We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very unhappy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #65 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
gold coast
1 review
“very unhappy”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Im very dissappointed with the room, the price i was charged, the photos on the website did not represent the room I was given, the room had a very bad and powerful smell to it which we could still smell on our clothes after returning to the gold coast, the T.V didnt work but after ten minutes i found the areial to not be plugged in, there was mould on the back of the barthroom door, and rust on the door frame, the bed was not very comfortable, but bareable, the foyer of the hotel gave a nice feel about it upon entering the hotel, but once i got to my room, it was unpleasent from there on in, this is a property that i couldnt return to. if you have any further questions my number is 0457 542 134. I travel to sydney quite alot due to my children living there as i live on the gold coast. my room number was 11/07. this is a true record of my stay with my family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RoddGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    537
    259
    83
    44
See reviews for
441
297
62
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Turn away, now. Don't even think about staying here.

My room had huge stains and cigarette burns on sticky carpet. The air conditioning buzzed all night. The noise from the street was accentuated by the wind whistling through the (uncloseable) sliding door on the "balcony". The bathroom was full of mould and broken electrical fittings.

I'd also be careful about assuming that the Novotel "renovation" will be happening soon - a colleague has told me that he stayed there a year ago, and they were allegedly renovating then, too

The only redeeming feature was that they allowed me to check out early and move to a better hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tribalinsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A 4.5 star hotel...I don't think so! My husband and I booked 2 nights at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. We were highly disappointed. Rooms were very ran down, barhroom was dirty, stained carpet, broken furniture, and even cigarette burns in the bed runner! When we complained and advised we did not want to stay the assistant manager opted for us to see another room, we reluctantly had a look and the 2nd room was even worse. The assistant manger refused to refund our money. We were eventually were upgraded to a "refurbished suite" which was slightly better but still no where near a 4.5 star hotel. We will never return to this hotel. Definatly not a Like other Novotel hotels we have stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for a week.

Booking was made through wotif and the room was advertised as "Newly renovated King Harbour Superior Room, on the highest floors of the hotel. This room contains a king sized bed, balcony, and sweeping views towards Darling Harbour."

Originally I was given a room that faced away from the Harbour, was on the mid to lower floor and didn't look at all renovated. After showing the original booking to the front desk attendant, I was informed that the room i received, is what Wotif had reserved for me and they would take no responsibility for how it is marketed on the website. Anyway the attendant disappeared for a bit and returned to tell me they will change the room based on the booking information I provided.

So what did they give me? A room on the upper floors, tick. A room facing the Harbour, tick. Newly renovated, big cross XXX. The room was old and with the typical stains on carpet. The bathroom was dirty with mold between tiles and ceiling in need of a fresh paint. Plus the toilet didn't flush properly. On top of all this it was smaller than the original room that I was provided with.

So to me it appears as though the front desk attendant decided to make things difficult for me by giving me another room that ticked most of the boxes according to the booking information but was worst than the original room I was given. Why didn't I complain anymore? Well I am normally not one to complain and didn't want to go through the process of changing rooms again and again until the correct one is given.

Would I recommend the hotel? Yes if you are on a tight budget and only need a basic room. What if they do renovate the rooms like promised? Then yes as it is in an excellent location and has potential.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel has just been taken over by Novotel and there were notifications throughout the establishment advising they are currently undergoing a multi million dollar refurbishment.
The rooms are a little tired but it is evident upgrades are being put in place.
Was certainly very clean, the bedding comfortable etc.
The location is awesome ... Easy walking distance to Ent.Centre, Paddy's Markets, Chinatown, Central Station, Capitol Theatre, World Square area etc etcConvenient/easy parking - special rate when staying at hotel - $23 per day (which is pretty good for Sydney).
Will definitely stay here again and look forward to the improvements ... Can only get better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Generally Australian standards for hotels are far from the ones I am used in Asia. The Novotel city centre however was a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom definitely needs a refurbishment but apparently the hotel is in a phase of upgrading so hopefully will be better soon. Location wise the hotel is in walking distance from CBD centre. To summaries, much better than other hotels of the brand I have tried in Melbourne or Adelaide.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sebastien655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great location for Darling Harbour, China Town, Convention Centre and Entertainment centre. Just started being converted to Novotel at time of our stay. Will be fantastic after refurbishment and when staff more familiar with Accor systems and standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#61 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#63 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#75 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Property: Novotel Sydney Central
Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing