We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wedding Anniversary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
1 review
“Wedding Anniversary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Disappointing view—had to climb the window sill to see the Opera House—not like the panoramic view for same standard room on the webpage. Dirty windows, damaged bar cabinet, worn hand-towels. No gesture to acknowledge our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: If you are paying extra for rooms with a view, obtain reassurance that the allocated room is as per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank PJG1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,181
    1,341
    490
    217
    123
See reviews for
778
2,704
259
869
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a deluxe grand harbor view room. It was spacious, luxurious, clean, well appointed and I loved that plug adaptors were built into the outlets. The view was so spectacular that we were tempted to spend time in our room instead of exploring. The service was wonderful and the breakfasts were fantastic (best hash browns ever). The location was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabbler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at the Sydney Shangri-La Hotel this past January. The room was not special and was only slightly above average but we had an absolutely breathtaking view of the harbor, opera house and harbor bridge. It was a very nice location at the Rocks and very close to the Opera house, contemporary arts museum, great shopping and harbor tours. The can't miss is the Horizon Club at the Shangri-La. The staffing, food, service and view was all fabulous at the Horizon Club. They have 3 or 4 different food servings a day and they are all excellent and you could eat all your meals at this club. It is well worth the extra cost and is one of the best hotel clubs I have ever visited. Overall, I would give the Shangri-La a B- and absent the wonderful Horizon Club the rating would have been much lower.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is a must as is a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The Shangri-La Hotel is everything you imagine. Excellent service, large luxurious comfortable clean rooms and stunning views of Sydney Harbour.
However, the lifts constantly whizz up and down, sounding like an express train in the middle of the building. It is at it's worst in the evening when visitors go to the Bar on the 36th floor. No room can escape the noise. Good earplugs are required if you are sensitive to noise.
We really liked this hotel but would not stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KTDNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Have just spent a couple of days at the Shangri-La Hotel in Sydney. Very nice hotel in a fantastic location. Beautiful view of Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House from our room. Spacious suite with a lovely marble bathroom. Bed was very comfortable with a pillow menu. Can highly recommend the Chi Spa within the hotel. I had the Refining Body Toner, a 90 minute treatment which would have to be one of the best treatments I have ever had. Staff in the Cafe Mix (all day dining restaurant), were alway very friendly and their buffet breakfast was first rate, great selection with freshly cooked eggs, waffles and pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaidetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days for a work trip I won. Located super close to the Opera House, just a 5 minute walk. It was FANTASTIC, yet expensive! $20 USD for a Bloody Mary in the lobby bar! But, you just couldn't beat the view! Each time we walked into our room, we saw the Opera House. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for the Opera House view. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights in Sydney and it was a very good experience. The rooms are larger compared to other 5 star hotels. The food is good but not great. Its very close to opera house and you may just walk upto there. There are couple of bars near by and they were decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Premjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,571 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing