We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs Galore! Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #157 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our rooms felt yucky as soon as we checked in. Old and scabby . I had not sat on the bed for 2 mins and a bed bug crawled on me although at the time I didn't know what it was. The room was Crawling with bed bugs and now of course we are covered in bites (including my 1 & 2 year olds). Pay extra and go somewhere else. We were in Room 235.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

I am saddened to hear of this incident. I wish you would had informed us of this while you were at the hotel, so we could deal with it promptly and to your liking. This incident has been dealt with seriously and I can assure you that for your future stay with us, I will inspect the room myself before your arrival. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 515 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel was advertised as a budget hotel and that's what it basically is (compared to other hotels in the area or closer to the harbour). The room we stayed in was dated and some of the fittings needed attention, but it had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, room clean and the staff were helpful. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel was located close to Darling Harbour. It's about a 10-15 min walk to Darling Point/Darling Harbour and is situation close to Chinatown and lots of reasonably priced restaurants. As the hotel is located near a busy main road, we could hear a lot of traffic from our room. If you think this will bother you, might be a good idea to ask for a room that is not facing the road.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room that is not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is great you have enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to know that we are currently undergoing some soft refurbishment throughout the hotel. I certainly do hope that you will book with us for your next trip to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I had to book the the Capitol Square hotel in an emergency when I found myself with nowhere to stay in Sydney. It was cheap so I snapped it up and then read reviews. This got me worried.
But when I arrived the hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms need updating a little but mine was certainly clean and well made up. The maid service was polite and efficient. The TV, fridge, kettle and air conditioning came in very handy. And the location was excellent, very central and close to the train station. It's certainly not fancy but for everything it did the job perfectly without ruining my budget.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank KeiraJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your time in reviewing the hotel. It is great that you have found Capitol Square Hotel suitable for your purposes in Sydney. We pride in being centrally located and being well priced. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

had a family room booked recieved a lesser room at higher rate with camp bed as extra. no room to move. sheets had not been changed no extra pillows .beds werent made properly no guide to tv or whats on in sydney lift only at reception could not find any fire exits hardly legal small emergency map on back of door of no help.very over pricedwhen we coplained no one seemed to want to know english... never again plenty of other good places to stay even in the same street.

Room Tip: go up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronald k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your time posting a review. I am saddened to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. It is a practice here at the hotel that all linen are changed on a daily basis and any extra amenities needed are a phone call away. I apologise if this was not the case during your stay. I have taken your comments seriously and will review the department's practice and procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Capitol Square Hotel if a perfect hotel for country people like ourselves who travelled to Sydney by train. Being a short walk to central station as well as Darling Harbour and China town, we were delighted with the location.
The Hotel itself was quiet, clean and offered the things that makes travelling easier, e.g hair dryer, tea and coffee making, plus a great breakfast. The staff were very polite and friendly. All in all, a home away from home. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
Would like to welcome you back to the hotel for your next trip to Sydney, Happy for you to contact me directly for your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

An ideal central location (unfortunately my only positive) for this incredibly overpriced motel with very uncomfortable beds, fairly grotty bathroom and staff with no knowledge of the local transportation system. Buffet breakfast was very plain and not the friendliest service. Other than the location being good for those wishing to walk I would not recommend it. Very very expensive for what you get . incredibly overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your time in posting a review.
We constantly strive to be competitively priced and reflect value to our customers.
During your stay, it seems that it could have been during a busy period, where we did not have enough rooms for the demand present at the time. For your next trip to Sydney, please do not refrain from contacting me directly, as so I can look after your booking personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#102 of 181 in Sydney
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#85 of 181 in Sydney
1 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#28 of 181 in Sydney
179 reviews
Oaks on Castlereagh
#74 of 181 in Sydney
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $86 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing