We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful last minute unexpected overnight stay. WOW factor plus.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #30 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Frankston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful last minute unexpected overnight stay. WOW factor plus.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I would just like to thank the management & staff at this wonderful hotel who had a room available, apparently the only one in all of Sydney, after ringing around at least 15 others, after midnight on the 22/3/13 when my Melbourne flight was returned to Sydney due to bad weather in Melbourne.
I was welcomed by very friendly staff and checked in effortlessly and off to my room almost immediately.
The room was awesome, what magnificent views from room 2715, wow!!!
Shame my phone was flat I couldn't even take a picture of those views, it was amazing at night and in the morning even better.
I just wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy them and relax in that wonderful bed a lot longer.
The bathroom was beautiful, the shower was hot and the bath looked inviting, it was wonderful, and immaculately clean.
Breakfast was included in my rate and it was amazing also, just what I needed after arriving so late and missing dinner due to being in the air for hours trying to get home. the staff of the buffet were very polite and the service was first class, a credit to you.
I would like to recommend this wonderful hotel to everyone, I had a great experience and would definately stay again, this time for longer, and to enjoy those amazing views from the room.
Well done to managment & staff, keep up the good work. :)

Room Tip: Room 2715 has AMAZING Opera House, Sydney Harbour & Circular Quay Views. I can highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,746
    1,595
    567
    268
    170
See reviews for
933
3,241
300
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,796)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I got to the hotel around 12:00,was told the room was not ready.So They asked me to walk around and called me when the room was ok.But when I was back ,the front staff was coldly telling me I had to wait until 3Pm.No explanation,no apology,simply turned you away.I have never met such unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevinzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri-la to celebrate our 1st year anniversary.
We were not dissapointed!
We booked a Horizon Club Opera House City view room and it was sensational.
The expansive views of the Opera House and Circular Quay area were breathtaking upon arrival, also as the night came upon us and as the sun rose the next morning we deliberately kept the curtains open to wake up to the sunrise over this beautiful city.

We utilized the Horizon Club lounge for complimentary drinks and canapés and enjoyed a cocktail in the Blu Bar on 36 which had a great atmosphere and excellent service.

The hotel provided us a beautiful bottle of French champagne and chocolates to honor our anniversary and we enjoyed them immensely.

Breakfast in Cafe Mix was delicious! A wide variety of hot and cold choices again backed up with efficient service for a busy period. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff we encountered at any time during our stay.

Thank you Shangrila Sydney, we highly recommend your experience to anyone;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed Recently for two nights for a Course being held at the Shangri-La.

I have stayed here previously so had no hesitation in booking. Had booked a deluxe Darling Harbour view room but was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a Horizon Club Room with a Harbour view (even more surprising as I had booked through Expedia to get an extra 10% off !).

The room was well appointed with L'Occitane toiletries , fast complimentary wifi, nice widescreen TV and an iPod/phone dock.

The course was well catered lunch and coffee breaks were very nice with a decent selection on both days.

Yes it is on the expensive side but if you want 5 star accommodation in Sydney the Shangri-La provides fair value for money with an excellent location overlooking Sydney Harbour and outstanding customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miltonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La for one night.
It was perfect and lived up to its wonderful reputation. The staff were wonderful and helpful with parking and checking us in.
The room we had was on the 22nd floor and we had views of the Opera House.
The room was well thought out. Plenty of space, comfortable bed. I particularly liked the seats near the large windows, to admire the view.
The bathroom was lovely too with lots of thoughtful amenities.
Would love to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryripe1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and had an excellent room on the 20th floor with great views of the harbour bridge and opera house. Everything was superb, beds were comfortable, the housekeeping, concierge and front desk were perfect and the cafe was great for breakfast. This is truly a 5 star property and has the best views in Sydney, especially from the Blu bar on the 36th floor. Pricy at almost 600 USD a night but to be expected for this kind of quality.

Room Tip: Have to go with a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeb52392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here but not consecutively. 2 opera house view rooms had delightful views and were very comfortable with a lovely spacious bathroom. The third night was my husband's birthday and we were upgraded to a magnificent suite with stunning views, and he was given a delicious chocolate birthday cake - thank you very much to whoever was responsible for that! The reception staff appeared to be going through the motions but the concierge and the customer relations desk were exceptionally helpful when we had some problems (nothing to do with the Shangri La).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,326 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing