We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, Great location but not 5 star service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #32 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in the Shangri-La for 4 nights. We got a great deal, and it was very good value for money. Its location is excellent. We had a Sydney Opera House view which was great apart from the crane that was between us and it. The room itself was lovely and the bath was great. The one fault i'd have with the hotel is that the service wasn't what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff were nice but in comparison to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in it was just lacking something. Also as we were checking out we were told there was a restaurant charge of over 250 ausd to our room. They did not charge us but they did say they would have to leave our account open until it was resolved. We did get an email to say that this had been a mistake but I was not happy about the fact it was left like that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilikechocolate25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,471)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,172 - 5,178 of 6,471 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

Had the pleasure of going to Sydney to see Sting at the Opera House in February and the luck to be able to go to The Shangri La. I stayed here with my Mum in a Deluxe Grand Harbour View Room and got exactly what I paid for, but be warned it's not cheap. We had fantastic views out of our window of both the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House.
I spent most of my time sat on the window seat with a glass of wine watching all the activity on the Quays.
It is worth booking with breakfast as nothing is cheap in Sydney and the breakfasts were plentyful.
We also got room service one night after a very hot day up in the mountains and it was lovely as good as anything you would get in a restaurant.
The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.
The spa is fantastic, we had a lovely massage and floated out afterwards.
A warning for the faint hearted the walk back from the Harbour up to the Hotel is not an easy one, it's an uphill climb with plenty of steps thrown in for good measure and on a 41 degree day it was not an easy task especially with a Mum visiting from England who is used to temperatures in the minus's in February. Having said that there are many different walks back to the Hotel and some with some lovely surprises, like the archeological dig that explains exactly what was found there. And the delightful hidden pubs and restaurants en route.

Room Tip: Definately request a Deluxe Harbour View we were somewhere between the 14th and 18th floor cannot re...
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indecisive123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I LOVED this hotel!
I stay in Sydney frequently and I try and stay at different hotels, but admit I have some faves. This is now top of the list.
The service was amazing, the room was lovely, the bed was very comfortable the bathroom took my breath away, all round it was excellent.
I also had drink in the bar and dinner at the resturant, everything was top class and staff everywhere were superb, I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochellesutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a great time here. The staff were all efficient, courteous and very helpful. Our room was large and had a great view and was very well looked after by house-keeping. The pool and gym were also large and well looked after.

Cocktails on the 36th floor as the sun set over Sydney were spectacular.

The only weak area was the food in the first floor restaurant where both the food and the service coudl be improved. The hotel is also up a hill from George Street so its location may not suit everyone. However, we loved it and hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DansanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for my birthday. We have stayed in most 5 star hotels in Sydney and I must say we were disappointed.
We selected a Horizon Opera City View Room for this special occasion and were very happy with the canapes and drinks provided in the club lounge. The view was beautiful.
Unfortunately the same could not be said for our arrival or room...

On arrival I have never been to a 5 star hotel where you are not met by the concierge to help with bags, we had to lug out bags out of the taxi ourselves and then try and figure out how to get to the club room check in.
This was not the welcome we expected.
If looking at the website you will notice the view they show to advertise this room is a very clear one toward the opera house with the city off to one side. The only way we were able to see the opera house from our room was by sitting in the furthest corner of the window sill. Not exactly what we thought we had paid for.
The other unfortunate and totally unacceptable element of our stay was when I took a knife to the fruit supplied in our room only to discover the apple was completely ROTTEN inside!! It smelt absolutely horrible. I am so glad I had not chosen to bite into this!
When I then picked this up off the tray the base of the apple was completely rotten through and liquid had built up suggesting it had been there for a VERY long time.

While the staff in the horizon club are lovely and some rooms do have fantastic views the lack of service on arrival, false advertising together with rotten fruit in their most expensive club rooms is unacceptable.

I would choose to stay at the Observatory or even the Sheraton on the park over this place in a heartbeat. Although these places are not blessed with the same views, the amazing staff and well described rooms are far better value.

Room Tip: Dont be decieved by images online, you would be better booking a cheap harbour view room over the ex...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeckFSiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyBunting, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Dear becky-boo,

Thank you for your review regarding our property, Shangri-La Hotel,Sydney.

We wish to sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced in regards to your arrival at the Hotel, quality of your fruit amenity and also the disappointment you felt in regards to your room view.

We are however pleased to note that you enjoyed your experience in the Horizon Club and will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team.

Please contact me directly so that we may address the issues concerned on (02) 9250 6179, or amy.bunting@shangr-la.com.

Kind regards,

Amy Bunting
Quality Improvement Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have stayed here a few times over the past year or so - typically when the prices at my regular hotel is too high, or availability limited. The location is in the CBD, but down the Harbour end abutting the southern end of the harbour bridge (although not noisy) - so a 5 to 15 min walk to any business offices. The location is great if you want to explore the Rocks or the harbour - the Bridge Climb base is very close, and Circular Quay down the hill. The check-in process is one of the best I have experienced in Sydney - very professional and quick. The rooms can be a little drab and tired - the Asian influence in attempting to be 'formal' shows through. That said, they are large and the views can be quite spectacular. Internet is good and the room is well laid out with good facilities. The breakfast restaurant is fine - nothing special but efficient and with sufficient range for most. The views from the business lounge are great and the food quite good (didn't try breakfast there), but it can get crowded. The top floor restaurant lounge is excellent. The highlight here for me was the service - rooms let the place down a little, and I must admit (whilst a regular visitor to Sydney) the location often inspires me to have a walk around.

Room Tip: Just ask for a view - there are so few rooms without them
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20clicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in the Horizon Club levels. The suite was great, although for a suite of this type the lounge should be comfortable not like sitting in a church pew. The bed was great as were the pillows. We had room service for dinner, although the food was great, $37.00 plus service for a burger is a bit much!!!!!
We do enjoy our stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weenjoyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,422 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,812 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $208 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing