We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Railway Hotel
Ranked #47 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Misleading name”
Reviewed November 14, 2007

This could have had a 2.5 rating if we had the option. We were pretty desperate by the time we identified this hotel for our second night in Sydney - there were few rooms available thanks to Justin Timberlake performing! We wrongly assumed that the words 'central' and 'railway' meant it was near the central railway station (and indeed the blurb suggested this), so when we had to drag our heavy bags for fifteen minutes from the station we began to feel somewhat misled. The buses run fairly frequently to Circular Quay and take about 15/20 mins. The room was clean and quiet with only a fan, but in need of refurbishment (although some may have been upgraded and aircon installed) and the staff friendly and helpful. WiFi access costs 10 dollars for 24 hours.

  • Liked — The friendly old bloke on Reception
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FloJoCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    261
    97
    42
    20
See reviews for
253
108
44
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 23, 2006

Coming from the country by train, this hotel was placed just right. Rooms were clean (beautiful linen)and provided all you would need. We stayed a couple of nights but would have liked to stay more. Perhaps it is suited to those who prefer a quiet location but was just right for the four of us and the rooms we had did look out over the streetscape and noise was no problem. The courtyard atmosphere out the back of the hotel was extremely pleasant; an ideal place to farewell oveseas visitors who were with us.
Altogether, a pleasant and inexpensive venue. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2006

We were booked in for 4 nights but only stayed for 2. The worst aspect was that the rooms' main windows faced on to the inner landing/courtyard. This made them feel dark and claustrophobic. Having booked in May we were disappointed not to have had rooms facing on to the main road, which at least had a sunnier aspect. The only public area was outside in the courtyard.

We did not find any satisfactory eating places in the surrounding area. The station is about 10/15 minute walk away.

I would be very interested to know what the price and accommmodation was like in the hostel almost next door.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank duvelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed at a hostel in Sydney a few weeks before our stay in Central Railway Hotel. After our experience there we decided to pay more to get something decent for our money. To be honest, we could have gone back to the hostel. The only difference was that the door to our room had a lock and we had a bathroom in our room. So if you don´t mind hostel atmosphere, but don´t want a dorm room, then save your money and book a double room in a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2005

Although a ten minute walk from the railway station, this was a nice, clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Would use again.

Helpful?
1 Thank fishingpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2004

Stayed in a triple room with two friends from September 19-23. Location was alright - about a 10-15 min walk to Central Railway station, which me and my friends only used once during our stay. There is a bus stop about 2 min down the street that will take you all the way downtown. We mainly walked around to Chinatown/Harbour (though it is quite far.. maybe 30 minutes or more?).

There are some nice restaurants nearby if you walk towards the traffic lights and turn right (where there is a youth hostel) and go down to the next main street you can see some. There is a really nice Lebanese restaurant (the old man is really cute!) that we found.

It is pretty quiet. I think we only saw a couple of guests during our stay. We were on the second floor overlooking the main street which could at times be a bit noisy. The room was decent, although the shower was horrible - no pressure at all! The guy at the front desk (at first seems a bit cold) but is really helpful - he lent us a power adapter for our stay and gave us a new hairdryer (even though I just didn't realise there was a switch on the power outlets you had to flip to access the power).

I would stay there again if I had lots of time just to walk around and relax (which me and my friends kind of just wanted to do). Although it did seem a bit expensive (about 100 CDN/night/room for 3).

Helpful?
5 Thank agfallenangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 27, 2003

alot further from the central railway station than the name suggests, we were hoping to see sydney by train but resorted to taxis in the end.
the room was comfortable,clean and neat and the staff were accommodating. very quiet if you want some peace.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
2,180 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 174 in Sydney
801 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 174 in Sydney
1,686 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
1,437 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Railway Hotel

Property: Central Railway Hotel
Address: 240 Chalmers Street, | Redfern, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner South
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for modern, affordable accommodation in the heart of Sydney, you’ve found it with Central Railway Hotel. Our self-contained rooms have everything you need for your stay, perfect for families, groups of friends and business travellers. Completely refurbished in 2013, our hotel is clean, comfortable and contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Railway Sydney
Railway Vacation
Hotel Central Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing