We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #27 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before on business, and found it to be good for what I required. Our experience on the weekend however was different. We asked to be put in a quiet room away from lifts. We were put in a room right next to the lift. The room was OK, but nothing to write home about.

The biggest surprise was breakfast. $46 per person. The buffet was packed - on a Friday morning, and there was hardly any food left - and this was about 8.30 in the morning. My daughter hardly eats anything yet we had to pay $46 for her.

I understand this is Sydney, and yes there is a view of the harbour. Be aware though that you have two fairly steep climbs to get to this hotel from The Rocks. Might be fine for young, fit people however if you are older or have any form of disability, this is a challenge.

We got the hotel on a 'deal' for $330 per night. I really think that for that kind of money breakfast should have been included as it was a total rip off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willywonka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear willywonka09,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. We are pleased to advise that we also offer an a la carte menu, or the continental breakfast buffet for those guests who do not wish to take the full buffet breakfast, which is $42 per person. For your next reservation, may we suggest one of our packages which are inclusive of room and breakfast such as our Sydney package, or our Emerald package may suit you best if you also require parking.

Willywonka09, thank you once again for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,711
    1,581
    564
    263
    165
See reviews for
917
3,213
295
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,783)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a problem (see my other reviews) with the Hotel we were to stay in this weekend in April for my mothers birthday. So I contacted American Express who managed to find me a suite at the Shangri La in Sydney. When I am staying for family gatherings we always book a suite as it enables us to have a private meeting place and for our elderly parents to take leave of us as they please and we can continue catching up in the living room.
What follows is not the experience most will get of this hotel as there is only one room like the one we stayed in but nonetheless what follows is an indicator of the Hotel generally and will give pointers on location, service, food, ambience etc.
The Shangrila Sydney is a real find. Its tucked away in the Rocks area but on a hill so that its high which makes its harbour views even more special. Suffice to say it looks over, the Park Hyatt, Quay West, the Four Seasons, the Langham and the Marriott so the views stretch further than other hotels.
So we arrived and the lobby is nice but not outrageous like some hotels, Nicely scented though. Reception took me to guest relations as I was flagged as a special guest apparently. The lovely Carmen at Guest Relations advised that as I was celebrating my mothers birthday they were pleased to upgrade me to the Royal Suite. This was an upgrade 5 room categories above what I had booked and in fact the best suite in the Hotel on the top floor.
As I said not everyone will experience this but it was truly amazing. My apartment at home is nice but this 'Penthouse' in the sky way above Sydney Harbour was something else altogther. It was twice as big as my apartment and the furnishings were luxurious and the rooms, all 9 of them, expansive. The living room had the most extraordinary view of the harbour bridge, opera house and right through to Sydney heads. the living room had a grand piano and fire place in it but it was the view that was most amazing. We watched at dawn on Saturday as the MV Ooosterdam came through Sydney Heads and finally some time later berthed at Circular Quay. If you like watching hustle and bustle of a city from on high this is the place and not just the suite but any room facing the Harbour would give you the same view.
The bathrooms in the suite were nicely stocked with good towelling and toiletries (Bulgari in the Royal Suite and L Occitane in the normal rooms). Turn down was efficient and unobtrusive with water left and a nice touch with a bookmark left on the bed.
Room servce was good and reasonably priced including the wine list. I got a bottle of a favourite red wine of mine for only a bit more than two and a half times what you might pay in a liquor store which gven the usual mark up on room service wines is amazing. Room service food was generous and the dinner excellent. Breakfast was very good but dinner was way above most Hotel Room service.
Every staff member you met was just excellent. Caring, courteous and happy to be there for you.
I got to see a normal room during my stay and I can add that they are well appointed and luxurious and large. The bathrooms are great too in the normal rooms and the views just the same as the Royal Suite.
On checkout the staff were just as welcoming as when I checked in and I was wished a pleasant onward journey by Kerrin the duty manager.
So whilst views, decor, food can make a great hotel what makes an extraordinary one are the people who make you feel like you are staying in their home and not their workplace and that is what this extraordinary hotel specialises in. Stay there you will be amazed.

Room Tip: All rooms have great harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary and the premier harbour view rooms have to have the best views in Sydney! Great to watch the sunrise.

The room was immaculately presented except for the windows which had some smears on them.

The beds and pillows are quite soft and the a/c was quite noisy.

It's definitely worth heading up to Blu Bar on 36 in the hotel to watch the sunset. Best to get there right on 5:00pm to get the best seats as they don't take bookings and it fills up quickly.

Overall, a great place to stay which is close to everything in Sydney.



Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bhalps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall a nice hotel, good amenities, well equipped gym. Only spent one night so didn't use very much. The room itself was a disappointment. We had booked a harbour/Opera House view to start our vacation but they had interpreted that in the loosest possible way. We overlooked an elevated highway, Circular Quay and, on the far left of the window, the Opera House. None of the rest of the harbour. Not what we were expecting for the money we paid nor the description we were given. They should have said 'partial' harbour view and an 'oblique' view of the Opera House, no view of the bridge. Not very photogenic, even if the window was clean, which it wasn't. Just beware when you book a room with a view.

Room Tip: Be specific about the view you think you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent one week in early March. Good beds, quiet air conditioning, helpful staff. Wotuld stay again.Free wifi. Only negatives expensive meals, showing a bit of wear. Found restaurants for
inexpensive $14. breakfast just down the hill. Central to everything.

Room Tip: Choose a view of the opera house, 15th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here in February for my birthday with my family and friends, booked one room then another on a separate booking once we found out more people were coming, the concierge was more than happy to upgrade the smaller room so that we could be on the same floor. View was just awesome and for a one bedroom place the room was huge. Definitely recommend for anyone looking for a luxury stay in the rocks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksonAndMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a very enjoyable long weekend here in March. The property is up to the standard of the other Shangri-La properties we have stayed at and our room was meticulously clean. Staff were very helpful on what was a very busy Saturday (there were obviously a lot of weddings going on).

The only caveat is that if you don't pay for an opera house view you won't catch even a glimpse of that side of the harbour. Also the buffet breakfast cost is extortionate.

We really enjoyed a few cocktails at the busy Altitude cocktail bar as it has spectacular views.

Room Tip: We had a Darling Harbour view room on lvl 13. It's not the most attractive view. If you want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBjelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing