We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Reviews abt Hotel Capitol Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitol Square Hotel
Ranked #148 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Fraidabad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My Reviews abt Hotel Capitol Square”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is located appropriately within Sydney and most happening places are within vicinity of Hotel. The hotel staff is very co-operative. The breakfast within the hotel was excellent. The total time of my stay was 19 days and I enjoyed a lot while at there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have direct sunlight and nice view of surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 128AmitR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your delightful comments about your stay. It was a pleasure having you here and I hope we can welcome you back for a future stay.

Kind Regards

Michael Sharp
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    124
    177
    90
    83
See reviews for
85
148
59
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel pre booked for 3 nights was a living hell.
Manager even did not take our complaints seriously and said, we rent this building and have outside contractors.
Elevator smells like carbage for half the day, do not know why, but with only 1 elevator as option... makes the start of the day.
Bed was not sleepable, every hour awake due to pain. think the bed was 20 years+ old and not clean. The top has the rings of (dunno what but smells) in it. Moldy badroom and towels not clean.
1 star is too much, terrible is too friendly. You have to be paid to sleep here. Almost went to another hotel although already paid, but my budget is not that big (have to say afterwards I certainly would leave). My crankyness even started a small fight over nothing with my brother.

So not clean, dust everywhere and moldy. The floor is so creaking, that when you jump I would be afraid to be on the floor below.

Try looking trough the window is like an adventure. There is so much birdpoop on the windows, it can be almost impossible those have been cleaned in the past 10 years.

Be aware, want hell go! want a holiday or sleep do something else. Go backpacker go 1 star and save the money.

Oh and before I forget 1 minor issue, there was even a hole in the wall. That didnt bother me, but gives you the idea of the quality.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The first room they gave us the carpet was badly stained and worn, the furniture was old and needed replacing and the bathroom badly needed an update, the airconditioner was not working and the room was extremely hot. After complaining we were given another room this time the carpet was a little better, bathroom and furniture same as the first room, stains in the bath, one leg broken off bed ,stains on quiltcover bedside light did not work. The room was nothing like the one shown on the internet site.Language problems when booking in.

Room Tip: Check out room before unpacking .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Capitol Square Hotel in Sydney. It was disappointing for me to read your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to inform you we are currently in the process of updating the carpet in some of the rooms, we will endeavour to do this quickly and efficiently. We have also had some major work done on two of the hotels compressors that power the Air Conditioning in the building, this will ensure that the guests rooms stay at the guests desired temperature. I hope that with these changes we will be able to invite you back to the hotel for a future stay.

Kind Regards

Michael Sharp
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

hotel is very cheap and smoggy. the location is convenient but the bedspread are very old, it smells funny. There is not enough light in the room, the price is not even worth for the quality of the hotel but in my case it was midnight when i arrive and i was not able to leave and get another hotel that was more clean.. the front desk guy was very unfriendly and did not provide any help instead created anxiety. They need to revise the prices against the services that is provided...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSEFINA051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Capitol Square Hotel in Sydney. I was pleased to read that the location of the hotel was good for you and your needs during your stay. We are currently looking into the options of updating our bedspreads and will do our best to complete this process as quickly as possible. I apologise that you found the hotel staff member on arrival to be unwelcoming, I would very much like to know the name of this staff member so I can address them personally? In the meantime I will approach all the staff individually in regards to the proper way of welcoming guests to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Michael Sharp
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is cheap and in a convenient location but nothing special. Could have been cleaner and the room was awfully stuffy and dark, but you get what you pay for. Very close to Paddys markets and entertainment centre.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KattyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your stay at Capitol Square. I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be good and suit your needs. I apologise for the room conditions. I will personally inform the Executive Housekeeper about your room condition and instruct her to be more diligent with her room checks.

Kind Regards

Michael sharp
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good times were had at the Capitol Square Hotel. I experienced good customer service from the gentleman at the front desk.
As everyone else has said, the location is fantastic, and the rates are very competitive. Of course, this is not a luxury stay by any means but it does what it needs to do.

The room was clean and everything inside it (television, tap water/shower) worked fine.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QBHMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Capitol Square Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Cheers, Boram.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A very convenient location for everything. However, the beds, or specifically the mattresses need updating (too soft and narrow), and the bathrooms are serviceable.
Reception staff are polite. If you require parking, it is directly next to the hotel - we paid $90AUD for 3 days after having our parking ticket stamped by the hotel.
Buses are close to the hotel and it's a lovely walk through Chinatown to Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boram K, General Manager at Capitol Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback, it is fantastic that you have found the location of the hotel as well as the parking facilities convenient. My apologies in regards to the bed condition in your room, we will strive to check all rooms and conditions of the beds and update where needed. Cheers, Boram.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#97 of 178 in Sydney
961 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#106 of 178 in Sydney
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Square Hotel

Property: Capitol Square Hotel
Address: 3 Campbell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Square Hotel, Sydney's best value economy hotel is ideally located within Sydney’s CBD with a range of attractions at our doorstep. We are a 3 star rated property, conveniently located adjacent to The Capitol Theatre complex.We are also just a short walk from Darling Harbour, Sydney Entertainment Centre, Central Station and China Town. Our comfortably appointed rooms will ensure you enjoy your accommodation whilst in the Harbour City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Square Sydney
Hotel Capitol Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing