We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morgans Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I found this place on wotif and thought I would give it a try. Well it's now going to become my hotel for Sydney for my monthly work visits. It's a cosy little boutique/no-fuss hotel close to the city with great rooms and has plenty of cool eateries within 50 feet. The whole place is perfect the business traveler who just wants a big room, a comfy bed and a kitchenette to make a cup of coffee. If you are sick of the big hotel standard room this is a worthy alternative. It's close to some great parts of Sydney for eating and drinking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewCrawford1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    30
    18
    12
See reviews for
22
63
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A nice small hotel that has an excellent staff. The rooms are not real large but are clean and practical.The location is excellent and the area is great. Many restaurants, good public transportation, and a nice area to walk. Good value for the money. Not the most fancy hotel but you will be pleased with the choice.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Morgan's in March. We picked a recently renovated room from the hotel's website, so that we knew we were getting something slick, like the photos.

The room HAD been recently renovated, looked just like the photos... but it appears it's all been done on the cheap perhaps, doing what they could with the little space and weird shaped rooms. The door to the cupboard didn't quite fit, the shower head was falling out of the roof (!!) and the bathroom was a little pokey considering it was a boutique hotel.

The large room in our 1 bedroom apartment was wasted space - no table to sit at..! And they obviously didn't want us to cook (we didn't anyway) in the new kitchenette as there were no pans. What a waste of a lovely new kitchette..!

We arrived late in the night and we'd already tee'd up with Jozef to collect the keys from the safe near the door as the reception isn't manned 24 hours. All in all, great service from all the staff on the front desk and in e-mail corresspondence. Rooms were always tidy and clean after we returned to our room in the afternoon. True - the WiFi won't reach beyond the 1st or second floors.

Security wise, the keycard access was great if people are concerned about this hotel being near the Cross. It's located far enough away from the night life (Kings Cross and Darlinghurst Road) that we couldn't hear a thing from our 4th floor room, on the front of the building.

Awesome location. Victoria Street is lined with awesome places to eat and drink. Definitely try Kika for tapas, Tigerbakers for breakfast and Lil Darlin' for snobby people and cocktails..! Walking distance to Oxford Street and a reasonable stroll to Paddington Markets on a Saturday.

All in all, a nice stay - but needs some work. I would stay here again, and definitely in the area, as we noticed the location of the Altmont, Kirketon, Diamant... all hotels I'd considered staying at too.

PS - Great view on the roof across to the Bridge :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors are probably better for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I was on a business trip in Sydney and was able to extend my stay and take some vacation days. Staying in a super fancy Marriot downtown by the water was not an option due to affordability constraints.

I searched and found a great rate on wotif.com for this hotel. I now see that TA and Expedia etc. have included this hotel.

Bottom line is the location was nice and close to the "hip" area of Kings cross where a train station was. I save almost $150 a night and this place was very clean with Kitchenette, etc.

Being from the U.S. Seattle WA area I felt right at home in this Darlinghurst neighborhood. Cheers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supernova72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The location is perfect and the staff are friendly and efficient.

The room was clean though a little small and the fittings were quite dated. There is wifi on the ground floor but it doesn't work in the rooms - at least not on the third floor.

But for the price this is excellent accommodation in one of the best spots in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickSydney95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonJames2050
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The hotel is comfortable and clean. The staff are very cheerful and helpful. WIFI good on 2nd floor. The small kitchen was useful with Australia being so expensive for us Brits. There are many restaurants near. There is a Coles supermarket near. Kings Cross trains nearby. Bus to Harbour nearby. Lovely roof garden.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We arrived and were more than pleased with our top floor studio with a roof top garden on the same floor. The perfect location for a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.Preferably 4. has views and the roof top graden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metroguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#146 of 177 in Sydney
171 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#105 of 177 in Sydney
30 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#116 of 177 in Sydney
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#95 of 177 in Sydney
360 reviews
Kings Cross
Annam Apartments
Annam Apartments
#106 of 177 in Sydney
136 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 177 in Sydney
4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgans Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans Boutique Hotel

Property: Morgans Boutique Hotel
Address: 304 Victoria St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Morgans of Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgans Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star self rated Boutique Hotel in Victoria Street (Darlinghurst) surrounded by cafes and restaurants. Twenty sevens Apartments each comes with a kitchen, ensuite bathroom, free-to-air LCD TV, air/cond, telephone with direct number and video intercom security.WiFi internet access is available in the lobby area only and it is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Morgans Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Of Sydney Hotel Sydney
Morgans Hotel Sydney
Sydney Morgans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing