We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel to feel confident about...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hotel to feel confident about...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've read the reviews below and I feel like people are nit-picking. I have a pretty selective taste and enjoy finer things in life. That being said, this hotel was a great choice, and I would absolutely stay again.

Location: The views from the rooms are amazing. I am in a regular room with twin beds, so nothing fancy, but I can lay in my bed and see the Opera House. Quiet neighborhood, located in The Rocks area. Sydney is very similar to San Francisco in both look and feel, so there are some steep hills. Close to George Street shops (2 blocks), and walkable distance to Harbour and Opera House, and next to the entrance to the Harbour Bridge.

The lobby: Lots of seating, nice indoor/outdoor café for tea time, happy hour, light snack. Front desk staff moved quickly. Bellhops brought my bags right to my room, attendants flagged taxi's immediately.

The room: Amazing views, large windows with window seat. Seating and area for laying out your suitcase. Spacious dresser, large flat screen tv. Modern, Asian style with clean lines, yet comfy. Nice workspace, mini-fridge and loaded mini-bar. There are a few plugs that are universal adapters, including two at the desk, and one above the night table. There is an ipod docking station alarm clock, but I used wake up call service and had no problems. Full size closet with lots of hangers. They provide you with robes and slippers. Laundry service is also available. The bathroom is large and marble. Huge soaking tub, stand up shower with rain shower head that was amazing. The tv is piped into the bathroom with speakers so you can listen to the news, or a show if you are getting ready in the morning. Nice quality products, and they give you toothbrushes and even hair bands. Nice touch. The bed is the most comfortable hotel bed that I have ever slept on.

Food: Room service is pretty good for quality. It's always hot when it arrives. But very expensive. I wish there were a bit more options on the dinner/night menu. There is only one soup. The service has really been great.

Amenities: I was up at the Sky bar on the top floor for an after work drink, and the views are amazing. Must see. I am having a massage today at the spa, and expect it to be lovely. (It is very pricy.)

All in all, I hope the rest of the hotels on my global business trip are as nice as this one. I read a lot of reviews, and sometimes have anxiety about whether I chose the right one. This hotel is definitely a safe bet. The Aussie locals I spoke to all have high opinions of this hotel as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keri525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,557
    1,510
    538
    254
    149
See reviews for
883
3,065
282
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I returned to Shangri La for a business trip. The check in was efficient and pleasant. The company put me in a lower level basic room, so I was able to assess the basic product. The rooms are pleasantly furnished with the gold, wood and black Chinese design tones familar to Shangri La customers. The room felt comfortable, but not tired. The bathroom was adequate, the bed comfortable and the lighting quite pleasant. I had a view of the Opera House if a positioned myself in the corner of the room. My view became more expansive from the bed where I could literally see to Canada - the Canadian Embassy next door, that is.
I dined at Cafe Mix and found the food quite tasty and well presented. Blu bar on level 32 has the best views in town but is packed at most times.
The location in the rocks is pleasant but you have to scale many stairs in the street to get to the rocks and the rest of the city. I would come back for business, but there are better locations for non first time tourists.

Room Tip: Check your view to get what you expect, some rooms have restricted views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangri-La for four nights, and were reluctant to leave. It's a comfortable, homely sort of place - my husband prefers smaller hotels and said that this is one of his favourites. On arrival I realised my coat was still in the taxi, and one of the doormen ran after the taxi and retrieved it for me. Both doormen where very helpful and friendly, as was the efficient lady who checked us in. Our room was wonderful, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was good. The room had an amazing view of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House, and I never tired of the panorama. It was nice to sit on the window seat and just take in these iconic landmarks.

The hotel bar area is very pleasant, and we enjoyed the breakfast. Although the restaurant was good, we turned down the Chinese New Year buffet which was 95 dollars, and opted for the a la carte menu. There's a nice atmosphere tin the hotel, and all staff were pleasant and helpful. We left our iPad in our room, and called the hotel from the airport - they offered to bring it to the airport, but because we were about to board, they kept it safely for us to collect on the day our cruise ship called into Sydney.
We very much hope to return to Sydney, and the Shangri-La. We loved it, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.



Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I had one night in an Executive King Room with Opera House City View at the Shangri-la Hotel Sydney and had a lovely experience. The rooms are tastefully decorated with heavenly beds and large bathrooms with separate shower and bath. We had a view of the opera house which is always nice to wake up it. We didn't have breakfast included but did have breakfast there and was pleasantly surprised at how reasonable it was. We didn't want the buffet so just ordered a la carte and very much enjoyed it. It was approx. AUD42 for two (coffees each and poached eggs with hash browns and tomatoes plus toast). We had drinks at Blu Bar 36 - great cocktails and views, perfect for watching the sunset. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel (we went to Aria which I highly recommend) but the restaurant looked nice. We had a quick swim in the pool - it is quite small but ok. The gym is a reasonable size and the changing rooms have good facilities. The staff that we encountered were all very helpful, apart from laundry - we had some conflicting information and they weren't able to assist in getting a shirt ironed. Not the end of the world but could do with improving communications with the team. All in all a great stay at a very well located hotel.

Room Tip: Executive King Room with Opera House City View is worth a paying a little extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_addict_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I stated for my birthday and everything was handled incredibly well. The location and views (harbourbridge front view) were perfect to capture the essence of this great city. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RowanNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

For nearly 10 years I travelled extensively in Asia and whenever possible I opted to stay at a Shangri-La hotel. I found them to offer great service and excellent facilities. Having spent most of the last 7 years in Europe and N America I haven't used a Shangri-La for some time. When my wife and I decided to take a weekend break in Sydney the chance to re-acquaint ourselves with a Shangri-La made our choice of hotel a no-brainer - or so we thought. Sadly we found the Sydney hotel to be tired, and frankly, in places to feel a little grubby. The Horizon Club lounge has great views, however the breakfast buffet was not terribly appealing - particularly the pre-cooked and dried out eggs. On recent business trips to Sydney I've used the Sheraton, the Wentworth and the Inter-Continental, and I'd rate them all better than the Shangri-La. Overall not up to the standard of it's international sister hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EilselNodrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Simply amazing, I've never stayed at a hotel that ive enjoyed more than this - i feel its worth more than the 5 star rating - rooms are great size, best value for money for room size of a 5 star hotel and has the best view and location of any other hotel in that class.

Room Tip: My room tip - get the opera house city view room - huge size, heaps of facilities and book as long a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing