We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get the chance, stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hartleool, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If you get the chance, stay there!”
Reviewed March 29, 2006

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. From the moment we got there to the time we left, the staff could not have done any more to make our stay any better. The concierge service was outstanding and the general feel of the place was quality. The rooms were exellent and clean with a large bathroom. The decor was good, if not a little dark, but this was more than made up with the view of the opera house we had. The bar on the ground floor was ideal for a few drinks before you hit the town and again the bar staff were very friendly and polite. You will pay through the nose to use the mini bar, so beware.
To the reviewers who stated that the hotel was not that good, I have to ask you if it is possible to please you at all. Considering that it's not overly expensive and the level of service you get, you cant do much better. If you go to Sydney, then stay here. Its central to everything you need, and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank karl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,599
    1,525
    550
    256
    153
See reviews for
890
3,107
285
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Stayed at the Shangri-la for three nights in March with a group of 4 for a girls weekend. The hotel was fabulous and the service outstanding at every turn. We were upgraded to Opera View rooms. The staff were always helpful and bent over backwards to answer any queries. The rooms were very comfortable - the beds divine. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed 6 nights in Feb and had a room on the 31st floor with the most fantastic view of the bridge and the Opera House and the harbour. I could have stayed and looked out all day and all night.
However I was disappointed in our room which felt tired and was unremarkable. We were in the Horizon Club and found the lounge very poor: Although it is supposed to have had a recent facelift it is badly laid out, gets crowded and the staff vary tremendously in quality and the food is surprisingly mediocre: we had come from the Shangri La in Singapore and contrasting the two Sydney came a very poor second.
Despite the view I do not think I would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kattenschling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2006

The Shangri-La is a very comfortable hotel with some nice luxury touches. Overall, I would say it feels like a really upscale business hotel, rather than a luxury hotel. If you are traveling on business and want to comfortable place, the Shangri-La would be a good choice. However, if you are on a holiday and want a pampering luxury experience, you might want to consider other options. Probably the hotel's best feature is the location - it is really close to the Circular Quay and many of the rooms have fantastic views of the harbour. You can easily walk to the ferry terminals, Opera House, etc. It is also adjacent to the charming and historic Rocks area too.

The rooms are very nicely decorated and the housekeeping is excellent. Probably the best feature of the rooms is the bathroom - very large and luxurious with a huge tub and separate shower. My only complaint is that my room (a standard twin) was pretty small by luxury hotel standards.

On the downside, I was pretty disappointed with the gym and pool area. At best, the gym is like something you would find in a YMCA, not a world-class luxury hotel. I didn't use the pool, but it is really small and there is only a tiny outdoor sundeck. I would also say that the service was only adequate and not stellar. I didn't experience any problems (other than one morning when I went downstairs for breakfast and found that there were propbably 25 people waiting for a table - I didn't have time to wait and had to skip breakfast that day). The problem I had with the service was that the staff just seemed a little indifferent to the guests. Whenever I would pass a staff member in the lobby, hallway, etc. they would never acknowledge me with a greeting. It was not the welcoming feeling I usually experience at luxury hotels.

I had a fine stay but would probably try a different place next time. I've also stayed at the Four Seasons and Intercontinental in Sydney, and would probably choose these places over the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

I stayed at the Shangri-La Sydney for 2.5 weeks in February for work purposes. The hotel is situated very close to the Rocks area, which is very pleasant for strolling and viewing the tourist attractions, although dining options can be rather pricey.

Check-in service was prompt and very pleasant, although porter service had to be self-initiated. I was allocated a corner room on a higher floor which was slightly disappointing, as there are some rooms with views of the Opera House (but may cost more). However, the room was fantastically clean and spacious and the bathroom had a separate bathtub/shower. However, I had no idea what to do in the separate living room area which didn't have a television. The bed was very comfortable for a good night's rest with ample pillows. Altogether a very enjoyable stay indeed for superior rooms and the location is hard to beat.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank velvetcrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We recently stayed at the Shangri-la in the Rocks area of Sydney. The hotel is more suited to business travellers than holidaymakers, and lacks ambience. Although the rooms are very well equipped and comfortable, and the views of Sydney Harbour are unbeatable, the main problem with this hotel is that it is on a hill. There is a steep climb each time you return making it unsuitable for elderly or less mobile visitors, unless you use taxis. Breakfast and room service (especially drinks) are very over-priced, but there is a pleasant cafe on the lower level at the rear of the hotel, in Gloucester Road. A better choice would be the Four Seasons, which lies at the bottom of the hill near Circular Quay, or for a cheaper option, the Old Holiday Inn at the Rocks is well situated on a level location.

Helpful?
7 Thank Mollymac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, california
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2006

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are huge, new and clean. Our room on the 23rd floor overlooked the whole Sydney harbor and Opera house; It was absolutely stunning. We also stayed at the Marriott Circular Quay, which although a bit closer to the central ferries (which you will want to take when you visit) is not nearly as nice as the Shangri La and much more expensive. You do have to take several stairs to get down to the main area from the Shangri La, but if this doesn't cramp your style, it is highly recommended. The Four Seasons is ideal as well.

Helpful?
3 Thank frequent_fam_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,138 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing