We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs Galore! Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #149 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs Galore! Never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our rooms felt yucky as soon as we checked in. Old and scabby . I had not sat on the bed for 2 mins and a bed bug crawled on me although at the time I didn't know what it was. The room was Crawling with bed bugs and now of course we are covered in bites (including my 1 & 2 year olds). Pay extra and go somewhere else. We were in Room 235.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I am saddened to hear of this incident. I wish you would had informed us of this while you were at the hotel, so we could deal with it promptly and to your liking. This incident has been dealt with seriously and I can assure you that for your future stay with us, I will inspect the room myself before your arrival. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    120
    175
    89
    82
See reviews for
84
146
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel was advertised as a budget hotel and that's what it basically is (compared to other hotels in the area or closer to the harbour). The room we stayed in was dated and some of the fittings needed attention, but it had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, room clean and the staff were helpful. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel was located close to Darling Harbour. It's about a 10-15 min walk to Darling Point/Darling Harbour and is situation close to Chinatown and lots of reasonably priced restaurants. As the hotel is located near a busy main road, we could hear a lot of traffic from our room. If you think this will bother you, might be a good idea to ask for a room that is not facing the road.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room that is not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great you have enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we are currently undergoing some soft refurbishment throughout the hotel. I certainly do hope that you will book with us for your next trip to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I had to book the the Capitol Square hotel in an emergency when I found myself with nowhere to stay in Sydney. It was cheap so I snapped it up and then read reviews. This got me worried.
But when I arrived the hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms need updating a little but mine was certainly clean and well made up. The maid service was polite and efficient. The TV, fridge, kettle and air conditioning came in very handy. And the location was excellent, very central and close to the train station. It's certainly not fancy but for everything it did the job perfectly without ruining my budget.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank KeiraJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel. It is great that you have found Capitol Square Hotel suitable for your purposes in Sydney. We pride in being centrally located and being well priced. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

had a family room booked recieved a lesser room at higher rate with camp bed as extra. no room to move. sheets had not been changed no extra pillows .beds werent made properly no guide to tv or whats on in sydney lift only at reception could not find any fire exits hardly legal small emergency map on back of door of no help.very over pricedwhen we coplained no one seemed to want to know english... never again plenty of other good places to stay even in the same street.

Room Tip: go up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your time posting a review. I am saddened to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. It is a practice here at the hotel that all linen are changed on a daily basis and any extra amenities needed are a phone call away. I apologise if this was not the case during your stay. I have taken your comments seriously and will review the department's practice and procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Haymarket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Capitol Square Hotel if a perfect hotel for country people like ourselves who travelled to Sydney by train. Being a short walk to central station as well as Darling Harbour and China town, we were delighted with the location.
The Hotel itself was quiet, clean and offered the things that makes travelling easier, e.g hair dryer, tea and coffee making, plus a great breakfast. The staff were very polite and friendly. All in all, a home away from home. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
Would like to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to Sydney, Happy for you to contact me directly for your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellys Plains
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

An ideal central location (unfortunately my only positive) for this incredibly overpriced motel with very uncomfortable beds, fairly grotty bathroom and staff with no knowledge of the local transportation system. Buffet breakfast was very plain and not the friendliest service. Other than the location being good for those wishing to walk I would not recommend it. Very very expensive for what you get . incredibly overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your time in posting a review.
We constantly strive to be competitively priced and reflect value to our customers.
During your stay, it seems that it could have been during a busy period, where we did not have enough rooms for the demand present at the time. For your next trip to Sydney, please do not refrain from contacting me directly, as so I can look after your booking personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#96 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#106 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing