We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I took my 83 year old mother for a trip to Sydney and we stayed at the Shangri-La in the Rocks. Everything about our stay was fabulous from our arrival in a stretch limo organised by the hotel, to our experience in the Horizon Club (highly recommended) and all interaction with the staff. High tea was lovely, massages were brilliant, pool and spa very relaxing and our executive Club Suite was very comfortable with an amazing view of the Opera House and the bridge. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank auntychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,606
    1,533
    550
    256
    154
See reviews for
891
3,116
289
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,737)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The money spent on a room with a view is well worth it as the views are definitely divine in the harbour deluxe view rooms.

The hotel is very professional although I found they show a sense of arrogance towards the fact we look young and they assume we can't afford things. Like the bar on level 36 when I asked for a cheese platter she said: "how can i put it...it's expensive for the amount of cheese". It was $18 for two cheeses. That's not expensive. I'm not at a pub I clearly know what to expect. Other than that the rooms are spacious and pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for an Anniversary last month. From the moment we arrived till we checked out we felt special. Nothing was too much trouble. The room and view is to die for, the meal at the Altitude was first class, breakfast buffet was awesome and we loved the mini high tea at the lounge area. If you want to stay somewhere really special this is the location. We will stay there again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Just ask for one with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The room we were provided was a Premier Harbourview Horizon Club and it more than met our expectations with a lovely view and comfortable bed.

Access to the Horizon Club was excellent and the amenities provided in the lounge were very good - albeit with a limited beer range.

Food provided was great with a good variance in the offerings.

What made our stay exceptional was the staff in the Horizon Club who were professional and courteous in the manner they dealt with both ourselves and other guests.

During one of the evenings when a couple of guests were extremely vocal using foul language the staff handled the situation with aplomb and displayed an attitude the hotel should be very proud of.

We are certainly making Shangri La our accommodation of choice when visiting Sydney from now on.


Please extend our thanks to your team and we look forward to staying with you soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a junior suite here with amazing views of the Opera House and The Bridge.
The room was very large with a great king size bed and comfortable seating.
Very convenient for the Rocks area, no more than 5 mins walk away.
The staff at this hotel were both very friendly and helpful.
Our stay wasn't cheap but well worth the extra cost for the views alone.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room facing the fantastic views is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorchyPyrford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Shangri La over the weekend to mark a special occasion. We had never stayed here but we were eagerly anticipating it! I booked a standard room online, unsure what to expect. Our initial designated room was on one of the lower levels and it was a beautiful room with a view of the Sydney Opera House and the harbour. My partner called reception to see if on the off chance we could perhaps change to a room on a higher floor. Not only were the staff very accommodating of our request (it was very busy at check in, so I'm sure they were short on rooms!), a lovely woman by the name of Amanda, took the time to take us upstairs to the 34th floor and offered us a beautiful corner room overlooking the Darling Harbour side (the view was incredible over all of Sydney). Amanda was so lovely to us and even let us keep the champagne intended for the original guests.

We had such a great night there and it was really heightened by the great service from Amanda and all the employees that we dealt with.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Altough not as fancy as the Shangri-La latest developments, this hotel is a good place to stay in Sydney. Location is just great - 5-minute walk to the Harbor. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful. We were staying on a Horizon Club floor with the amazing Harbor view - unforgettable! I would say the hotel is a little bit overprised, but you always get what you paid for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing