We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Central
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

It is nice, clean and with comfortable waiting/ lobby area. It has a small gym ( maybe good for 3-4 person only).

The service is nice though the first time we use the key cards it wont work and a room cleaner accessed my room while am inside because according to their computer i already checked-out. Our room also comes with a free breakfast but since i stayed there for 5 days i got sick of eating the same breakfast on the third day. I hope they will change breakfast buffet menu a bit more.

Overall, it is a nice hotel with good location. The service is good especially receptionist Arlene and the bellhop Ferd ( the guy from Eygpt) who are both friendly.



  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Citigate was just what we needed - close to central station, had large rooms, was quiet and reasonable in price. I would recommend.

The only slight drawback has already been mentioned by other reviewers - the bathrooms weren't the most up to date, but don't let that put you off as ours was clean and perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Beazel,

Thank you for your comment, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Last year, we refurbished our 255 rooms and we are still up dating our bathroom. The completion of this project is due early 2014.
We hope to see you again in Sydney.

Yours faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night so we could go to the Entertainment Centre. Great location and handy to Chinatown. The room was clean and quite large, comfortable beds, effective aircon and no hassles checking in or out. Only complaint is with the bathroom. The cold tap leaked and the basin was very stained. Also the water pressure in the shower was poor. Has just be re-badged as a Novotel so I hope they freshen it up. Attached is a public car park that you can use even if not staying at the hotel and its much cheaper and less busy that the one at the Ent Cent ($11 flat for 4pm-4am). Not sure if that will change with the new owners.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn4268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Lyn4268,

Thank you for your comment, it was a fair point to mention the condition of the bathroom at the time of your stay. We have recently completed the refurbishment of our 255 rooms and we are currently replacing all the bathtub. The completion of this project is due early 2014.
We hope to see you again soon.

Yours faithfully,

Danesh Bamji
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Myeonghui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank 週末のシンデレラ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Syd_Central, Front Office Manager at Novotel Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
5,036 reviews
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 181 in Sydney
422 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Central

Address: 169-179 Thomas St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Central Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Central 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Sydney Central, located in the heart of the vibrant Sydney,is perfect for both corporate and leisure travellers. We are situated close to many famous Sydney attractions including Darling Harbour, Capitol Theatre, Sydney Entertainment Centre, and an array of shopping and entertainment venues.To ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable, guests can take advantage of our range of our hotel services and recreation facilities including the Field House Restaurant & Bar located in the hotel lobby, a rooftop swimming pool and 24hr reception and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Central Sydney Hotel Sydney
Citigate Central Hotel Sydney
Sydney Citigate Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing