We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive, welcoming - ideal place to cure jetlag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #27 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attentive, welcoming - ideal place to cure jetlag”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at the Shangri-la for 6 nights with our 3 and 1/2 year old daughter en route from London to New Zealand. Our time in Sydney included a mixture of business and leisure (seeing friends).

We have already recommended this hotel to other business travellers, especially those with young families. From the outset the staff in all departments were quick to respond to any queries or requests, informed, entertaining and helpful. The little details really made it for us - the cleaners arranged our child's toys on her bed when our room was being cleaned etc.

Nothing was too much trouble - a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CropsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,706
    1,579
    564
    263
    165
See reviews for
918
3,210
294
1,012
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,782)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Location of the hotel is very convenient, just a few mins. walk from the bus terminal and ferry ride. not to mention the fantastic view from our room over looking harbour brige and opera house. Although nothing spectacular about the hotel, but you can still feel the warmth service that is distinctly shangri la. hotel staff are very helpful especially the concierge since we did not book a package, he suggested places for us to go and how to get there. we purchased a 3 day bus ticket that gets you to the different spots in sydney, it was very convenient and cheaper. Our room is very nice, i liked the bathroom and the shower area. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daye910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Many thanks to the author for their pleasant review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney.
We were pleased to read your found our central location in The Rocks area of the city convenient for restaurants, transport and tourist attractions.
Thank you for also mentioning our wonderful concierge team who are always on hand to assist with guest enquiries and information.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney sometime in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Mr Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Best hotel I've ever stayed in!

We stayed here for a week and every day we were blown away with this hotel. It gives you everything you wil ever need. Great location, but up a very, very, very, very steep hill, and I mean very steep. But who cares, as when you get to the hotel it's great.

One thing you must do, it's worth ever penny.........get a room with a "bridge and opera house view". Every morning we woke up and had our breakfast looking at one of the most iconing views in the world (look at the picture).

Book this hotel, it's amazing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyquattro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Many thanks to the author for their pleasant review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney.
Thank you for mentioning our central location - while at the top of a hill, this does offer guests of the hotel unsurpassed views of the city, harbour and iconic landmarks such as the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney for another amazing stay.
Kind Regards,
Mr Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed 8 days over Christmas at the SSL then a further last minute 3 days. Booked Horizon Club room. Good location for all the places you wish to go in Sydney.

Greeted very warmly by Guest services on ground floor and by passed regular check in queues to be taken to Horizon Club (30th floor) for a much nicer check in with Emily. Early check-in that had been requested did not happen, had to wait in Horizon Club for 2 hours whilst previous guests checked out - no problem.

Room 3113 was commented on by many staff as one of the best and it certainly was. Simply stunning views over Harbour Bridge and Opera House - incredible experince as you lie in bed whether at night or in the morning.

Room was fine - only comment is no iPod docking station - however the room was well presented and spacious.

Tip: the Hoizon Club complimentary breakfast is very good - so in hindsight you probably do not need to book a 'with breakfast' inclusive rate. However the buffet at the Cafe Mix on 1st floor is very very good (and should be for AUS$44 a head!).

Other points:
No outdoor pool - but hey, you have Bondi beach 20 mins down the road!
Too much chlorine in the pool for my liking.
Good gym.
Don't forget to ask for beach towels each day if you are heading out (they dont mention this).
Valet parking is worth doing if you use your car more than once per day.
Free wifi - but a really poor signal. Why is it in the 21st century major hotels cant get WiFi right - they either charge the earth or its really poor. Needs fixing, quick!
Lifts: dont work very well. there are 6 but its seems that really only 2 are working at one time.

The defining thing about this hotel is the people - if you make a little effort to chat, you get the very nicest, friendliest and most professional service that you could ask for. It's there, but you need to make 'friends' to find it.

Exceptional people all round, special names include: Lo, Emily, Kimberley, Hugo, Troy, Yukari, Sabina , Phil and John - lets face it, there is not much to distingush one business 5 star from another these days except the people - and the SSL has those people.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdl2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I spent the weekend at the Shangri-La for my birthday, and from the time i checked in the staff were great! The gentleman that checked me in offered me early checkin in and late check out on sunday. When i booked online i accidently booked double bedding but he did his best to get twin bedding and upgrade me to a deluxe room. When i checked the room i discovered both the mini bar and alcohol drawer to be missing drinks and glasses. When i called reception they right away came and replaced everything that was missing. The bar upstairs was great and overall the entire experience at this hotel was great. Only downside was the lifts other than that great hotel, and would gladly recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Many thanks to the author for their wonderful review of Shangri-La hotel Sydney and please allow us to offer you a belated Happy Birthday.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and I was pleased to read we were able to offer you the early check in and late check-out. While happy to read we were able to organise the correct room after a reservation error, I do apologise for the missing mini bar and glassware from the room. I will certainly pass on these comments to the Executive Housekeeper and Director of Food & Beverage for their follow up. Our apologies for any delay in the lift movement - we are currently upgrading our lifts to make them faster and more efficient.
Thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney sometime in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Mr Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This was the third time we have stayed at the Shangri-La Sydney and obviously wouldn't have gone back if we didn't like it. Having got married in Sydney Nov 2007 and spent our anniversary there in 2008 we wanted to go back for Christmas and New Year. We had booked a little late which meant we had to change rooms halfway through our stay. The first 5 nights we had in an executive grand harbour view suite which we had had when we got married. These rooms are on the corner of the hotel and come with a small hallway with a w/c, a lounge with views over the majority of the harbour, a large bedroom with dual aspect views from the harbour bridge to the heads from one side and Darling Harbour to Parramatta the other side, a large bathroom with shower and bath and separate w/c with views over Darling Harbour.
The second 5 nights we had in a deluxe grand harbour view room. These are large rooms with great views to the North overlooking the Bridge, Opera House and most of the harbour.
We also enjoyed the Horizon Club while we were there. This basically means you get access to the 30th floor club lounge at any time where you can have breakfast, soft drinks throughout the day and then alcoholic beverages and canapes in the evening. You can also check in and out there which is a bit more intimate than reception.
For us it is the Horizon Club that makes this place a must for us when we visit Sydney. The staff are generally excellent and sitting in the window looking over the Bridge and Opera House with endless sparkling wine for a couple of hours in the evening before going out to dinner is great.
There are several members of staff that we think deserve a mention. Sabina (Horizon Club Manager), Lin, Jerry and Melanie (Horizon Club) and Ashley (Front Office Manager). I won't go into detail but Sabina and Ashley sorted out a problem we had and were both extremely helpful with a few other things, Melanie was the most attentive member of staff in the Horizon Club always serving with a smile and Jerry is someone who is essential to a good hotel. He knows everything. He has been working at the hotel for a very long time and as such is very good at looking after you and being able to give advice on anything Sydney from where to go for dinner to which beaches are good at what times. He is also very attentive during service and makes sure glasses are topped up right until the end!
Basically our likes are:
Location- Right in the heart of things in the Rocks although a steep climb from George Street. Great views.
The rooms- well presented and a very good size. Great views if you pick the right rooms.
Horizon Club- Some excellent staff, great sparkling wine, great views.
Dislikes:
The canapes in the Horizon Club are not always great.
The service at breakfast downstairs is usually lacking with most of the staff seemingly not particularly happy to be there.
Breakfast food quality is sometimes a little lacking downstairs.
We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We arrived early in the morning, around 8am and they allowed us to check-in that early (check-in times normally around 2pm). Got a free bottle of wine (a nice one of that). And allowed a FREE late check-out. ooops! and FREE BUFFET Brekky too! =) Nice aye?

Looking forward to doing it again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokjok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMSYD, Front Office Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Many thanks to the author for their wonderful review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney!
Please allow me to extend a very humble "Welcome Home" to your favorite Sydney hotel.
Thank you for mentioning our unsurpassed views, expansive buffet in Cafe Mix & our beautiful fine dining restaurant Altitude. I will be sure to pass on your comment to our Food & Beverage Director so he may keep up those high standards you come to expect from the property.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney sometime in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Mr Ashley Hunt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 177 in Sydney
4,260 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,268 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 177 in Sydney
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing