We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. Very Good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #31 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good. Very Good.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times for work.

The room is comfortable, one time I was upgraded to a corner suite/room? It was definitely bigger than the usual normal room I get in here. Most importantly the bed is satisfactory. I'm a fuzzy sleeper, I have trouble sleeping even in five star studded hotels, they just have to have a good bed. It's very important. So obviously in this case Shangri-La delivers with flying colours. Bed's great, pillow's great. Shower's great. Room is nice and comfy. Avoid room near the elevator, I kept hearing the wooooozzzzing sound (sorry that's not even a word) of the elevator going up and down in one of my stay.

But then if you stayed away from the elevators, problem solved. Best night sleep ever.

I also had the luxury of trying the hotel room service. Was really hungry and ordered A LOT of food. They were very good and satisfactory for midnight cravings. We went a couple of times to Cafe Mix. Believe it or not every time i'm there, the Altitude restaurant is always closed. I'm doomed to never go there but Cafe Mix provided a decent quiet dinner if i don't feel like eating out.

The breakfast in this place is amazing. It might be because it's Sydney but it provides Asian breakfast menu option. So the range of choice of breakfast menu is definitely welcome by someone who prefer miso soup and congee as opposed to bacon and eggs for brekkie.

This was a good hotel for a work trip, but next time I'm in Sydney for personal trip, I probably will stay here again on my own. Definitely.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevator, the elevator makes a woooozing sound that will distract you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madarame_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,740
    1,594
    567
    268
    169
See reviews for
931
3,235
300
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,794)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Superb location, superb room, superb service. Location was perfect, just a short walk from Circular Quay. View from window of Circular Quay and Sydney Opera House was amazing. Staff could not be any more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. I enjoyed my stay immensely. It was simply the best.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedijacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magoebaskloof, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice hotel centred conveniently in The Rocks district. Rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds and soft pillows, nice views and within easy walking distance of main tourist attractions such as the Bridge, Circular Quay, George Street shopping and Sydney Opera House. The staff are friendly and attentive, the Concierge service is great. Do visit the Horizon Bar at the top of the hotel which - although expensive - is worth the visit if just for the views. Breakfast is hugely expensive (although expansive) so worth exploring the local area for better deals. When booking be sure to ask for a room away from the central lift shaft as this can be noisy and distruptive.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up, facing south west away from the main motorway and also be sure to ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivrelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

An outstanding hotel in an outstanding location overlooking either the Opera House or the Bridge depending on your choice.
Spacious and well appointed rooms, extremely comfortable
Room service excellent from wide varied menu
Professional, friendly and helpful staff
Outstanding breakfast choice, but grossly overpriced unles you are on business expenses

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room as levels 0 - 4 have some sort of function facilities and elevated usage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBillyScotFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Short business trip but people and location are great in Sydney and the meeting facilities were good. Parking also was a very important part of my trip and this was easy and the concierge flexible in timing for my needs


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank amashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had oneother deception at this hotel. I love Shangri La hotels and the being part of golden circle, but only if recognition has a meaning and is worth!! We were givem a room in the 4 floor wich had to be changed, due to unknown elecrical noises. We moved to a fantastic roon facing the opera house, on the 24th floor.. The noise we felt due to the elevators passing close by , at high speed, was tha same as traveling in an old airplane. This is not acceptable.. Something extra for golden circle club members. You are expected to have different keys for recognition of being a member, amenities upon arrival. Well noting happened here when we checked in, only after complaining about the first room givem!

Room Tip: Can't help with this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isernhagen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Not much to add to my recent visits to this very good hotel. You won't miss much during your stay, I can assure you that. Rooms are nice and super-clean, breakfast at THE MIX CAFE is superb also. Always my first choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank 120Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing