We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but needs some loving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #36 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Hugo, who very pleasant and took bags straight off us, no hassle

Check in was a little chaotic and as a club member would have expected a separate check in on the club floor,which should have been prepared and ready for our arrival, key ready etc,

Cannot faulty the room or the bathroom ,they were incredibly lean, spacious and in good style

We wentbto the Club lounge for tea, which was a bit of a deserted affair, only four other guests in the lounge, but we were received by two membersnofbstaff who were rather stern and unwelcoming   After identifying ourselves as club members, we were told to go straight in. No introductions to the facilities. The Afternoon tea was a let down, there were a few dried up scones next to a bowl of artificial cream and marmalade jam (?) with a few slices of curled up sandwiches. We requested fresh. Sandwiches and after about 10 minutes we were told that they were being made but half an hour later nothing materialised.  

A couple of other guests had now joined the lounge and could not have tea as there was no water in the urn (same thing happened on day two).

The club room has an amazing view of the harbour bridge and the Sydney opera house but that's all,, the staff let it down as they had no style or class, this was equalled with the poor cafeteria style designed lounge, with chairs that were stained and grotty and dead flowers in pots, the tiled area by the food stands had crumbs and water marks from the bottom of glasses on the window sills which looked like they were not cleaned for a long time

Considering there were only four to six people in the lounge we had to clear the table by the window as the staff appeared to be reluctant to do so and even 20 minutes after the other guests had gone the two staff on reception still had not not moved or paid anybattention to the guests The sandwiches eventually arrived but were a slightly disappointing, a choice of ham &tomato or cucumber.  

The Dress code not enforced, guests were coming in in shorts and unsuitable attire and these were not addressed.

However, there were a few glimmering hopes, this included one member of staff "Joanne" who saved the day, by being attentive, remembered our drinks from the night before, was courteous and professional.

Following the advice of previous tripadviser reviews, we headed down to Cafe Mix for breakfast,which was rather nice but again the service was let down by the poor quality of staff.

The Spa was very good and the service and attention to detail was great, previous reviewrs had not rated this service too good, but our experience was very good, with attention by the staff to the needs of the client. The swimming pool however is in need of a major clean as the pool and jacuzzi were rather full of grime and the water was of poor quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clivethegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,646 - 4,652 of 6,789 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel, on the edge of The Rocks, overlooks Circular Quay/Harbour Bridge on one side and Darling Harbour on the other so a good location. While there are limited shops or stores within a block or two of the hotel, you have everything within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is up a slight hill, so the views are better, but if you have walking issues, the hill from the Rocks or George St may be a challenge.

Check in was smooth. I was given a room on the 27th floor, and the room was larger than an average hotel room, with a nice big sized marble bathroom. My room had views over the cruise terminal area of Darling Harbour, and up towards Parramatta. ( I did not go up, but apparently the view from the bar on the top floor of the hotel is supposed to be fantastic)

Buffet breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of both hot and cold foods. Some good things on the buffet which you don’t normally find eg figs and passionfruit on fruit buffet and corn fritters or scrambled eggs with truffles on the hot buffet, .

The standard and condition of the hotel was very good. The gym was a big size with all the equipment you need and it was all working. This was next to a good indoor pool.

And unusually for an Australian hotel of this standard, wifi was complimentary. Wish more Australian hotels did that!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Shangri-La Sydney is beautiful, great service and in a fantastic location. Reserve on one of the club rooms above the 30th floor with a 180 degree view from Darling Harbor all the way to Manley Beach at the Pacific Ocean. Right outside your windows you will have the close up views of the iconic Sydney Harbor Bridge and the Opera House. Dinner at Altitude on the top floor is breath taking especially watching sunset and then twilight as all the city lights come on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Shangri-la is a well run hotel but expensive. There is no question it is in one of the best locations in Sydney. All the major attractions are no more than a 15-20 minute walk away. I stayed in the Horizon Club on the 31st which is supposed to be better than rooms on the lower levels. While the room was large in size and had an amazing view of the Sydney Harbor Bridge and Opera House it was somewhat dated. I felt like I was in an early 90's time warp minus the huge flat screen tv. My friends who stayed on a lower level had one of the renovated rooms which I liked a lot better than my room. The bathroom was clean and rather spacious. Also, the one thing I did not understand is why the cleaning people came before 930AM each day. I'm not sure how many peopel are out of their room that early and I often forgot to turn on the privacy light so I would be awakened earlier than I would like. There are better hotels in Sydney in this category but if you get a reduced rate it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingHenry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed on the 28th floor in a harbour view which is stunning - this is the claim to fame for this hotel. The room comfortably included a rollaway bed for our son (lower floors have smaller rooms). The room was nicely laid out with typical hotel decor (the focus is on the view). There is an area to sit on the window to gaze over the hive of activity of the harbour etc Bed was very comfortable and on our floor there was no street noise or noise from other guests. The staff are friendly and relaxed but professional. Breakfast buffet and options were very good. On arrival we had a very nice birthday cake in the room for my husband which was delicious. Only one hitch was related to the rollaway - it wasn't there when we arrived. Added bonus is the rocks location and the restaurant and bar on level 36 - great food (it's a one hat restaurant) and again stunning views. This is an expensive hotel - it is a very good hotel but it is the view that takes it to the next level.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are larger and probably have the biggest best panorama of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familygdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a good hotel, but not a patch on its sister hotels in Asia. The room was fine, with good views across the harbour bridge and over to the opera house. The bed was comfortable and the linen good quality (although it had a couple of small rips). A few things needed attention - the shower leaked and room service was patchy (although we didn't complain when they accidentally delivered 4 bottles of champagne instead of one).

Breakfast was disappointing compared to the Shangri-la in Malaysia and Singapore. It was crowded and had the feel if a train station, and the food was not special. Check out was also chaotic- there was a long queue, which we decided to circumvent by doing the express checkout. Overall, I would recommended this hotel, but I should warn that it's expensive and not good value for money at the weekend, when it's simply too crowded to feel special.

Room Tip: Try to check in at 2pm on the dot at the weekend. Don't be late, because all the good rooms will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaileyPercival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

With out the view this hotel would not get more than 1 star. Rooms are filthy , aminities never been replenished. Watch the cleaner servicing my room , she used one rug to clean all the bathroom and the cups mirrors ... The same one that she used to clean the toilet ! I had to ask her not to do the bedroom as she was going to use the same white rug too.

Upon arrival room was so untidy and dust covered all the wooden surfaces ! One of the pillows had lipstick marks.

My wife had to go to a room were all the stag was gathering and ask them to shut up I can understand how can a meal room for staff be in the floors near the customers rooms.

I will never go there again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Earlybird_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Earlybird_eye,

Thank you for your review regarding our property. We are very disappointed to read your comments regarding our Housekeeping team. In order for us to completely follow up, we would appreciate if you would send a separate message indicating your reservation name and date.

Please rest assured however that our Housekeeping team participate in a cleaning program, which involves different coloured cloths for cleaning different areas of the room.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
4,696 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#29 of 186 in Sydney
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#45 of 186 in Sydney
4,748 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 186 in Sydney
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#15 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $220 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing