We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, great location, no traffic noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #64 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane QLD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great property, great location, no traffic noise.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

One of the major hurdles of staying in a CBD location is finding a property that is quiet. I am a very light sleeper and even a little traffic noise means the difference between a great stay and one very cranky, sleep deprived traveller! We visit Sydney a couple of times a year and I can definitely say that we will be back to the Novotel.

Tucked away at the end of Thomas Street in Haymarket you have the advantage of being within walking distance of Darling Harbour, the CBD and if you are up to it you can even walk to the Opera House as we did (be warned it is a bit of a hike though!). If walking isn't your thing the free city bus (number 555) runs approx. every 10 minutes from George St to get you around and Central Station is a 5 minute walk away. If you want to head out to Bondi Beach catch the eastern suburbs line to Bondi Junction and then the 380 bus down to the beach. A very economical way to travel.

Our room was located on the 16th floor and whilst the description stated we had views over Darling Harbour we couldn't actually see much although I was happy to pay slightly extra to be on a higher floor. This and the fact the bathroom is quite small really were the only small negatives. Check in was prompt, parking was cheap ($38 for 2 nights/3 days - a bargain for Sydney) and having been recently refurbished the room was spot on. One plus is that in a twin room the beds are actually 2 queens and not 2 doubles which is fabulous for travelling with kids. I also enjoyed being able to grab a take away coffee before heading out the door from one of the very pleasant staff.

All in all a fantastic couple of days in my home town and I look forward to future stays at the Novotel City Central.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1602, close to the lifts and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear jodster,

Thank you for your kind words, I am happy to read you had an enjoyable stay. It is nice to watch the world go by from your room observing the hustle and bustle of the city in silence thanks to our rooms being super quiet.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    549
    259
    84
    44
See reviews for
452
303
63
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Close to central station and all the great eating and shopping at Chinatown. We enjoyed a quick trip to Paddys market as well. Great pool area with beautiful views at night. Being close to central made it easy to get to Circular Quay before departing on our cruise. Didn't get to enjoy restaurants at hotel though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjjadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear cjjadelaide,

Great to hear you had a nice stay and got to use most of our facilities. Next time you visit be sure to consider dining in our restaurant with our award winning wine list.

Thank you for the review.

Yours faithfully,
Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel is in such a good location. Minutes from major attractions and transport. The rooms are a decent size and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Great brekky too. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank weweston5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Weweston 5,

Thank you for taking the time to post such great feedback. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us here at the Novotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My Daughter/Granddaughter and myself stayed here from the 15/12/2013 to the 20/12/2103 and we were very happy with everything. Room was very clean and spacious, Staff were friendly and
efficient and it was close to all amenities that Travellers would want. Grandie loved the Pool.
Excellent value for money...i would stay here again without any hesitations....we enjoyed our stay immensely at the Hotel and Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieAdelaideSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear BillieAdelaideSA ,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Novotel Sydney Central and for posting such great feedback, we really appreciate the comments you made and hope to be of service again in the future.

Yours Faithfully

Danesh Bamji
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 179 in Sydney
4,842 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#53 of 179 in Sydney
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Property: Novotel Sydney Central
Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing