We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and catered for the kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sydney Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #65 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and catered for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the school holidays on a family fun offer; 2 nights, breakfast, parking and entry into two attractions was incredible value. As husband was already in Sydney my children and I caught the train to Central and it was a safe and easy walk at night to the hotel. Hotel location is great close to paddy's markets and about a 15 min walk to darling harbour, and it was quiet for Sydney hardly any traffic passed by as in the end of a culdersac and next to pedestrian walkway. The hotel really catered for the kids and even had a children breakfast buffet my kids loved the "pirate punch". All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and had a spacious sitting area, my only thing was lack of furniture in room and the location of lamps on the headboard. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaRich82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear EllaRich82,

Thank you for your time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to read about your positive experience with your family in our hotel.
We hope to see you soon in Sydney.

Regards,

Celine-Eva Devos
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    520
    253
    82
    43
See reviews for
424
283
62
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is less than a 10min walk from Central station and practically opposite Paddy's market. Access to Darling harbour is an easy 20min stroll with 2 small children or the tram stops at the bottom of the road. The hotel itself is very modern and a hub of calm in the city. The rooms were spacious but lacked a little furniture (only 1 bedside table with 2 queen beds) but had ample room. Downstairs the children corner kept our girls colouring and entertained for hours, while we finished our breakfast or had a drink at the bar. Breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent every morning. Our kids loved the special cutlery for kids and the pancakes. We even managed a swim in the rooftop pool, though I opted for the warmer spa!! My only criticism (and it is minor and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) was on one of the days we had no room supplies replenished and I had to go hunting for the housekeeping trolly. But altogether a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lismith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear lismith25,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled you found your stay with us enjoyable. Please note, we are expecting a delivery of new nesting tables in late August and we are going to upgrade all our in-room guest cabinetry by the end of 2014.
Hope to see you again on your next stay in Sydney.

Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is conveniently located to all the amenities tourists need- plenty of dining options, shopping, entertainment, etc. However, it's possible that due to it being busy, check in is horribly very slow! They need to add more staff in Reception, they know how many people book in a particular day so how hard can it be to require more staff to come in? Plus, there was onlly one bell boy helping so those with lots of luggage are left to deal with their own stuff!

Friendly enough staff, though, again, probably due to thebig volume of guests they are serving, we always have to ask for towels (there were four of us in a double room), the coffee maker was faulty, etc. The place is nice, but really, there must be more thought on how to sere their guests better!

We didn't bother to eat brekky there too as it was too expensive. We were already charged a lot of money for parking our car ($60 just 2 days- and we never took it out during that time- we just needed it from/to the airport and going to our cruise)..I am not sure if we'll stay here again. maybe if they have a special rate.

Room Tip: Paddy's markets and Chinatown are very near this hotel too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreechangeTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Daer TreechangeTas,

Thank you for your review! I certainly apologise for some of the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I will be sharing your review with our team to see how we can make improvements going forward.
I understand your concerns but I do hope you will give us a chance to better serve you in the near future.

Regards,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Recently stayed here during school holidays. Great value for money. The check in staff were terrific on the day I arrived - thought I'd have to wait for a room as I was there early but they found me a room & got me settled as quickly as possible.
Easy walking distance to Darling Harbour, Paddy's Market, Circular Quay, The Rocks, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear kazph,

Thank you for your 5 stars review. I am very pleased to read your positive comment about your experience with us and I hope we will serve you again soon in Sydney.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We've been staying here for 15 years. Addicted to the outdoor heated pool, which is a real highlight. It was school holidays this time, and the Novotel went out of their way to accommodate the children and keep them entertained. Very impressive. Two quibbles however. The lack of furniture in the room makes it difficult for two people to share a cup of coffee, let alone use room service. Where HAS the furniture gone? A coffee table and a second armchair would make a big difference. A standard lamp would make reading easier when seated in the lonely armchair.
The new bathroom design assumes a certain level of fitness. If you have a bad back or dud knees, you will find it hard to climb into and especially out of the bath. Handrails pleaaaase before someone has a nasty fall. Otherwise, we still love our old favourite

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank maidmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Maid Maria,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoy staying with us and I want to thank you for your loyalty. Please be aware that we are currently in the process to order new furnitures and curtains for our 255 rooms. We are expecting the delivery of nesting tables in late August.

We hope to weloming you back soon in Sydney.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,655 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#97 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#71 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Property: Novotel Sydney Central
Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing