We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for showcasing Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent for showcasing Sydney”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I planned this trip for a relative who was a first time visitor to Sydney and required somewhere that could showcase the most well renowned parts of the city and be a good base to see the sights. Though there are differing opinions on the site, I have to say it was the perfect place to do so...for us anyway.

We had full harbour view rooms with a view of the harbour bridge and opera house, exactly as it is in the tripadvisor photo. For someone who has traveled across the world, this is almost worth the entire cost itself. Even I as a Melbourne resident was pretty impressed by it. It is expensive, but everywhere is in Sydney, especially close to Circular Quay.

The beds in the room were extremely comfortable, especially after a long road trip. The City to Surf runners who stayed there seemed to really appreciate that. The bathrooms were great. The shower pressure was amazing, contrary to other reviews.

The breakfast had a great range of hot foods as well as fruits, yogurts, cereals etc. On Sunday they expand the breakfast area to cope with the larger volumes who turn up after sleep ins.

We asked to check out an hour later as we were booked to do a SkyWalk at 10am and wouldn't be back in time. The staff were all too willing to accommodate.

A negative was how busy the skybar was. It is a narrow area and very popular on the weekends. The glass fogged up in parts due to body heat and was a bit uncomfortable. A great array of cocktails, including a $10,000 one if you are keen. Only one beer on tap though.

Another negative is the parking cost. I understand that it should be high on weekdays but there should be a cheaper rate for weekends. We ended up prepaying at the nearby clocktower shopping centre carpark at a cheap weekend rate.

The rocks is my favourite area in Sydney and walking distance to most sights such as the Sydney Tower, Darling Harbour, QVB and Circular Key. The hotel is perfectly positioned to access these and two of my favourite pubs: Harts and the Glenmore. Check our the latter's rooftop.

Room Tip: If you want the best view, get a harbour view room. The Horizon club rooms were being updated during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,599
    1,525
    550
    256
    153
See reviews for
890
3,107
285
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location in the Rocks, walking distance into town and .... not much more to write than that. I felt for the product "shangri la" and comparing it to other properties, it was lacking. I felt it looked tired, on the dirty side, service in the lobby lounge for both breakfast and afternoon was ordinary and so was the quality. The stay was certainly not what I had expected. Living in Singapore, therefore being a frequent guest at the local Shangri La, I was surprised at this experience. Defiantly not something I would recommend, nor try again. A pity really.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytravelworldrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanDrager, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear NoBoarders0704,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with. We value your feedback and take your comments as a way to improve our products and services.
I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as pleasant and nice as you had hoped for. Offering a product that is first class is important to us here at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney, and therefore we will work hard to improve the sevice and cleanliness you mentioned.
NoBoarders0704, we would like the opprtunity to welcome you back in the future.
Please contact me personally should you plan your next trip to Sydney at milan.drager@shangri-la.com

Very warm regards,
Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked on the back of good reviews and yes, the views of the Sydney Opera House were very good and maybe this is a good enough reason for some to rate this hotel so highly but unless you are planning to lock yourself in the room and admire Sydney from your room it's not good enough.

Junior Suite was nice too, good size bathrooms. However this hotel is clearly positioning itself for business travel from the dry and boring lobby. We were heavily jet lagged but travel time is too short to even have coffee in such an uninspiring environment. Adequately comfortable and utterly forgettable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanDrager, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear MsPapercut,
I appreciate the feedback you provided on your recent stay with the Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney.
It is a great opprtunity for our team to re-evaluate and improve our operations, and for that we are grateful.
MsPapercut, I am sorry that you found our hotel to be boring and not as comfortable as you had hoped. We pride ourselves on providing a product and service that is impressive and pleasant.
We are currently doing a full refurbishment to our Horizon Club Rooms and Horizon Club Lounge, which will allows us to introduce a brand new product in the beginning of November.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future,
Very Best Regards,
Milan Drager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had a look on trip advisor before selecting this property, and to be honest, majority of the opinions do not reflect this property. Location, wise, there is far better, four-seasons, intercontinental, marriott or sheraton, this property is located off George Street up a hill, where as the others are more location, location, location. Entrance to the hotel in comparison, a little shabby in my opinion.

Rooms, i requested Opera and City, well, the view of the Opera house is at an angle, and the view of the city is of the four-season and an apartment block. If you want views, pay the extra for harbour as the Opera City is just poor, and when a complaint was made, the response from the reception was really poor stating an additional 65 Dollars for a harbour view or 165 Dollars for a slightly larger room. Rooms are clean, decoration is fine, beds are ok, but the pillows are terrible. On a comparison with other Shangri La properties, this is one of the worst i have stayed in.

Bathrooms are clean, bath is of normal size, and the shower pressure is good. No real complaint, standard bathroom.

Laundry costs - ridiculous, unfortunately i was traveling for business from city to city, so Sydney was laundry time.

Staff, not very helpful at all, especially the reception staff that we dealt with. Just rude and not interested at all. Poor promotion of the Shangri La properties. Staff at the coffee shop, full of life. Staff at the Blue Bar and Altitude, all have attitudes and feel they are special because of their job function on what is said to be a swish funky roof top bar and restaurant. Its not, its far from it, and have visited far better, very average indeed. Yes, reasonable views, thats about it.

Was not too impressed with this property and would not come back in the future.

Room Tip: Choose Harbour with Opera, otherwise some ignorant staff member will give you the standard hotel tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L4-Doha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanDrager, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear L4-Doha,
I appreciate the feedback you provided after your recent stay with us. The comments present an opportunity for improvement, and we will certainly follow up on them.
I am sorry that you found some of our colleagues to be rude and not helpful, since this is not a reflection of our intentions.The service shortfalls will be addressed separately, as this is also not up to our ownexpectations.
L4-Doha, our views have been carefully described, I am sorry that you found them to be dissapointing.
I apologise for the fact that your trip was not as enjoyable and special as you had expected.
We would like to welcome you back in the future to truly highlight our services,
Most sincerely
Milan Drager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

It's up a big hill! Steep! When you are carrying luggage, you don't need a steep hill! But you know what? The climb is irrelevant once you are faced with the view from your room! You must stay here for the view alone! Apart from the amazing views the quality of the hotel is excellent. There are many restaurants, bars,a swimming pool, shop etc everything you would expect from a hotel of this quality. Lorraine checked us in and couldn't have been more helpful. We were early yet she checked us in and answered all of our questions with enthusiasm. Our room was massive, did I mention the views? The pillows and the bed were so comfortable , it was like sleeping in a cloud. Bathroom was huge and well stocked, they even give you toothbrushes. It is a 5 min walk to circular quay and about 1 min to the Harbour Bridge. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We went here for my wife's 30th birthday weekend and while there were some really good points, there were some bad ones too.

The service was excellent, including the surprise birthday cake they bought my wife, as was the location, the room size (very spacious) and the bed - very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

With that said, we thought that the foyer was unimpressive. Having been to a few other of Shangri la's locations around the world, the foyer is very basic for a global hotel, but, if thats not your thing...not to worry.
We were locked out of our room on one of the nights (we were only there for two), this was addressed immediately but nonetheless annoying. Ongoing construction work during the day was not ideal either.
The biggest let down though, was the view. We had a Deluxe Opera House City View, which should be renamed to something more fitting like the 'Deluxe Four Seasons City View' or the Deluxe Cahill Expressway City View'. The pics on the website are not representative of the real view - we could see the view described if we looked around the corner.

All in all, a nice hotel and comfortable stay. Compared to the hotel's other locations, not such a winner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanDrager, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear katl84,
I very much appreciate the feedback provided after your recent stay with us.
The comments present an opportunity for improvement, and we will certainly follow up on them.
I am happy to report that most of our heavy works on the refurbishing projects are finished, which will eliminate any noise concerns and will allow us to offer updated Horizon Club rooms and Horizon Club Lounge.
katl84, I am sorry to learn that you where dissapointed with the view and didnt find it impressive, it is not our intention to mislead our guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Most sincerely,
Milan Drager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

In for 2 nights on business. The reception was efficient enough but seemed to lack something. There but not there if you know what I mean.
The room was average and a few things did not work. The dinner on the first floor restaurant was very ho hum. The breakfast there was even worse. definitely not up to 5 star .
There was no information in the room about hotel facilities and I had to ask at reception where the restaurant was etc. Only 1 newspaper available in the morning.
Overall a big disappointment. The hotel seems to have no soul and could do with some refurbishment.
I filled out the usual form with the above information and received a reply saying the the housekeeper and chef had been informed of my comments. I don't think they cared.
Not up to 5 star standard and I will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldric666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilanDrager, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Baldric666,
Thank you very much for your comments from your recent stay with us. I appreciate the feedback, since it provides an opportunity for us to improve our services and product.
I am sorry that you felt missing engagement and care, since especially guest contact and great care to our guests are the attributes that we pride ourselves in.
I am happy to tell you that we are currently refurbishing all of our Horizon Rooms and our Horizon Club. We will strive to continuously improve not only our front office services, but also our F&B offerings.
Baldric666, hopefully you will allow us to demonstrate the improvements, as me and the entire team are looking forward to providing you better service upon your return.
Most sincerely,
Milan Drager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing