We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday girl” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Birthday girl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great staff nice hotel just need to fix a/c and shower temperature and pressure also if ur wanting to catch up on sleep bring ear plugs in saying all this I didn't put in a complaint as I felt staff would have been powerless to help and because staff were so helpful it cut out all the negative

Room Tip: Bring fan in summer and ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,115
    1,312
    479
    215
    121
See reviews for
754
2,653
256
847
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed Friday night 18 October for our anniversary. We must of hit a busy period as we had a wait until checkin of around 10 minutes, but the staff handled it very well by acknowledging the wait and apologizing. We were given a harbor view room overlooking the bridge and opera house which was lovely. There is valet parking ($58) but the attendants were great and took our bags up to our room. We had drinks at the Blu bar and then dinner at altitude, we chose the epicurious menu which was very nice and we had a great table at the window overlooking the harbour. We had the early seating (6pm) and it was wonderful watching the changing light and the sunset. However the only lighting was a small lamp on the table and by the time we got the main course it was so dark we could not see the meal on the plate. Same with dessert. The waiters were very professional and attentive and looked after us very well. Very expensive ($150 per head plus drinks) but not something you would do often, but good for special occasions. Although we had the early seating we were not hurried and the meal ( 7 courses ) was quite well paced. Back to the room and there was a turn down service and a glass and bottled water on the bed side table and a fresh fruit plate as well. Nice touch. Very firm comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom with seperate shower and bath. Plenty of closet space and hangers. We had breakfast in the morning, lots of choice and eggs cooked to order. Very attentive service. Checkout very efficient and car bought up quickly. Overall a great stay and would stay here again and recommend to others. Five star service and hotel. Oh and no moths in the room (unlike the week before at the sofitel wentworth).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsCapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent location in the Rocks of Sydney. Easy to walk to restaurants and entertainment. Make sure you book a window lounge in the Blu bar while the sun goes down for an amazing view of the Sydney skyline.

Room Tip: A harbour view is nice but if you can't get that then you will have a great view of the sunset f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank LuxCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had an all too brief stay at this hotel and was really impressed by both the service and the truly fantastic view. I was fortunate to book an executive grand harbour view suite on the 32nd floor and the view of the bridge and Opera house was superb. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The service I received from everyone was very attentive and individual, especially in the Horizon club lounge. If there was a downside, the lobby can be a little hectic and if you are walking, the hotel is up a steep hill and a little distance from the quay area. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: If this is your first visit to Sydney it is worth paying the extra for the harbour view and a high f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMT_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Recently a group of us attended a sentimental fundraiser in Sydney & decided to stay in town for the night.
Our twin rooms all had picture postcard views of the Opera House & we could walk to The Rocks, Circular Quay & the Opera House. Stunning!
Our stay at Shangri-La was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank JoD293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had 2 awesome days in Sydney and the Shangri-la Hotel, everything was just perfect :-))) We enjoyed the stunnig view of our room (2609), the perfect location and the friendliness of the whole staff. When we will get back to Sydney for sure we will chose this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Maggie2670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location and amazing views. We chose a room overlooking the iconic Sydney Harbour. The view from our hotel room was simply stunning. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous especially the people at the reception. They made our check-in and check out really smooth. The room service was great and so was the food. Definitely going back. Its a total value for money..

Room Tip: Carry a good camera as the views are stunning...Rest is taken care of :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Shweta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,500 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing