We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Shangrila Sydney, the hotel was centrally located. Check in was efficient, staff were friendly and attentive. The room is spacious and comfortable. Our room had the view of the Sydney Opera House and Harbour, the view is superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyerkl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,556
    1,510
    538
    252
    149
See reviews for
883
3,062
282
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Was quite disappointed with my recent stay. We thought we were getting a view of the harbour bridge & we couldn't see it at all & our toilet wouldn't flush - would only flush every 2-3 times! TV was broken too! Wouldn't rush back here..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Tara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan D, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Tara O
Thank you very much for taking the time and providing feedback.
I am sorry to hear that the experience and especially the view was not as nice as you had expected.
The maintenance issues should not have happened, as all of our rooms are on a preventative maintenance program.
We will work diligently to improve our services and product, so that we can offer a high quality stay to all of our guests.

I hope we can welcome you back and impress you with the service that we are reknown for,
Thank you very much and all the best,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We have stayed here a few times over the years and in our experience it never disappoints. We only stayed one night this time and were upgraded to a corner room with a separate living area and bedroom with fantastic views looking over the opera house and harbour. The room was very spacious and clean.

The location is excellent in the Rocks area with plenty of pubs and restaurants at your doorstep. We also had breakfast at Cafe Mix and were impressed with the variety of food on offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially the lady checking us in. We had a pretty stressful day so it was nice that she anticipated our needs and seemed very genuine.

All in all a great experience and we will be back.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are the way to go, stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffK191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Came to Sydney for the weekend and stayed at the hotel. Service at the Shangri-La have always been consistently good and I never have any issues with my stay.

The staff were attentive and every now and then provided refill for the bottled water in the room which a lot of other hotels have fallen off, the room is clean with plenty of towels and pillows provided, and toiletries were quite complete (but a shaver would have been nice!).

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alim85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. We arrived here and because we were celebrating at special day we received a complementary champagne bottle in our room. The cocktail bar is amazing as you can see the whole of Sydney harbour. They are awesome at making cocktails too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephenb234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

this was an a planned visit just for their high tea and champagne. it was a dessert faire, but for the pricey amount for this high tea, i was not very impressed because most of their desserts on the tray served to us, was dry. it did not taste like it was made on that day but more like the previous day. the selection of dessets was maybe like 5? i guess my expectations for a 5 star hotel was not met, just because of that reason. the champagne was good but we added to our drinks.
all in all pretty disappointed as this was a trip to celebrate a private engagement of a beautiful couple....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank su s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan D, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear suthas,
firstly I would like to say thank you for taking the time and providing us with valuable feedback and congratulations on the engagement.

I am sorry that the high tea was not as enjoyable and memorable as you had expected.

I can assure you that our pastries and desserts for all areas are made daily, some of them several times throughout the day, however I can see your point with the dry texture and I will certainly make a point of that.

We appreciate your comments and will work hard to improve and change as necessary,

All the very best,
Regards,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I were through in Sydney for Fashion Exposed. It was her 40th birthday and I wanted to do something really nice for it and researched all the hotels in Sydney which would give us a night to remember and settled on the Shangri La grand harbour view room at $445 a night. We were only staying there one night and the rest at my sister's so I wanted everything to be perfect. After a long day at the Showgrounds we arrived at 18.10 to find that our room wasn't ready but we had been given an "upgrade" to a grand apartment. Instead of relaxing and getting ready to go out for dinner we were therefore forced to go to their bar for a cocktail, where there were 20 minute queues for drinks and no seats available being a Friday night. We were telephoned at around 7pm to tell us the room was ready and when we got into it, we discovered we were on the 5th floor, it had a small bedroom which had lights from cars on the bridge shining into it and the "upgrade" consisted of a lounge and kitchen which we were not going to use at 7.30 at night when staying for a single night. We then requested to go back to our original room and again were told this room wasn't ready either because of a late checkout. We eventually got into our room after 8pm, having wasted two hours of a short stay because of poor room management by the hotel. By the time we showered we were both too tired to go out for dinner and had to make do with room service. I have emailed Milan, the manager, about the poor service and all he has said is that they'll endeavour to so better next time. Big deal, we won't be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan D, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Lisa H,
Firstly thank you for providing comments and valuable feedback, we appreciate it, as it presents an opportunity to improve.

As I had previously mentioned to you, we are very sorry that the upgrade we provided did not proof to be of value to you. The Grand Apartment is a very popular suite, however, in your case views where more important then additonal space, so in the future we will be more careful in providing upgrades that actually make sense and add value to our guests.

I am very sorry that your stay was not as relaxing and enjoyable as you had rightfully expected. As in my previous correspondence, I invite you to contact me personally should you decide to stay with us in the future and I will make the arrangements for your stay myself.
We are looking forward to seeing you again,
Very Best Regards,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing