We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    528
    256
    83
    44
See reviews for
435
287
62
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently as we had business at the ABC centre, which is located just a one minutevwalk away. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good, as is the room service food. The only fault i can think of is that the rooms are a little stuffy at night. We are staying there again later this month.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jbastoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jbastoni,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Your appreciative comments about our breakfast & room service food have been passed onto our chef in particular as well as the whole F&B department.

Our engineering department has audited the room that you stayed in and ensured that the aircondintioning unit in the room is fully functional. Furthermore, we reuest, that if you ever have any such issue again please contact our duty manager and we will endevour to resolve it straightaway.

Kind regards,
Danesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a disappointing stay for a Novotel and I think there's a lot better hotels than this one in Sydney. The location was central to Chinatown and the train station however. The rooms really need some TLC and updating - the room I was in was extremely stuffy and had a strange smell. I was glad I was only there for one night. The staff were helpful and friendly though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbanetraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Brisbanetraveller91,

Thank you for providing us your feedback.

We would like to advise you that all the hotel rooms have been fully refurbished since you last stayed with us in June. The hotel is now upto date with all the modern facilities that you would expect from a Novotel hotel. If you give us another chance, I am sure you will really enjoy your next stay.

Your feedback regarding helpful and friendly staff has been passed onto all our team members.

Kind regards,
Danesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were not very happy with the size of our room it was very small. We paid extra for a big room with a city view, however our room was small and we did not have much of a view. We did enjoy the pool and the breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank markandlahne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,710 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#72 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Property: Novotel Sydney Central
Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing