We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Top choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Top choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As a regular Sydney business visitor i have stayed at most of the best hotels in the city. Every now and then it's time for fun not business and this time we stayed for 3 nights at the Shangri La Sydney. We took a club room package that included breakfast, snacks and pre-dinner drinks. It's a good value package, the rooms are excellent and staff are some of the best you will find. We are booking a return stay soon.

Room Tip: Pick opera or bridge view on the club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridiengroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,175
    1,336
    490
    217
    123
See reviews for
776
2,697
259
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights for our anniversary. The room (2811 - that is 28 floors up, facing the harbour) was great with the most amazing view. We found we could just sit for ages watching what was going on around Sydney Harbour - it was magical. You do not need to go out for dinner. Just buy some takeaway and enjoy it in your room with the 5 star view.

The room was very quiet and spacious and the bed really comfortable with some sort of soft layer on top. A couple of days before we arrived we asked what could they do for us considering it was our anniversary (wrong I know!) but they were so accommodating. They gave us a high level room, late checkout of 1pm, champagne and really nice chocolates. It's worth asking! So much better than The Darling at Pyrmont who said no to everything - ie no deal at all.

Breakfast was perfect, even the coffee was good which is unusual in a lot of these hotels. One morning we spent nearly 2 hours at breakfast!

Service was impeccable. As I said, nothing was ever a problem. All service was with a smile and I must compliment all the staff we dealt with.

For those who don't know Sydney, the Shangri La is very close to the Rocks area that often has great markets on a Sunday. The new museum of contemporary art was good and is close by. We walked to the Star Casino. If you like walking it isn't really too far. We also walked to Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay. It saves you taxi money!

I highly recommend this 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluvtravel1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our room,2209,enjoyed lovely views over the harbour bridge and towards the Opera house.The room size was generous and the marble bathroom was delightful.The only disappointment came when we were enjoying a drink in the bar on the 36th floor and inadvertently and unknowingly entered a reserved seating area.We were treated rudely and made to feel embarrassed by not one but two staff members.
However,all other staff members were most friendly,professional and very helpful.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay was cut short by a power outage at 11:30pm on 7 Nov.. A few hours later, guests  were advised by loud speaker that the power was out - there was no reason, no estimated fix time and no information about where to find torches, how to use lifts erc. 
The next  morning, there was still no power, no hot water, however a note had been put under doors to advise the power was still
out - still no further information. 
Upon returning home from work at 7:30pm that evening, there was still no power and the foyer was chaotic. We were told we would have to pack our bags and transfer to another hotel. We packed our bags with no thought from staff that we might need a torch so we rang reception and they told us there was (oh they forgot) one in the bedside table). Another breach of safety. 
We were told they had made a booking at the Sofitel, however upon arrival, the Sofitel did not know who we were and only had one might free (yet we needed two nights). We called the Shanghri and they then referred us to the Grace Hotel. 
During that day we never received any phone call from the Shangi la to tell us we would have ti transfer to a new hotel. When queried about shy they didn't call us, they said they had too many quests to phone. 
In faxt they have they contacted us since we left 2 nights ago. It will be interesting ti see what they charge us for. 
In summary,  the Shamgri are totally inept at  dealing with an emergency situation and this reeds to be investigated, if this had of been a fire or terrorist threat I think there would have been lives lost. The staff wee let down by their management and the lack of a plan. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goddard4captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Goddard4captain,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience last week with us at Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney. On behalf of the hotel and personally, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the power outage at our hotel on the 8 November.

We understand the communication and instruction was not nearly as effective as we intended, the amount of guest requests and relocations was far higher than we have experienced before. Unfortunately the power outage itself was out of our control and our priority was the safety and security of all our guests. We appreciate your feedback in relation to our guest communication and have taken these comments on board by further streamlining our emergency procedures. We will also be implementing more effective training to all Shangri-La colleagues to advise guests where the safety torch is located in our guest rooms.

We would further like to apologise the alternative booking we arranged was not suitable and that this transition was not communicated effectively. Please contact me directly regarding your second night's accommodation and we can discuss further.

We hope that you will allow us to restore your faith and confidence in our service and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Splashing out for a friends wedding we stayed 4 nights at the Shangri-La and had a lovely stay. Very opulently fitted out rooms and amazingy comfortable beds. Our stay was made even more special when we asked to be moved to a higher floor and were upgraded to a room overlooking the harbour and bridge- views were spectacular. Another highlight of the stay were cocktails in the Blu Bar on the 36th floor, the best views of the harbour through floor to ceiling glass windows. The bar staff are extremely professional- whipping up drinkable works of art! Highly recommend for that special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour and Bridge view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderinggourmetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night, having booked with a reduced rate through the entertainment book.

We had a booked a cheaper room overlooking Darling Harbour, but on arrival were advised that we had been upgraded to a corner room overlooking the Opera House on a higher floor.

The room was fantastic! Very clean and a really large suite. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

We were walking distance to the restaurants in the Rocks and would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripp_Hazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Shangri-La is a great hotel. My room was large and beautiful, with a gorgeous marble bathroom. Also, the most amazing shower head I've ever experienced! The room is very functional, with many electrical outlets that are built to handle US style plugs (I didn't need my US to Australian adapters here). Only downside to the room was the bed: it was a little soft (I prefer a firm mattress). Location next to The Rocks was awesome, and is an easy walk to the botanical garden and the opera house. Staff is very professional, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was expensive but excellent, with many choices (the fresh fruit was especially good). Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,561 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,425 reviews
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing