We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Location”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

In my opinion located in one of the best parts of Sydney - The Rocks.
Spacious hotel, every room i've ever stayed at has a water view
Rooms are a good size
Great pub - the Australian 1 minute walk away

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0veTravelling77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,781
    1,604
    580
    268
    175
See reviews for
951
3,270
301
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,808)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dont hesitate booking this hotel. The prices are a little expensive but worth every cent. All rooms have views but without a doubt, the Harbour View rooms are the best or anything facing the Opera House, Bridge and Circular Quay. We had a Harbour View Room 1012 that looked out to the most incredible view. In fact the windows have padded seats to make the most of the views and I spend most of my time in the room sitting there.Even though we were on the 10th floor, our views were fabulous. King Sized bed was soooo comfortable as were the pillows. Room was very spacious, with a writing desk and day bed. Bathroom spacious. Breakfast was included and again, superb. Having experienced many buffet breakfasts, this was excellent quality food. There was a wide selection of choices and the service was fabulous. The position of this hotel is at the far end of Circular Quay, next to the roads leading from the bridge but noise was not a problem at all. It is a bit of a walk up the hill to the hotel if you are walking around and there are steps, no matter what direction and street you take. It wasn't a problem for us however there may be some people this may not suit. We took a taxi several times if we were a bit further away but just visiting Circular Quay or The Rocks, is too close for a taxi. The staff in the restaurants and the Blue Bar upstairs were very friendly and excellent service. We visited the Blue Bar on 36 for a drink however our room had a better view and we only stayed for one drink.
Will certainly return when next in Sydney. Excellent.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to get a room facing the Harbour, Opera House and Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveagreathotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an amazing stay! We've stayed at numerous 5 star hotels before, but we were genuinely impressed with the staff, the amenities and the incredible views!

We live in Sydney but were staying in the city centre for a weekend and we're so gad that we chose the Shangri-La. Other friends who also stayed in the city chose nearby hotels which turned out to be much less impressive than the Shangri-La.

Our room overlooked the harbour and the city and was very nicely appointed and well maintained. The amenities are very nice and we felt quite pampered during our stay.

Room Tip: Get a Premier Grand Harbour View room if you can - it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our third time at the Shangri-La and this time we stayed for five nights in the Executive Grand Harbour View. As the name is suggesting the view is fantastic, the room is very spacious and this is the main reasons we like to stay here.
Unlike our previous stays this time we experienced some problems with the housekeeping service, which we found to be inconsistent. Already upon arrival we found that some bathroom amenities were missing. Throughout the stay we had to request several time for tea or sugar which were not replenished when servicing the room, as well as missing hand towels, face towels and complimentary bottles of water. One bottle of mineral water, taken from the minibar on the second day of the stay, was never replaced. One bathrobe was removed from the room and not replaced until after two days. One evening we left the room at 7:20 and when we returned we found the room was not turned down. It's true we had the "Do not disturb" sign on, but usually the housekeeping personnel leaves a note telling to contact them if we wanted the room to be serviced.
I love to stay here and the next time I hope to find the service back to the regular, high standard of Shangri-La.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxuryaddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend away at the Shangri La and loved every minute. From the moment we arrived we were met with friendly smiles and helpful attitudes from all the staff and our opinion of this hotel only got better when we stepped into our room. We stayed in an executive room and nothing could prepare us for the size and luxury of this room. Also the breakfast at the cafe mix is absolutely fantastic. At first I was a little hesitant due to the prices, but once the food arrived, I was completely won over! Everything was perfect and we can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: TIP: Ask for a room as high up as possible and ask for either a north or east facing room. Also i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Shangei La from 15 to 19 February. We arrived very tired from Singapore and we were too early to check in. However, as ours was a club room, we were able to use the club facilities for breakfast. We used the club room only on one occasion as we found it to be dated and a bit like a "canteen". We much preferred the breakfasting areas on the first floor for breakfast.

We chose this hotel for the views across the harbour where we could see the bridge and the opera house, it was fantastic, especially at night when everything was lit up...... Breathtaking.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and staff helpful. We found the staff on the club room floor to be very capable.

We had friends meeting for dinner, who were also hotel guests and we arranged to meet in the bar. There is no atmosphere in the bar and both times we were there we were the only ones. We did visit the top floor where there is another bar. However, we didn't manage to get served and eventually left, disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Aussie
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location, as we wanted to walk everywhere whilst exploring The Rocks etc, and also that we wanted views to encapsulate beautiful Sydney harbour. Our Premier Grand Harbour View room was perfect, and everything we had hoped for. Superb views of course, but with wide and/or cushioned window seats to perch on, and the room wonderfully spacious. Even when we weren't off exploring, we were still able to appreciate our surroundings.

We also found all levels of staffing to be friendly, helpful and very professional. We will most certainly return..!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 178 in Sydney
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 178 in Sydney
1,776 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing