We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The Hotel is in a great location to see the sights of Sydney. At check in staff were very helpful and friendly. The first night we stayed in a Deluxe Opera House City View room. This room was very spacious and had a great view of the Opera House. It was a modern room with a very nice bathroom. On our second night we decided to upgrade to a Horizon Club Deluxe Opera House City View room. This room was on a higher lever with the same great view of the Opera House, although the furnishings in this room seemed a little more dated, the room was still very comfortable. The Horizon Club room gave us access to a lovely afternoon tea followed by canape's and drinks between 6 and 8pm. The view from the Horizon Club lounge was fantastic. The buffet breakfast at Club Mix was very good with an impressive range of things to choose from and the staff were very attentive and helpful.
I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. Great place to stay for a 'special occasion'!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,600
    1,529
    550
    256
    153
See reviews for
890
3,110
287
976
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,736)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights in June , had a great suite with wonderful view but the decor was beyond ugly and didn't work well ( bad bed, broken lamps ).
It was like we were entering an ugly 80's tv production.
I just thought I should stay elsewhere cos it really hurt the eye.
In need of serious renovations !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phibrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Shangri-La Hotel Sydney! The views of Sydney Harbour were awesome! The rooms were very spacious to my surprise. There's also an indoor swimming pool and also a gym. Circular Quay was just around the corner about 5-10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enyawnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
267 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Sydney, a trip that we regretfully missed some 20 years ago. After a short one hour flight from Melbourne, we took the Airport Link train to the Circular Quay station and arrived some 20 minutes later. Another short taxi ride then brought us to the Shangri-La within 4-5 minutes.

Upon arriving at slightly before noon at the Hotel, our room was not yet ready. And so we left our luggage and start to explore the rather touristy Rocks area. This is indeed a beautiful area to spend sometime shopping and admiring some older buildings, but both the shopping and restaurants around here are all very expensive indeed and to us, the area does not represent the real Sydney.

Back to the Hotel at 2pm to check in and we were assigned room 2412. At 45-50 sqm, this Deluxe Grand Harbour View room was indeed quite spacious, with a million dollar view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House, the Rocks and Circular Quay area - really impressed by the superb views here!!! Also in the room was a small slice of a Chocolate cake and a big plate of fruits - nice gestures for my Birthday celebration, thanks indeed!

The King bed was indeed huge and comfy and we even requested 'foam pillows', the closest we could get to a memory foam pillow at home. The TV in the room has many channel options, it even has 2 or 3 CCTV Chinese channels, great for us! We also swim in their indoor lap pool but the water was cloudy and tasted a little salty. Asked the pool attendant if they added salt in the pool and he said, nope, nothing was added. That would imply that the pool water was really not well maintained - yucks!

Our Sydney package had included breakfasts and this was indeed a grand affair! Imagine smoked mackerel and salmon, eggs with truffles, eggs to cook station, fresh orange/guava/other juices - yum! We also had our birthday dinner at its Caffe Mix - nice beef main dish and great value buffet styled cold fishes (only Aud$17 each, nice and cheap!).

Overall, the Hotel is located on top of the Rocks area. The climb up the Hotel is either through some steps near a huge bridge, or up two slopes (not too bad, actually). But we had found a short cut through the Four Seasons Hotel third floor. Exit the Four Season's back and the Shangri La is diagonally opposite to your right, immediately after the Quay West suites.

Overall, the view of the gorgeous Sydney Harbour is something that we would not forget for a long long time. Though the hotel is also quite nice however, it is still lacking in some very important areas - its lobby area is somewhat lackluster and understated; based on my BIG birthday, requests for an upgrade to the next level to a Premier Grand Harbour was turned down both over the email and face to face; a strict 1pm check out time; no free Wi-fi in room (lucky for us, its a Sunday that we stayed, a non trading day for stocks and shares) and a 'dirty' swimming pool.

Overall, we loved Sydney and might be back. But the next time, we would spend all our time in an apartment instead. After our one night stay here, we stayed another two more nights at the highly rated, Merition Apartments at Campbell (read my other review).

Room Tip: Pay for the Deluxe Grand Harbour view room and settle for nothing less. And never expect an upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. It may be on the expensive side, but is well worth the expenses. Check-in is a breeze and rooms are spacious, clean and comfy. Bathroom is clean and kept to a high standard. General service is excellent. Not had any problems from our stays so far.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank andos81sterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location was awesome for getting out and about around Sydney. You're within walking distance for many of the top places (Opera House, Harbor Bridge, etc) and is very close to the harbor. Hotel staff was excellent and service was impeccable. I would definitely recommend staying here the next time you're in Sydney

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

During a recent business & pleasure trip to Australia my wife and I recently stayed at the Sydney Shangri-La hotel for 4 nights in mid August 2013. While priced at upscale rates, we decided the room with a view was great value. We were glad we splurged on it. Taking in the Sydney bridge, opera house, and harbor all the way out to the ocean inlet was enchanting. Out of a 10 day trip, this hotel, sunrise & sunset views included, remains a dominant wonderful memory. The service throughout the hotel is great. Amenities fitting off the rest of the hotel, excellent room service one evening, great workout facility and pool, etc.

Room Tip: We were glad we spent on the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rstlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing