We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel with high quality customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel with high quality customer service”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I conducted a one-day workshop in this hotel. This is my second time visiting it. staffs are quite helpful, setting up everything in the meeting room, provide tea break service.

The hotel location is good. There are a few restaurants close by. although it needs to take the stairs, it is worth to try different varieties of food.

There is a Sunday market at the Rocks. may find something interesting there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyLife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,660
    1,557
    559
    256
    158
See reviews for
905
3,166
291
994
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,763)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you're going to waste money to stay here, be sure you go big. If you don't get a premier executive grand harbour view, you'll really be getting ripped off. This place is a glorified Marriott, and I'd really hate to pay $550 to look out at a bunch of buildings from my 6th floor window! It's much better to see 270 degrees closer to the 30th floor.

The location is great, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are nice and clean, wifi is included, and the breakfast is pretty good, though expensive if you don't have it included with your rate.

Arrival and Departures are time consuming, as you'll standing in long lines in the always busy lobby area. The elevators also tend to get crowded and stop at every 3rd floor.

Room Tip: If you're going to waste money to stay here, be sure you go big. If you don't get a premier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Oinkbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Oinkbottom,

We have received your comments from our online questionnaire and we thank you for airing your concerns. We are sorry to hear your disappointment about the room that was allocated to you, but as described on our website, our Opera House City View rooms showcase partial views of the Sydney Opera House and Circular Quay. For optimal views of Sydney Harbour, we highly recommend our Grand Harbour view rooms, which feature both the Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay and the Opera House. We hope you will visit our hotel soon and fully enjoy the stunning views from these rooms.

Best regards,

Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent service from check-in to check-out. We were especially impressed with the staff during the Chocolate High Tea. They constantly rearranged the seating to balance the aesthetics of the busy lounge. The High Tea itself was a highlight along with the amazing night views Sydney from our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StilettoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Overall our experience at this hotel was excellent. We stayed for 8 nights. Our room was an executive harbor view on the 26 floor. Probably one of the best views anywhere in Sydney, perfectly oriented with the harbor bridge on the left and opera house on the right.

Pros:

- Views

- Wifi is included and works well in room and on the ground floor

- Staff is very helpful and professional

- We arrived very early from our flight from the US (around 9 a.m.) and they got our room ready quickly and sent us to the spa for a hot tub and shower while we waited (took about an hour)

- Very convenient location (although there is a pretty steep 3 or 4 block climb up the hill from the CBD)

Cons:

- Wait for the blue bar on the top floor can be really long if you are not there right when they open. For $500 plus per night they should really give priority to those staying at the hotel

- There were a few places where the hotel was showing its age (broken handle on one shower valve, some jets in hot tub not working, etc.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

From the 1st call to book tthrought to checkout the staff at this hotel we're a delight to deal with, nothing is too much trouble for them.

The rooms are clean and spacious, the bed is so comfy and the bathrooms luxurious.

The view of the Harbour was gorgeous and the window seats are a thoughtful addition.

Will be book here again, the hotel is one of the best.

Room Tip: Book in early to get the rooms with the best views for the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel location was on the fringe of the city. Close enough to get to on foot but a little difficult if you're having a 6 year old and are not very fit as the slope heading back to the rocks and the hotel are very steep.

Taxis are convenient and cost and average of AUD 15 to get around to Darling harbor and the Circular quay.

We were thoroughly impressed with Matthew, Mark and Maria.

I had arrived with my Mother in law and 6 year old to join my wife who had been there on business 3 days earlier. Matthew had helped us put our bags away. My Mother in law was going to live with some friends and when we took another cab to our destination, we had left her bag with her medications in the cab and in the excitement, forgot to take the taxi cab no.

I called the hotel and Mark helped to pass this message to Matthew who scanned the security cameras and called us back an hour later to let us know that the bag was back at the hotel safe an sound and reassured us that all is well and when we were ready, that we could pick it up from the bell desk.. What a relief it was.

Maria on the other hand assisted us with our rooms with finesse. I had booked a higher category room than the one my wife had been staying. With the long trip, we didn't want to move rooms and Maria assisted us in our request and also helped to re-adjust the costs of the room which was a wonderful gesture. As we would be going to Gold Coast a few days later and return for a night, she also assisted us to obtain the late checkouts and accommodated our requests for a similar room on our return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Anand Lal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Just as expected. The drinks on the 36 th floor where the night time views are phenomenal were sensibly priced the casual breakfast/ coffee lounge off reception was superb. Previous week in another fiver star place in Singapore was different and yet much the same. At Shangri La there were never two guys opening the entry doors for you to walk through and the grand style of Asian hotels was lacking but the prices reflected the business like world and we liked both for separate reasons. Tip. If you fancy a pub drink and pub food you can do a great deal worse than going next door through the side door into the Harts pub, look it up on Trip Advisor. The beers and food are true pub style and great value.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing