We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise. The location is close to the Central Station. Hotel is clean. Breakfast was quite good and had plenty of selections. Close to Chinatown, business and entertainment districts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khuran2mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear khuran2mk,

Thank you for choosing to stay with here at the Novotel Sydney Central and for taking the time to post your feedback. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed our location and our buffet breakfast options. We hope to see you again soon.
Yours Faithfully

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here as it was close to Central Station and because of the price. Wow we were pleasantly surprised. It was excellent value for money. The rooms were spacious and had two queen beds, very clean and modern. The location is great for the Entertainment Centre and Chinatown. I will stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear LucyOrangeNSW,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Faithfully

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

stayed at this hotel as was going to Bon Jovi concert, it was really handy to central for trains, the room was great two queen beds, plenty of towels, beds very comfy,plenty of tea and coffe and milk. I was a happy camper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank travelbugann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear travelbugann,

Thank you for choosing to stay with here at the Novotel Sydney Central and for taking the time to post your feedback. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us for the Bon Jovi concert and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours Faithfully

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The best breakfast buffet I have seen. Close to the theatre and free buss to circular key. Disappointing experience in restaurant due to training staff didn't get what we ordered and told we could use club card and when it was to late told us other wise. No hot watt in shower one day. But on the whole would stay again staff need better training

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Deb C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to write a review.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and will help us to take appropriate action with our Food and Beverage Manager. The training of our staff should never impact the quality of the service provided to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Friendly service, very clean rooms and amenities. Fantastic restaurant and bar. Convenient car parking. Extremely convenient location close to markets and public transport! Very reasonably priced!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Dianne W,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see our location suited you. Most importantly, I appreciate your kind comments regarding our team. I look forward to sharing your compliments.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The stay was very good .Great service tidy room, yummy breakfast, good location and a good nights sleep what more do you want after the hassel and bussel of the city. Will return some day to enjoy the cities sights

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear AnthonyD,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We very much appreciate the comments you made which will help us to monitor our service levels. We look forward to welcome you back at Novotel Sydney Central in near future.

Yours Faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
5,036 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 181 in Sydney
422 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing