We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just perfect :-)))”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Everything was just perfect :-)))”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had 2 awesome days in Sydney and the Shangri-la Hotel, everything was just perfect :-))) We enjoyed the stunnig view of our room (2609), the perfect location and the friendliness of the whole staff. When we will get back to Sydney for sure we will chose this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Maggie2670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,660
    1,559
    559
    256
    158
See reviews for
905
3,166
291
996
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,763)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location and amazing views. We chose a room overlooking the iconic Sydney Harbour. The view from our hotel room was simply stunning. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous especially the people at the reception. They made our check-in and check out really smooth. The room service was great and so was the food. Definitely going back. Its a total value for money..

Room Tip: Carry a good camera as the views are stunning...Rest is taken care of :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Shweta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved every thing about it. Great romantic night out. Food, staff and customer service was unreal. Topped off a great holiday! The room was all value for money, with dinning all close and the views awesome. Late check out is a must on any stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed at the Shangri-la and I found it to be a great experience. The service and support by all the staff was excellent. I found all of them to be very helpful, courteous and keen to assist.

They went a long to making my stay a really good experience. The Hotel has a great feel about it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a stunning view of the bridge and the opera house.
Jaw droppingly beautiful.

This alone merits a five star!

After an overnight flight arrived early. Room was not ready so had to wait for couple of hours but was given access to the gym to take a shower.

Check in was pleasant with a nice Korean staff. Who tried to be very accommodating and offered the aforementioned gym which was a nice touch.

Location is terrific as it is so close to the harbor bridge rocks area and the opera house.

The room itself was not spectacular and was showing some signs of age but was in good working condition.

Come for the view. Get the right view and the view alone makes the shangrila a great choice.

I have stayed in several other Sydney properties like the intercontinental, the westin and the Sheraton but the shangrila's view is hard to beat. Stay here for the view.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koreaninsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The leek
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for nights and the view was definitely a wow! We blew the budget on a grand deluxe harbour view room. I think you paid more for the view than the room, although have to say I have never slept as well in a hotel bed as I did this one. Hotel is lovely, stay charming and helpful. Didnt eat here but did use the Blu Bar which has the most stunning views, however difficult to see the cocktail menu as they dont put any lights on at night which I can appreciate as you wouldnt be able to appreciate the view at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Constructive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of an Australia break. Booked the Shangri La as we have stayed with this chain in so many locations. It certainly did not disappoint.
It is in a fantastic location for all of Sydney's attractions and must see locations.
The view of the harbour from the club lounge is phenomenal, with views of the opera house and bridge.
The bedrooms (stayed in a club room), are very spacious, clean and have plentiful quality amenities. Housekeeping do an excellent job and are very efficient. We also had a fantastic view of the harbour.
Breakfast really sets you up for the day, and the club benefits in the lounge of a tea time are great. Staff are really polite, friendly and helpful. Nothing is to much trouble.
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we return to Australia it would have to be the Shangri La again.
The naval fleet review was underway whilst we were there, which we hadn't known about when we booked, but this was a real bonus to enhance our Australia experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing