We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Could be perfect”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Being used to the chain in Asia we booked it in Sydney too, now the main difference it is the hospitality of the staff which is amazing in Asia and just ok in Sydney. we found the breakfast to be of first class , while the food in the main restaurant just ok . Rooms are fine, good location

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank genitom-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,660
    1,559
    559
    256
    158
See reviews for
905
3,166
291
996
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,763)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on business for 3 days. The views were beautiful. The beds & pillows were to die for! They have thought of everything & the level of service is fantastic. The food was average, but overall it was a fantastic place to be based in central Sydney. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misscwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

After 10 days on the Gold Coast and 2 days staying with friends in Sydney we booked in for a little us time!
Check in at the horizon club we the sun beating down on the amazing harbour view we knew the right choice had been made!
Great location for the rocks and circular quay!(a steepish hill but you don't need a Sherpa!!)
Our room was huge with lounge area as well, and the wife was more than happy with the bathroom! View over the opera house was stunning and the bonus of free wifi ment posting pictures on Facebook and making friends back home jealous was a must!!
Had the added bonus of the horizon club for afternoon tea and canapés and drinks early evening where the staff where very attentive. Had breakfast downstairs and the choice and quality was what you'd expect in a 5star hotel!!
Would we return? Hell yer!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggswalker1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's very rare that I go in writing to slate a hotel chain of the standing of Shangri-La. I've stayed with them throughout Asia and always had a good expereince.
During my stay in Sydney, they had a power outage - not there fault, but you really learn alot about a business when there is an event like this and see how they act - well, their management of this, communication to guests and follow-up was nothing short of disgusting - I had gifts arriving for my children and the hotel were made aware of this several times - for those of us that travel a lot for business, when you've been away for 2 weeks, the most important thing the day before you head back, is presents for your kids.
The hotel were unable to accept the package as they couldn't open their delivery bay and hadn't communicated with couriers to deliver to the front desk. After that problem, they still didn't manage to get the package or follow up with Australia Post despite having the tracking number. There was no follow-up, no apology and no compensation despite 48 hours without power - no alternative arrangements.
Very, very poor - if you want customer service - don't bother staying at this hotel - go somewhere else.
Andrew

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Andrew P,

Thank you for your review regarding our property. We wish to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience experienced when the Hotel lost power late last year. The safety and security of our guests and colleagues was of highest priority and we understand it was a very difficult situation for all involved.

We wish to assure you that this is not indicative of the level of service which we strive to provide and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Please do not hesitate to contact me at arpad.romandy@shangri-la.com when you next choose to stay with us, so that I may personally ensure you are well taken care of.

Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've booked at the Shangri La in the Premier Grand Harbour View Room. I hightly recommend this room as the view is exactly the same as the one showned on internet. the room is number 1813, between AUD525 and 405 the night but the view is just worth it. Just amazing!
The staff is very pleasant, only be aware that walk to get there is a little bid hard.

Room Tip: Premier Grand Habour View - Just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Did 3 nights here,hotel very well appointed and well run. Staff efficient and friendly. In The Rocks area which is great, lots of lovely restaurants around. Room was large and airy. My husband inadvertently knocked a wall lamp off the wall and the staff actually apologised to him. Would definintely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Whether on holiday or business this is the hotel to stay whilst in Sydney. Perfect location, reception staff extremely professional, bell staff deliver luggage at a rapid speed, housekeeping spotless. The room oh my the room!!! If you do decide to stay ensure you have a bridge and opera house view on a high floor, believe me the up grade is worth it. When you enter the room the curtains are closed and the view for the first time takes your breath away. Extremely comfortable bed, ample toiletries, coffee & tea making facilities and inclusive internet access. Cannot comment on bar or restaurant as we did not use them. I would highly recommend this hotel and have told my agent to advise any of her clients going to Sydney to book the SL with a bridge & opera house view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaM733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing