We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had the time of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I stay there with my daughters for 4 night the Rooms have breathtaking views of the Sydeney Opera House and the brige. This is what you need in Sydney. location was great. walk around the Rocks and Sydney Harbor. Beautifully decorated rooms and comfortable beds, fantastic buffet breakfasts. And in the afternoon we enjoy our time in the club house the stuff was so friendly and helpful I had the most beutifull time ever

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianasalhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,620 - 4,626 of 6,524 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner booked this venue as a treat for us on a friday night. We stayed in room 1809 and when he opened the door for me I thought it wonderful. The room was spacious and clean. The views, (check photos) were almost as good as the room. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the bathroom (especially the shower) was fit for royalty. We don't splurge like this often, but when we do we are nervous about being let down. When I read some reviews on trip advisor I was a bit nervous but then again, there are some people who will NEVER be pleased. We had drinks upstairs and although pricey, offered a great view of the western side of the harbour bridge. We went out for dinner but should have dined in. When we did return for dinner we were pleasantly surprised to find housekeeping had been in to turn down the bed, clean the bathroom and do little special touches to our room. House keeping staff are amazing. Like invisible elves. The rooms are extremely quiet. Ours could look down to the Cahill expressway. NO NOISE. The curtains when closed give total darkness for that perfect sleep. It's soooo hard to close them though. You lose the view, I would stay here for a week if I could. When we checked out, we wanted to spend the day in the city before going home. No problem. We could book the bags in to the luggage room until we were ready to pick them up. The only thing I would change is parking. I would have driven in except for the cost of overnight parking. I still believe parking should be included in the price of any hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1809, a Deluxe Grand Harbour room. I requested a higher up floor with a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneySuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

In September I booked a 2-night stay at this hotel. The price was AUD500 per night for a stay during high season (end of December). My credit card issuer recently updated the expiration date of the credit card I'd used to make the booking. Last night I attempted to edit my reservation simply to reflect the new expiration date (in the event this caused a problem for the hotel). The email from Shangri-La to confirm the change reflected a price of AUD950 per night -- nearly double the price of the original booking! I emailed the hotel immediately in an attempt to rectify this -- and, 18 hours later, I have yet to receive a response. I also called Shangri-La's central reservations number this afternoon and was told that I should allow more time for a response... What most troubles me about this experience is that there is NOTHING on Shangri-La's reservations website to indicate that making a minor change to personal/payment details will result in a price increase. Had that been made clear, I'd have attempted to communicate the expiration date change in some other way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
4  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArpadRomandy, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear J C,

Thank you for alerting us to the concern you have with your booking. This indeed does sound like a glitch in our reservation system and for this we are truly sorry. Please contact me with your reservation details so that we may correct your booking immediately.

Once again, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced due to this system error and we look forward to welcoming you to the Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney in December.

Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at this hotel for 2 nights after our wedding reception.
We stayed in a room facing Darling Harbour from our bedroom and bathroom ,Opera House and Harbour Bridge from the lounge. The views talk for itself. Absolutely superb. Bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept.
Breakfast were so peaceful comparing other 5 stars hotel in the Cbd. Drinks and canapes at Horizon club was a lovely treat, great variety and Comfortable environment. All staff starting from the porter, concierge, reception, housekeeping and restaurant were very friendly and efficient.
Shangri-la Sydney, we are definitely coming back to have another memorable stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here one night for a special treat,as we did the sydney harbour night bridge climb,which is a few minutes from the hotel.
The views are really breathtaking.
The room spotless,staff bend over backwards to please you.
Location is great .
Breakfast is very very good with a million things to choose from.
The bar is very good with again,the best views
The club lounge is great to have cake and coffee etc,and again the views are special and you cant ever get sick of looking out the window..
Very much loved the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camdenmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a celebration for her special birthday. We were impressed with the service given by all the staff from check in to check out. Our room, a Harbour View King Room, had a great view overlooking the bridge and opera house, was really comfortable and the king bed was fantastic. The room was spacious and the "marble" bathroom especially luxurious with all the accompaniments that you would expect. We partook of cocktails in the Vue Bar on 2 nights and dined in the "Altitude" Restaurant on our final night and really enjoyed the quality of the food and the ambiance (but how wouldn't you with a view like it has from 36th floor). The choice at breakfast was immense and we didn't have to ask for anything as the staff were constantly asking if we wanted top ups of coffee and tea. We couldn't fault anything. Overall a great place to stay and even though the average "punter" may say it is a little bit pricey if you want to treat a loved one, and yourself, this is the place to spoil yourselves. I recommend this hotel highly for that special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocketMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel and made our stay in Sydney. From the room with a view both of the Opera House and the Bridge to the Concierge Alex who was right on with small elegant- non touristy restaurants and suggestions to Lo in Guest Relations, everyone was welcoming, so knowledgeable and lovely. The hotel is in the Rocks, close to the Circular Quay and the historic section - a perfect location. the pool is wonderful as is the spa and gym - the best in the City, according to a resident I spoke to in the jacuzzi. And finally, it has such a peaceful ambiance from the moment you step inside- a great place to return to after a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Center of the hotel with the great view mentioned above. Call the hotel on Sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 179 in Sydney
1,836 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $181 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing