We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sydney's Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #26 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sydney's Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is by far my favourite Sydney hotel. It’s where luxury meets comfortability.

See beautiful views of the harbour; eat breakfast at the largest buffet I have ever seen at Café Mix. Have dinner at Altitude, which is quite reasonably priced for the quality of the food, wine and service. Visit the top level bar for an after dinner beverage.

All this…with impeccable service.
A truly fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeriana_and_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,615
    1,536
    552
    256
    154
See reviews for
891
3,126
289
979
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here based on a recommendation from a friend and we werent let down.
The views are incredible, the bar on the top floor is fantastic, with a wide range of drinks and prices and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The Spa was a little odd - but I know the staff were new, and whilst not rude, it all felt a little stiff...
If we do Sydney again in 2013, we;ll definitely be staying here for the visit.

Room Tip: ask for harbour or bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The view and location are great but the check in process was not easy. We arrived at 7a.m, after a long international flight. We booked a king sized room for the previous night to make sure we could check in immediately. At checks in, no king room was available and when we asked for an upgrade due to our American Express package, it was denied. We were sent to a small twin room where there was a functional issue with the faucet My husband went to the front desk again to report the problem and remind them of our Am Ex upgrade request. Suddenly, the manager found us a great room overlooking the harbor. Also, our me was not on the buffet breakfast list the first morning, so again, we had to go to the front desk to clear up the issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Whatever the property is like, you can always rely on Shangri la to deliver exceptional service and this is no exception.

The rooms do feel a little dated, but the views of the the harbor and the friendly helpful staff soon help you to forget about this.

The executive lounge is well worth the upgrade

Room Tip: With 2 children we went for the suite which has amazing views and can easily host a family of 4 with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank English_Expat_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having visited various Shangri La in Asia we have gotten use to excellence. Shangri La in Sydney is good but is not excellent. Most notably the service and attention of staff falls well short. It is our first time in a Shangri La that the porters/staff do not welcome you, reception staff do not make eye contact and greet you, you cannot obtain eggs of your choice in the lounge at breakfast, you have to pour your own drinks and you have to chase down for shampoo/conditioner. On arrival we were even dismissed to some seats to wait for ? An exception to the rule was Jerry in the lounge who was the perfect host. The location is outstanding and the views of the bridge and opera house awesome.

We were here on new years eve. No party poppers, the food was cleared (and binned ?) at 9pm and no complimentary fizz for midnight. On the morning of new years eve no evidence of the special day ie bucks fizz, photo, keep sake ?? To be honest the format offered was uninspiring and again not what we have grown to inspect & enjoy from Shangri La

My advice, send staff & management to Bangkok, Beijing or Singapore to learn what Shangri La service is all about. Must admit it has made us a little nervous about paying Shangri la prices in their hotes outside Asia.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room with a full view of the bridge or the opera house. We spoke to a few guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPaul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nothing but outstanding service. Colin was always there with helpful advice, directions, suggestions and also a friendly smile. Rooms were great, we had a Darling Harbor view and the hotel also has free wi-fi. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racer_X_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Poor service let down what would have been a lovely afternoon. I had pre- booked for 4 to have the chocolate high tea. On arriving we asked if we could have 2 traditional and 2 chocolate high teas. We were advised that it wasn't possible. Fair enough, so we ordered some sandwiches and they gave us an extra serve, The waitress brought the tiered trays and they looked ( and were) delicious. Then she left without asking what teas we wanted. She served a few others and still didn't return. I called her over and asked what teas there were. " it's on the menu" she said and walked off. A full 15 minutes later I had to call her to order - 4 teas and a glass of champagne. After 10 mins the tea was delivered and she forgot the champagne.

The chocolate treats were delicious but "service" was hopeless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,152 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing