We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Ranked #32 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed for a break for 4 nights in July 2011 on the Horizon Club levels. The rooms are larger than average and very comfortable, great beds and a huge range of amenities which have been thoughtfully selected...eg stationery supplies in the desk. Proper plunger coffee is provided at no extra charge, likewise bath salts...stuff you have to pay for in other five star chains.

The Horizon Club is definitely worth the extra money. A full breakfast with a full selection of complimentary papers, spectacular view and no queue!

We stayed during the worst weather in 30 years in Sydney and it was cold. Our heating appeared to be not working and within 15 minutes of reporting it, it was fixed. The repair man came back an hour later to check it, followed up by a phone call and then later a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine. That in my mind is faultless service.

I think the Shangri La exemplifies what a five star chain hotel should be. I have stayed in many of their competitors and this hotel beats them all in its all round product delivery.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andthenthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,471)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,192 - 5,198 of 6,471 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

The view of the Harbour and Opera House were absolutely fantastic. We loved everything about this hotel, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was top notch. The valet were extremely helpful and had our car ready when requested. This hotel was also within walking distance to the Harbour, Aquarium and Botanic Gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lem0nade99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed for a weekend. If it fits in the budget book a harbour view or Opera house view room as they have the best views and also in the Horizon Club as these are all located on the highest floors and take advantage of the views of Sydney Harbour.

Upon check in at the Horizon Club at approximately 4.00pm we had to wait close to forty-five minute wait for our room to be available. This was the only issue we had and we were well looked after in the Horizon Club during that time.

Staff were friendly and attentive and went out of their way to assist and everything went smoothly. We ate in the Altitude restaurant (see separate review) and did not use the other facilities. Wireless internet is available for no charge throughout the hotel.

The hotel is well located in the Rocks area and close by to a large number of tourist sites. Although rates are quite high, the staff provide good service and the hotel is well located with comfortable and well furnished rooms.

Room Tip: Try for a Horizon Club Harbour View or Opera House view if it fits in the budget as they are on the...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brettnwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed here for two nights July 8th and 9th. I took advantage of the private driver to and from the airport which was just a little more expensive than taking a cab. For service, I would give this hotel my highest recommendation. I booked the Horizon Grand Harbour View Room. I was met at the door by Lo, I think her name was, who was very pleasant and I was told that I was being upgraded. Well, they didn't have any rooms left that were nicer than what I have booked, but there was a bottle of sparkling wine in my room and there was a significant discount off the original booking price. My room was on the 34th floor and had a wonderful view of both the harbour bridge and the Sydney Opera House. The windows were filthy but there was a card explaining that the windows were currently being cleaned. Fair enough. I loved the room itself, especially the window seat and the stunning view. Totally worth the splurge! I would concur with previous reviews that recommend going for the Horizon Club room. Good buffet breakfast and pre-dinner canapes as well. Location is easily accessible to the CBD, the Rocks and Circular Quay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

If you get the chance get a higher floor harbour view room not a low floor motorway toll booth room!
Room servicing is a little random and I had to ask housekeeping to service my room at 10 pm!
Good helpful and charming reception and concierge staff.
Overpriced and pretentious restaurant but usual for a so called 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montysbestmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed here for one night on 15th July. It was intended as a relaxation retreat as we left the kids at home and headed for a night out on the town. We had paid a bit extra and got the Horizon Club package and it didn't disappoint. Whilst we checked in at the exclusive lounge and enjoyed a quiet beverage our bags had been taken to our room and sorted. It was a great feeling of welcome we got from every staff member that made it very special. The pool and health club are fantastic. We went back up to the Club lounge again in the early evening for some drinks and canapes it was fantastic!
The only disappointing aspect was the breakfast at Cafe Mix. we did have a choice to have breakfast at either the Club Lounge (continental breakfast) or Cafe Mix (full hot breakfast). We chose the latter and regretted it. We'd stayed at other shangri La's in our travels and always found their buffets to be full of variety. Not this one though! very few choices and the egg station is both very poorly designed and understaffed. There were over a dozen people congregating in the area waiting for their orders and it was generally very difficult to move in and out of that area. By the time the eggs were made everything else in the plate was cold! Maybe the hotel can look at having this fixed.

Everything else about the place was perfect and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone from the business traveller, to couples looking fr a romantic getaway or even holidaying families with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sporthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Had a weekend stay at a very heavily booked Shangri-La Sydney at a Horizon Club Opera House City View Room. Check-in was fine and they noted that my Jade membership was not in the system. Received various other extras from booking through Amex Fine Hotels & Resorts, except the room upgrade as they were fully booked. No hassle with that as I still believe you cannot rely on getting the upgrade.

Biggest disappointment was the view from the room. Although it is described as an "Opera House City View", certainly our view was of the city and you needed to get right up to the window to see the Opera House to the left. I have to say the room description is a bit mis-leading - think they should swap the name around. If you want the harbour view, book a Grand Harbour View Room. The room itself was fine - stock standard five star style hotel fittings - very inoffensive. The bathroom is a great size with a separate bath and shower and lovely L'Occitane toiletries. The bed itself was very comfortable and resulted in a great night's sleep.

The Horizon Club has a fantastic view but is looking a little bland and tired. Food offering at breakfast was adequate for a club flooe but the scrambled eggs were very powdery. Coffee was decent and good attention from the staff. Also visited during afternoon tea and was presented with a lacklustre selection of food which half way through started to look a little sparse! Thankfully the evening cocktails and canapes is a whole different experience. There is a great range of red and white wines on offer as well as spirits. The food is pretty good and refreshed often. The staff were wonderful and engaging making sure that drinks were topped up.

We did try "The Mix" on level 1 for breakfast and it was very busy and crowded. Although a wider selection than the Club, it was not that different. I felt a bit sorry for the egg chef who was overrun with orders - perhaps two should be there on a busy weekend. It was a bit too noisy for us not helped by the fact it was school holidays.

Also had dinner at Altitude 36 which was a delight. They have a four or seven course dinner menu on the weekends which is good value and more than enough food. There is also a great wine list. The service was both attentive whilst being unobtrusive and the view was once again, wonderful.

Having stayed at other Shangri-La properties I was incredibly underwhelmed by the general ambiance of the hotel and some of the attitude of the staff. They did not handle a couple of the other issues we faced very well and there was no attempt at service recovery, so a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,422 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,812 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Sydney

Address: 176 Cumberland Street,The Rocks | Sydney 2000, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#17 Family Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $208 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney is perfectly positioned between the iconic Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge in the historic Rocks district. Within walking distance of the city's major shopping venues and tourist attractions, the hotel offers panoramic views of Sydney Harbour. A wide selection of dining options including Australian cuisine at award winning Altitude Restaurant, Mix and Grill in the all day dining restaurant Café Mix and fabulous cocktails at the glamorous Blu Bar on 36. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Sydney
Shangri La Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing