We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stranded by the Lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #61 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel was close to transport, 10 minute walk to central station and buses running along George St. The staff were amazing, very helpful and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble The room was big and the bed was very comfortable. Decor was a little dated but we were only in the room to sleep. Not a pretty location, but functional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Anne,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us even we did not tick all the box with the location.
We hope to welcome you back in Sydney.

Yours Faithfully
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here as a family with 2 kids aged 7 and 9 for 4 nights

Brickbats:
• Lift didn't work.
• 2 beds yet only 2 spare pillows not 4.
• 3 towels for 4 people.
• Stains all over the place. Urgh.
• Run down and in dire need of a refresh. 3 star not 4 star.
• NO GYM. Our three reasons for booking were location, pool and gym. The gym was not available for the entire time we were there. You were supposed to go 500m up the road to another hotel. Yeh Right! No mention of the gym being unavailable when we booked, or during other email conversations or notifications.
• Flooded carpet in hallway right outside room. Was told it was due to previous guest overflowing the bath. I don't believe that as we heard water leaking in the bathroom for the 4 days we were there.
• Stinky hallway due to flooding and loud blower outside room on carpet drying duties. Best the hotel could do was switch off the blower. Did not re-room us.
• Not enough tea bags/sugar etc. Had to take from breakfast service.
• Ugly little long life milk in mini-fridge. How hard is it to use fresh milk eh?
• Nowhere to hang towels when used.
• No retractable clothesline in room.
• Breakfast service was hit and miss. No muesli for 2 days. Had to go looking for staff to get them to refill food items and cutlery. Sometimes slow service.
• Had to keep curtains pulled all the time due to being within touching distance of the overcrowded building right next door.

Bouquets:
• Location. Very central to trains, taxi’s the harbour etc.
• The beds were very comfortable.
• The pool was a lifesaver.
• A couple of very nice, helpful reception staff.

Would we return? Not likely. We were disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay away from 823 unless you like being watched by the neighbours in the building right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear martin,

Thank for your review, I am disappointed to read you had a less than satisfactory stay. Your comments are not typical of the type we usually receive, and we are happy to change your room if you experience any noise. I hope you return so we can restore your affinity for Novotel Sydney Central.
Yours Faithfully
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We travelled with 2 other couples, so in total we had 3 rooms booked. We stayed for 2 nights and general consensus among us, was that the hotel room was clean and the beds comfortable, but apart from that, everything else was fairly poor. Our room was a decent size, but the bathroom was small and not well planned out. Some of our rooms had no bathrobes, some had no bottle openers, the complimentary tea/coffee sachets were not topped up. We asked and paid for King size beds, but one couple were initially given a room with a double (they did get a room with a king eventually). Two couples had problems with the key/card. One couple even had problems on both days! They were slow in bringing up the new cards and even forget to bring a spare (you normally get two cards if there are two people staying in the room). Check in was very confusing and slow. We rang and confirmed our booking the night before and ask if possible could we all be on the same floor and were told 'definitely - it's all done for you', but when we got to the hotel, one of us were on another floor (again they rectified the problem). When we asked for extra teabags(black tea not green or chamomile) and more sugar, they bought up the wrong teabags and milk instead of sugar. The lifts were very slow and there was no air conditioning either in the lifts or the passageways, it was stiffling. I know these are not huge problems, but they are inconveniences and frustrating and should not be happening in a 4 star hotel. The location was good, close to everything, but sorry to say the we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaylover333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Holiday Lover,

We appreciate your comments and apologize for the unacceptable and inconvenient issues you encountered. We strive to exceed guest expectations and on this occasion it is clear that we fell short of our standard. We will share your review with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your valuable input, we do respect your feeling to never return in our hotel but we also hope you change your mind so we have the opportunity to restore your affinity for Novotel Sydney Central.

Yours Faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PaulaHowellEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
84
Reviewed March 23, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 180 in Sydney
4,979 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $132 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing