We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel home from home in Shangri la”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Feel home from home in Shangri la”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

It is wonderful hotel with great location friendly staff and lovely Resturant around.
You just need 10 to 15 mint walk to reach Pitt and George street where you can find Westfild and Mayer shopping place .
10 mints walk to a nice walking to Harbour beige and Opera house.
There is a lovely roof top restaurant and bar just 3 mints walk from hotel named Glenmore.
For room if you chose corner one it is big with a living area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,606
    1,533
    550
    256
    154
See reviews for
891
3,116
289
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,737)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I walked into my room and had one of those jaw-dropping moments when I looked out of the window - Sydney Harbour in all its glory, with the Opera House proudly standing out as the focal centrepiece. Classic!

The room was also special, plenty of space, big comfortable bed, luxuriously appointed bathroom with shower and bath, and plenty of cupboard space. I suppose it was a deluxe room, but worth the relatively small amount extra for the higher level room and view.

Also worth the extra was access to the Horizon Lounge. Just as I pulled my jaw back in place from the room view, I walked into the Lounge for afternoon tea and felt it dropping again. From there one can see Darling Harbour, the famous Bridge and the rest of the harbour to the sea, including of course the Opera House, all spread out in front of you from 30 floors up.

With Lounge access comes an excellent afternoon tea, evening drinks and canapés, and breakfast, either in the lounge or in the main dining room on the 1st floor. This is worth a considerable amount, given that a beer in the bar upstairs costs $9-11, and a glass of wine $11-15!

Talking about upstairs, the one negative is the restaurant on the 36th floor, Altitude or something like that. It is labelled Fine Dining, and I suspect they mean Fine as in very thin... It was over $50 for a very, very small helping of pork - tasty, but certainly not worth the price tag. Great view, though, but I suspect you are paying $40-odd for the view, and the rest for the food.

Apart from that, and obviously you don't have to eat in the restaurant, it was a superb stay, and I will be back!

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a room with a view, on the upper floors, and with Horizon Lounge Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

After the 24 hour flight from London we arrived at the hotel at 6.30am, long before the official check-in time. The receptionist offered a warm friendly greeting and allocated our room immediately so we could rest and freshen up without any fuss. Our first impressions were backed up by excellent service throughout our stay. We stayed in a Grand Harbour View room which was excellent and the view was stunning. The location is perfect and we would definitely choose the Shangri-la again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Executive Grand Harbour View Room on the 23rd floor and the view of Sydney harbour was amazing. Our stay coincided with the Vivid festival so we were able to enjoy the changing lights reflected on the Opera House in the comfort of the room.
A wide variety was offered for buffet breakfast at Cafe Mix.
The only disappointment was that the spa was freezing as it was not turned on.
An enjoyable weekend nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegoodadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Planned for one night, stayed two! The staff at reception and guest services were very accommodating and all staff at the hotel always made it a point to say hi. Loved the room! We did asked for our room to be changed - given we had been assigned a twin room and would've preferred a King. Up came the porter to take our bags to the new room in no time. When we got there though, we found that the previous room was in fact bigger and so we asked if we could move back :) Mitchell from reception was up with our new set of keys in no time and the porter was there not too long after.

Room Tip: Ask if it would be possible to get a room with the Harbour Bridge and Opera House views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Taariq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful outlook , fabulous breakfast and wonderful staff. Would definitely stay here again.
The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms lovely and clean.
the bed linen made you want to stay in bed all day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic location, very very comfy beds. Travelled on business and would stay here again. Was within walking distance to everything, lovely to be near the Rocks area. The rooms were very spacious, and whilst my view wasn't fantastic (overlooking highway) I was still able to see the water and great sunsets at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 647LauraB647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing