We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY expensive, but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (The Rocks)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Warmth of Winter
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“VERY expensive, but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri-La as a treat for a special birthday. Check-in was efficient without being at all personal. There was a wedding in the hotel on this Saturday night and most of the - numerous - staff were focussing on dealing with their arrival / check-in / parking / general confusion. Might be worth asking if there's a function on when you're staying as that's more than likely going to be noticeable to you on your stay.

The view from our room was very disappointing. I'd booked what was billed as an Opera House / City view, not the cheapest but by no means the most expensive. Unfortunately we were given a room on the lowest floor with a view of the next door office buildings and a glimpse of circular quay between them. The room itself was just lovely, as you would expect from a Shangri-La, but with that 'vista' we didn't want to stay in it.

So we repaired to the Blu Bar at the top of the hotel. Being 5pm on a Saturday evening it was heaving (wedding guests again as well as other hotel guests), but eventually quietened down and we were able to find a seat. The view from the cocktail lounge (you'll need to wait for a table) is sensational, straight out over the Bridge, Harbour & Opera House. The view from the bar is actually to the west, over Darling Harbour, Balmain and across to the Blue Mountains (on a good day!) so whilst sunset is popular, you'll be staring straight into the setting sun so can get hot.

I've been fortunate enough to stay in a number of 5* hotels in Sydney, and the Shangri-La is my favourite. I was disappointed in this visit's view, but last time I'd stayed in a Horizon Club room which has clearly spoilt me for any return visits!

Walking distance to lots of Sydney's tourist sights as well as transport to all the others - Manly, Bondi etc. it really is in a prime location and the views - if you get one - are spectacular.

Room Tip: Anything below level 20 is likely to have a next door building partial obscuring the view from an &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,098
    1,308
    477
    215
    121
See reviews for
751
2,640
254
842
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La Sydney pre-cruise in April. The location was perfect for wandering the Rocks and access to the ferries. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our Suite which wrapped around the corner of the building was nicely furnished with a beautiful bathroom. The views from every room were breathtaking. The morning breakfast was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napoli96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincentia, NSW
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Shangri-La for or 25th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. Located in The Rocks with easy access to everything.
A large clean room with awesome views of Circular Quay.
Highly recommended for that special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear IanTP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property, Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay - and Happy Anniversary!

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Chose this hotel because of its close proximity to circular key and views. Chose what I thought would be a room with a nice view over harbour and opera house. A package that included views, breakfast and parking. Arrival was good. Doormen and valet parking staff were great. Nice welcome. Reception fine. Room was a real disappointment. 2819. Corner room looking onto buildings. Room also smelt of cigarette smoke. Took the plunge and expressed my disappointment. After a bit of a wait, was moved to room 2517 which was more to my expectations. Room was good, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Big windows ( that were clean) that had padded window sills which allowed you to sit and enjoy the view over the harbour. Bathroom facilities excellent. Housekeeping very good. Breakfast was one of the best I have ever experienced. I fail to understand how anyone could be disappointed with what was on offer. If it wasn't there, the staff were more than happy to accommodate. All in all, a very nice stay. Good location, personal attention in a large hotel.
,

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms ..19
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for couple of nights and had a deluxe habour view room - the view is unbeatable with both the sydney bridge and opera house. The window ledge is an excellent venue to chill as you can just sit there and take in everything in front of you. The bed is soooo comfy with soft pillows - the ipod dock def comes in handy.

Aside from the hardware, the hotel staffs are super nice - and friendly. The bar staffs event brought the drinks and snack to our room after we realised our room view is actually better than the bar.

Pity the pool is indoor otherwise i would have spent more time there; the location is very central - just a quick 8 min walk from the pier. I will say Shangri-la is a lot better and newer than the nearby Four Season.

Sydney is an expensive city, everywhere back to the hotel is about 15-20 bucks. If you are going to have a night out, the hotel is a bit far from the bar area - although very close to The Establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Production line hotel with little to differentiate it other than it's in Sydney and close to the Harbour Bridge and walking distance of all the sights.

OK rooms but very very dirty windows (no window cleaners in Oz?) and unremarkable breakfasts.

Outrageously expensive car parking charges - a rip off!

Room Tip: Ask them to clean the windows first....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Shangrila is a lovely hotel. The harbour/opera house view rooms very nice. Yes it is expensive but the location is excellent and you are paying for said view. Stayed for 5 nights and found the service and staff excellent, the breakfast good albeit expensive. It was lovely waking up to the fantastic views each morning over the harbour.

This is a very good hotel for a luxury break with everything within walking distance - circular quay, the rocks, the bridge etc, albeit up a slight hill !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruffleBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,479 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing