We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Day Stay May 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Room was well decorated,spacious and very clean although promised harbour view was lacking.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.We dined in house twice and food and service was very good.
Location in The Rocks area was excellent although it would be challenging
for older folk due to its elevated position

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,506 - 3,512 of 6,599 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have just returned from the most amazing weekend in Sydney and this was largely due to our fantastic stay at the Shangri-La Hotel Sydney. I had booked a Grand Harbour view room and rang to just confirm the booking 2 days prior to our stay. The welcome I received on the phone gave me the sense that it was going to be a great weekend. We were travelling to Sydney to celebrate my wife's birthday and Mother's Day which this year was the same day. I wanted to organise a few special treats for my wife eg. flowers in the room etc. I was put in touch with the 'Guest Relations Team' and nothing was too much trouble. When checking in before lunch I expected to have to come back later when the room was ready, oh no our room was ready. Later the flowers were in the room with a special treat for my wife, courtesy of the guest relations team. The view and room were outstanding, housekeeping were superb, nothing was too much trouble. On our last day when we returned from a day out there was another treat a bottle of champagne and hotel truffles, again courtesy of the hotel. WOW, were we made to feel like superstars. Thank you for our weekend getaway, we have found our new favourite hotel in Sydney!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights over the weekend.

We had a Deluxe Opera House City View room on the 11th floor - it had everything we could want and a good view of the Opera House. It was also very quiet and made for a great sleep! Wonderful shower too.

The location is good, just a short walk up from the Rocks and Circular Quay.

Service was very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very nice, well appointed rooms. Good location close to the rocks, very convenient. Staff were attentive. Minor issue with waiting time at the front desk on one occasion. I will come back sometime. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a large business group. Great location and excellent view of Sydney Harbour Bridge out of my room window. Well appointed room and very comfortable bed. Had a long wait time for the lift to arrive at my floor to go down on several occasions. Breakfast good. Unfortunately did not spend enough time here to fully appreciate this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Room service and valet services very poor. I contacted guest services for assistance with baggage - recent surgery - and retrieving car from car park. I am still waiting for baggage assistance and needed to request car from reception. Not happy.

Room Tip: city view is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Jo_0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaSomers, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Jo_0514,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we're very sorry to hear about your experience. If you wouldn't mind, please send me some further information and I will personally look into these problems for you further.

Thank you

Jessica Somers
Director of Communications
Jessica.somers@shangri-la.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful few nights stay at the Shangri La hotel. The room had a wonderful view of the Sydney Opera House. Very spacious, plugs were the universal plugs so you don't need an adapter and the beds are incredibly comfortable. We went up to the bar which I would definitely recommend and watched the sun set there one evening and the panoramic view was phenomenal. It is up a bit of a hill but completely manageable for people without mobility issues so don't let that put you off. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Doc_ame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4,517 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 179 in Sydney
1,869 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $196 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing