to drive all the way home from sydney after a show/gig....
but travelling from overseas I would not want the world to be given a first aussie impression of shampoo that turns your hair to straw, very small room or a shower nozzle that spurts water at a squashed up angle.

The carpark which was full even though we paid for secure parking and couldn't drive into the car park anyway scrapping our car on the dip to get into it. We had to park on the street.
Someone let us in the locked main door late at night as our room key wouldnt open it.

Staff are friendly and genuinely helpful which is very pleasant.
Hotel is clean and tidy but dated. - for the budget conscious, less time spent in the room the better. You pay for what you get.
The aircon works well. The beds were comfortable. The room is small. The little courtyard area is great to have a chat to other travellers.

Room Tip: The lower the floor the less walk up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceania72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 713 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

in August 2011after a long flight from London to Sydney I arrived at the Central Railway Hotel. Name doesnt sound too inspiring but it was a welcome sight. The staff were very helpful. The room had everything you could want for a longer stay (I was only staying a couple of days) i.e. microwave, toaster, kettle, iron and board. Bed was very clean and comfortable and bathroom, although some might think it needed updating was very clean and fine for my needs. The shower was really good and the water very hot. It is situated in an older part of Sydney but not too far from the Opera House and other tourist attractions. There were lots of little Deli shops in the vicinity and bus tickets could be bought from a shop just down the road from the hotel My room was on the ground floor which pleased me as i had heaps of luggage and there was no lift. for anyone staying at this hotel and they buy a bus ticket the bus stop is just across the road from the hotel so that is easy but it is a one way street and unfortunately i fotgot this when returning to the hotel in the evening and got a bit lost. !!!!!!!!! If i stayed in Sydney again i wouldnt hesitate to stay at this hotel again. it's not the Ritz but it is very clean and comfortable and for me that is what matters .

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you have a lot of luggage or are a senior .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xjenniex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I have not contributed recently to trip advisor or any other review sites becuase our own opions are so objective however i felt i had to hit the keyboard about this hotel. I had been booked into this for a week at the start of November however only stayed 4 nights and moved to another property. The location is not too bad. It is a short 10 minute walk if that to Central Railway station. There's a woolies about 5 minutes away and a couple of conor stores locally as well, however there is not much else in the area. The area seemed plesent and safe. Check in was not as easy as some. I was told to call the number on the door as i would be arriving late, however when i called i was berated by the manager for calling (8.30pm) and told to ring the bell until the staff on location came to the door, which they did. Some confusion over the pre paid nature of my room when they wanted to charge me for it again however easy enough to sort out.

The room itself was quite big, which was nice however my room was number 5 and faced onto the main room and was very noisey all the time. The bed is in a bad location right next to the Window and this made it impossible to sleep well. The bed was very uncomfy and when i finally got the Air con unit working which was directly over the bed, it belched out black soot all over the sheets and continued to do so.

There appeared to be no housekeeping. I had a new set of towels placed on the floor of the room by the door on the 3rd day, but no bed service or any other sign of housekeeping (bins etc) however on the 2nd day i started to get eaten alive by something on the bed. I asked for the sheets and Blanket to be changed and by the 4th day i could not take it any more and checked out and found another hotel. The staff seemed very disintrested.

It is a shame really but i would not touch it with a bardge pole again. A little bit of money spent doing it up and some new beds and linens would go a long way here. I would really say this is more of an upmarket Backpacker type place then a 3 star hotel, which is fine if your happy with that but for the cost of the room i did expect a little more or at least clean sheets.

No Phones in the room and a rather limited choice on the TV as well if you are stuck in the room for any amount of time.

Room Tip: If you are going to get a room here make sure it is away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nickwaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We chose the hotel because of the price. There are no lifts in this place (we knew that in advance) and was dismayed that we got a room on the topmost floor. But that's because we had big luggage with us full of shopping from Melbourne. But if you don't have much luggage with you, it should be fine. If you have small kids with strollers, I suggest asking in advance for a room on the ground floor. The room was sorta old but it was clean and the bathroom was pretty big. There was also a kitchen sink and a microwave. I like that they prepared a sponge and dishwashing liquid. There is a small laundrette in the building ($3 each for washer and dryer) but it closes at 8pm. The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, not far from the central station where you can catch buses including the free CBD 555 buses and sightseeing bus. To those not used to walking, they might find it far. But that aside, its very nicely located, easy to find and close to the airport. Taxi from airport to this hotel costs around AUD23 (June 2011). If you are bringing a car, there seemed to be lots of easy parking options around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed for five nights in May 2011. I stayed in Room 1 which is a good size, with clean and comfortable double bed, ample storage and a good sized bathroom with great hot shower.
The room has a TV, microwave, kettle and crockery and cutlery.

Room 1 faces Chalmer Street which can be noisy but ear plugs meant I slept well each night. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: check for street/balcony noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew.gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

If you want a very basic hotel which if affordable almost in the heart of Sydney at the same in a very quiet neighborhood ,than this is the hotel for you
There is a bus stop across the hotel and the metro station is about 500 meters

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank csrao57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Room was ok, we asked for accomodation for 5, however we were on the third floor, there was no lift and two family members struggled getting up and down stairs with luggage.
One of the staff at reception was friendly but the other one was not very very friendly. Price was ok for accomodation for 5 people.

Room Tip: Better on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snoopy13132008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#119 of 181 in Sydney
34 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#31 of 181 in Sydney
211 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#109 of 181 in Sydney
2,012 reviews
Hotel Challis
#55 of 181 in Sydney
810 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#14 of 181 in Sydney
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $91 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly. Please note our building does not have lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing