We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property, but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #148 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Older property, but good location”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Good location right next to electric rail and within walking distance to the Opera House, Darling Harbour, and the ferry terminal. Rooms were dated, but clean. Breakfast was good. Only 1 elevator, which was a definite downside, as there were no stairs you could walk up (only down). Internet is wired and very expensive and rooms are small. Overall ok stay with no problems, but would probably look to stay elsewhere if I ever return to Sydney.

Room Tip: You should be able to connect to the free wireless internet from the Haymarket Library if your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayak430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    124
    177
    90
    83
See reviews for
85
148
59
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked this hotel based on it's location and price, being handy to Central Station (caught train from Wollongong) and the few minutes walk into Chinatown. We were allocated a quiet room away from the main street which was really appreciated. There was only one pillow allocated for each guest but on request another one each was supplied. Staff were friendly enough. Buffet breakfast was good value and if booked the night before a $5 discount applied. We did not expect anything more for a 3.5 star hotel and it was fine for the weekend. We would recommend this hotel for an inexpensive stay in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very central to all facilities including transport. Room good but basic as expected. Staff very helpful. Book-in and book-out process excellent. House-keeping excellent. Recommended for budget minded people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 440Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Not good value for money. Very old and tired, uncomfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom very small. Not worth the trouble. Good location however. Right next to the Capitol Theatre, short walk to china town and the markets.

Room Tip: no tips, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

i was looking around for a last min booking for cebit australia as i was visiting for a trade show room was good clean and i did look under the beds tables and air vents very good area just a few mins walk to china town take the green bus around town and close to the train station close to nice food in china town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teckhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Breakfast really good, better than we expected for the price paid. Room was big enough with a double bed, although a tad on the firm side and only one extra pillow, had a bonus balcony overlooking the Capitol Square kids amusement playground. Bathroom was very average, with soap in dispensers on the wall (pet hate), tissues, face washers, shower cap and hair tie, broken toilet seat unfortunately. We only stayed one night so didn't tell them until we left. No mini bar, didn't care, tea and coffee, plenty of power points, bedside lights that worked, quiet air con. Carpets in the common areas well worn. Overall good value for little expense, clean, conveniently located near China Town. Parking next door for reasonable cost, although we were warned was not guaranteed available. One word of advise, don't leave your bag under the table at your feet in the local pubs, a friends was taken from under our noses :-(

Room Tip: Balcony room over kids indoor amusement park was slightly bigger than friends room with no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Capitol Square Hotel when we went to Sydney to see the Lion King last weekend. It is the best location, right next door to the theatre, and love being near Chinatown. Just a walk away from great food, paddy's markets and Central station. Central station is a great station to be near to get to all the places you need to go. The staff were very friendly here, especially the Duty Manager. The room was basic but fine for just a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kase87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#97 of 177 in Sydney
960 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 177 in Sydney
2,330 reviews
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#104 of 177 in Sydney
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing